SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >
Topic Options
#298374 - 10/31/10 03:54 PM Yamaha Tyros 4 problems demonstrated on video
chony Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/10/04
Posts: 1247
Loc: New York
I just made a few short videos of the issues I'm having with the T4. Any help would be appreciated.

Style Volume: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0iWvPoJhA4k
Memory Loss: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xcJL6dz25s0
Sample Issues: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BoBL9AVEydI

Please keep to the point and avoid discussing other debates (like 76 keys, and Korg vs. Yamaha) in this thread.

NOTE: It seems the first video is not working. I have to go out now, but please check back later. Problem 1 is the worst one...

[This message has been edited by chony (edited 10-31-2010).]

Top
#298375 - 10/31/10 04:28 PM Re: Yamaha Tyros 4 problems demonstrated on video
kla4 Offline
Member

Registered: 05/15/06
Posts: 302
Loc: NL
Chony,

I tried to reproduce what you demonstrated and it did not work on my Tyros4.
No memory loss or volume differences.

It looks you got a 'faulty' machine.

[This message has been edited by kla4 (edited 10-31-2010).]

Top
#298376 - 10/31/10 04:34 PM Re: Yamaha Tyros 4 problems demonstrated on video
Scottyee Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/01/99
Posts: 10427
Loc: San Francisco Bay Area, CA, US...
Chony, thanks for your well 'video documented' vids of the problems you're experiencing with your Tyros4.

I definitely hear the percussion erratic volume level changes taking place with your custom style on T4, but not when loaded on your Tyros3. I assume that your custom style utilizes custom sounds (samples?) right? which specific style part(s) utilize custom UVN samples? Also, don't know if it matters, but how much (512 or 1 gig) do you have installed on your T4?

In addition to posting your vids here, I recommend you post this on the Yamaha specific user forums:

PSR Tutorial-Tyros4 Forum

Yamaha Personal Keyboard Owner - Tyros 4 Forum

as well, as Yamaha USA regularly monitors both here, and those forums as well, and may be able to help you. I also recommend you contact Yamaha USA Customer Support directly (714) 522-9011. Ask to speak to Steve Deming.

Good luck my friend,

Scott

Scott Yee Entertainment
_________________________

Top
#298377 - 10/31/10 04:35 PM Re: Yamaha Tyros 4 problems demonstrated on video
chony Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/10/04
Posts: 1247
Loc: New York
Quote:
Originally posted by kla4:
Chony,

I tried to reproduce what you demonstrated and it did not work on my Tyros4.
No memory loss or volume differences.

It looks you got a 'faulty' machine.

[This message has been edited by kla4 (edited 10-31-2010).]


The memory issue doesn't happen every time. Have you not experienced it at all?

Did you test samples that had been used on the T3 as well?

Top
#298378 - 10/31/10 04:42 PM Re: Yamaha Tyros 4 problems demonstrated on video
Dnj Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/00
Posts: 40722
Chony I hope you can get these issues worked out.........I hope Yamaha is reading these posts and watching these videos...well done on showing excactly whats wrong..

good luck keep us posted.

I have put this on YPKO T4 Forum also to see if someone can possibly help...
http://www.yamahapkowner.com/forum/index.php?topic=27770.0



[This message has been edited by Dnj (edited 10-31-2010).]

Top
#298379 - 10/31/10 05:33 PM Re: Yamaha Tyros 4 problems demonstrated on video
Fran Carango Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/26/99
Posts: 9196
Loc: Levittown, Pa, USA
Here is a confirmation from another Tyros4 owner...

I have found that folders and files saved in the style memory buttons,to recall,are not retained unless the power is connected,as you say probably a firmware update will come,if everyone experiences the same-seas
_________________________
www.francarango.com



Top
#298380 - 10/31/10 06:30 PM Re: Yamaha Tyros 4 problems demonstrated on video
kbrkr Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/19/02
Posts: 2819
Loc: Tampa, FL
Calling Steve Demming!!!!
_________________________
Al


Top
#298381 - 10/31/10 06:32 PM Re: Yamaha Tyros 4 problems demonstrated on video
Stephenm52 Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 04/13/05
Posts: 4712
Loc: USA
Chony.

I cannot recreate your T4 memory problem mine works without a hitch. I powered down and up several tomes using different stlye. They all worked fine.

Top
#298382 - 10/31/10 07:21 PM Re: Yamaha Tyros 4 problems demonstrated on video
Nick G Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/16/05
Posts: 1042
Loc: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Hi Chony have you sent this off to anyone from Yamaha at all?

When the Motif XS came out it did have some bugs and Yamaha were quick to release updates.

In the Motifator forum there are official Yamaha reps that might be able to point you in the right direction...

Nick
_________________________
Roland G70 / Roland BK9 / Yamaha Motif XS6 / Logic Pro X

Top
#298383 - 10/31/10 08:01 PM Re: Yamaha Tyros 4 problems demonstrated on video
chony Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/10/04
Posts: 1247
Loc: New York
HERE IS THE FIRST VIDEO, IT IS WORKING NOW:

Style Volume: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0iWvPoJhA4k

Top
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online