SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#66500 - 02/04/08 03:43 PM floppy issues with KN2000
ykc Offline
Member

Registered: 12/12/04
Posts: 73
Loc: Denver, CO USA
I have been happily using a Technics KN 2000 for more than 12 years. In fact, when my very expensive original one died about 3 years back, I found a mint cond one on ebay - for $300 - and saved shipping by picking it up myself. I use it as a main board with a band, playing left hand bass and right hand electric piano, organ and various layers. I use the arranger functions for solo gigs, or for dinner music during an otherwise full band gig. I thin out the styles I use, cutting back this or that accompaniment part or muting it altogether, and everything sounds tatseful and suprisingly hip. It has been a true warhorse for me! I have a KN 3000 as well, which has a slightly different part assignment scheme than the 2000, some different sounds and a very useable ON Bass mode. I should use that board more often.

Here is my problem - I had a floppy disk filled with styles and set ups for the 2000. I had not used that floppy in some time and when I went to do so the other day on a gig, the screen readout told me that "the data on the disk was created for another product" or something to that effect. I have used that very same disk before with no problems. Can anyone suggest what the problem might be?

Top
#66501 - 02/05/08 01:40 PM Re: floppy issues with KN2000
Audrey Turner Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/19/02
Posts: 1084
Loc: Cambridge, Cambs, England
Hello ykc,

Could it be that your latest keyboard is a different version? Way back in the KN2000 days, quite a few updates were put out and maybe this keyboard is slightly different to your original keyboard in which case, it could cause a problem with data reading.

If you contacted 'TechnicsPlayer' I am sure he would know the answer.

Good luck!

Audrey

Top
#66502 - 02/05/08 09:29 PM Re: floppy issues with KN2000
ykc Offline
Member

Registered: 12/12/04
Posts: 73
Loc: Denver, CO USA
Thanks so much! You could be correct. I will try to contact T-Player, as you suggested. The forum is SO great!


Quote:
Originally posted by Audrey Turner:
Hello ykc,

Could it be that your latest keyboard is a different version? Way back in the KN2000 days, quite a few updates were put out and maybe this keyboard is slightly different to your original keyboard in which case, it could cause a problem with data reading.

If you contacted 'TechnicsPlayer' I am sure he would know the answer.

Good luck!

Audrey

Top
#66503 - 02/05/08 09:35 PM Re: floppy issues with KN2000
ykc Offline
Member

Registered: 12/12/04
Posts: 73
Loc: Denver, CO USA
Yikes...do you know how to reach TechnicsPlayer? Thanks, again.

Top
#66504 - 02/09/08 05:07 AM Re: floppy issues with KN2000
santa1 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 02/15/05
Posts: 27
Loc: stuart, fl usa
I have also used the KN2000 for probably more than 12 years now. It is still working just fine.
#1 lesson on all technics keyboards, make a copy of your disks first.
Will the KN3000 read the disk?

Top
#66505 - 02/09/08 07:04 AM Re: floppy issues with KN2000
lahawk Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/28/01
Posts: 2198
Loc: Lehigh Valley, Pa.
Santa is correct
If they work in the 3000, and not the 2000, then the floppies were made for the 3000.

At one time, You may have somehow loaded the 2000 styles and setups in the 3000, made some changes, and saved in the 3000. Now they won't work in the 2000, because they are not backward compatible.

There is a way to check what you have on the disk via a PC:

The KN-2000 creates five file types during a save when ALL is selected - CMP, LSW, SEQ, SQF and TM.

The KN-3000 has an additional file type, called MSP, and this is the difference. If a MSP file type shows on your computer, than the files are for the 3000 and upward.

Disk File Info/Comparison for the KN-2, 3 and 5000

Could this have happened when you were 'between' KN-2000 keyboards?

------------------
Larry
SynthZone Map




[This message has been edited by lahawk (edited 02-09-2008).]
_________________________
Larry

" Always Do Whatever's Next "

Top
#66506 - 02/10/08 04:18 AM Re: floppy issues with KN2000
santa1 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 02/15/05
Posts: 27
Loc: stuart, fl usa
I have sucessfully loaded 470 MP3 songs using Jukebox, to a SanDisk 2gb card. Now that I have checked out these songs on several song lists, they no longer appear in the Check out window. When I hit List, the songs are still in the default and so are all the song lists I created. Then when I hit check out, the lists are not there. I want to make a backup copy of the 2gb disk. Is it possible?

Top
#66507 - 02/10/08 09:13 AM Re: floppy issues with KN2000
lahawk Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/28/01
Posts: 2198
Loc: Lehigh Valley, Pa.
santa,

Your reply has nothing to do with 'floppy issues with KN2000'

Please post your SD Jukebox question in a new separate topic, and then delete your reply on this topic.

It will be less confusing, as it will keep the topic on issue, and your new topic will have a better chance for a reply.

Thanks




------------------
Larry
SynthZone Map
_________________________
Larry

" Always Do Whatever's Next "

Top

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online