SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#368582 - 07/05/13 09:15 AM PR 3000 SD card
mweuch Offline
Member

Registered: 06/20/12
Posts: 81
I have a quick question. My friend lost his sd card for his psr3000 and were trying to look on ebay for a replacement but were just not sure which one is the correct type? Could someone point me to the right type of card please. Thanks a million in advance!

Johnny

Top
#368596 - 07/05/13 03:42 PM Re: PR 3000 SD card [Re: mweuch]
shim Offline
Member

Registered: 03/26/08
Posts: 287
Loc: USA
From what I remember, it does not use "SD cards". It uses "SmartMedia cards". Which are not exactly sold anymore..


Edited by shim (07/05/13 03:43 PM)

Top
#368597 - 07/05/13 03:48 PM Re: PR 3000 SD card [Re: shim]
mweuch Offline
Member

Registered: 06/20/12
Posts: 81
Originally Posted By: shim
From what I remember, it does not use "SD cards". It uses "SmartMedia cards". Which are not exactly sold anymore..


Thank you! That's exactly why we're still trying to figure it out so he can get a new one but were just not sure. Thank u much.

Top
#368601 - 07/05/13 05:50 PM Re: PR 3000 SD card [Re: mweuch]
travlin'easy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/08/02
Posts: 15019
Loc: Forest Hill, MD USA
The PSR-3000 uses a 128-megabyte Smart Media Card. While they were discontinued by Sony several years ago, they are still available. Because they have been discontinued the price has increased dramatically from $19 to $59. You can can find them at http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-SmartMedia-Digital-Memory-Storage/dp/B0009UBSGQ

Good Luck,

Gary cool
_________________________
PSR-S950, TC Helicon Harmony-M, Digitech VR, Samson Q7, Sennheiser E855, Custom Console, and lots of other silly stuff!

K+E=W (Knowledge Plus Experience = Wisdom.)

Top
#368605 - 07/05/13 06:09 PM Re: PR 3000 SD card [Re: travlin'easy]
tnicoson Offline
Member

Registered: 09/19/11
Posts: 82
Loc: Chicago area - USA
Johnny

There are two flavors of Smart Media Cards - 3.3 Volt and 5 Volt. The PSR-3000 requires the 3.3 Volt. Here is an excerpt from a post I made several years ago on the PSR Tutorial Forum on how to tell the difference:

Hold the card so that the gold foil side is facing you with the diagonally notched off corner at the top. With the card held this way, if the top RIGHT corner is diagonally notched off, then that is a 3.3 VOLT card and is CORRECT. If the top LEFT corner is diagonally notched off, then that is a 5 VOLT card and will NOT work in the PSR-3000.

Good luck !



Edited by tnicoson (07/05/13 06:11 PM)

Top
#368606 - 07/05/13 06:50 PM Re: PR 3000 SD card [Re: tnicoson]
mweuch Offline
Member

Registered: 06/20/12
Posts: 81
Originally Posted By: tnicoson
Johnny

There are two flavors of Smart Media Cards - 3.3 Volt and 5 Volt. The PSR-3000 requires the 3.3 Volt. Here is an excerpt from a post I made several years ago on the PSR Tutorial Forum on how to tell the difference:

Hold the card so that the gold foil side is facing you with the diagonally notched off corner at the top. With the card held this way, if the top RIGHT corner is diagonally notched off, then that is a 3.3 VOLT card and is CORRECT. If the top LEFT corner is diagonally notched off, then that is a 5 VOLT card and will NOT work in the PSR-3000.

Good luck !



Thank you sir! At the moment I am just trying to figure out the correct one so we can order it online. Thank u much.

Top
#368609 - 07/05/13 08:00 PM Re: PR 3000 SD card [Re: mweuch]
tnicoson Offline
Member

Registered: 09/19/11
Posts: 82
Loc: Chicago area - USA
Thought maybe you could use this though, once you get one, so you can tell if you have the correct one. I have never seen one with the voltage marked on the label, as that is specifically what the notching is for. It has been my experience that a lot of the folks selling them online are not aware of the two different types, so use all do caution. If you do get the wrong type, it won't damage anything, it just won't work. As Gary mentioned above, the PSR-3000 can take up to a 128 Mb card, but it does not HAVE to be that big. I currently have an 8 Mb in my 3000. I just can't store as much data on it. The only thing I have on mine is the Version 1.8 firmware. I store all of my styles, voices, and songs on USB Flash Drives.




Edited by tnicoson (07/05/13 08:13 PM)

Top
#368611 - 07/05/13 09:08 PM Re: PR 3000 SD card [Re: tnicoson]
mweuch Offline
Member

Registered: 06/20/12
Posts: 81
Originally Posted By: tnicoson
Thought maybe you could use this though, once you get one, so you can tell if you have the correct one. I have never seen one with the voltage marked on the label, as that is specifically what the notching is for. It has been my experience that a lot of the folks selling them online are not aware of the two different types, so use all do caution. If you do get the wrong type, it won't damage anything, it just won't work. As Gary mentioned above, the PSR-3000 can take up to a 128 Mb card, but it does not HAVE to be that big. I currently have an 8 Mb in my 3000. I just can't store as much data on it. The only thing I have on mine is the Version 1.8 firmware. I store all of my styles, voices, and songs on USB Flash Drives.




Ted, thank you for responding. I will probably will just order one and see/inspect it as you mentioned above if its the correct one or not. Thank you very much Ted.

Top
#368620 - 07/06/13 06:32 AM Re: PR 3000 SD card [Re: travlin'easy]
mweuch Offline
Member

Registered: 06/20/12
Posts: 81
Originally Posted By: travlin'easy
The PSR-3000 uses a 128-megabyte Smart Media Card. While they were discontinued by Sony several years ago, they are still available. Because they have been discontinued the price has increased dramatically from $19 to $59. You can can find them at http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-SmartMedia-Digital-Memory-Storage/dp/B0009UBSGQ

Good Luck,

Gary cool


Gary thank you for the link and you are right, they are very expensive. Thanks again.

Top
#368622 - 07/06/13 06:59 AM Re: PR 3000 SD card [Re: mweuch]
Nigel Offline
Admin

Registered: 06/01/98
Posts: 6295
Loc: Ventura CA USA
At least the picture looks like the 3.3volt version. And I saw there was a link from there to another seller of the same card for $39.


Edited by Nigel (07/06/13 07:00 AM)

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online