SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 7 of 10 < 1 2 5 6 7 8 9 10 >
Topic Options
#269015 - 08/12/09 09:44 PM Re: To all international Synthzoners
Lucky2Bhere Offline

Quote:
Originally posted by Diki:

The idea that anyone visiting us (or even immigrating here) MUST speak English is as ridiculous as the thought that we MUST learn Italian, or French, or Dutch or Spanish, or Swedish, Danish and Norwegian, JUST so we can take a vacation there...

Diki....let me guess. You DON'T live in an area where you have to locate your items yourself in the supermarket because none of the help speaks English. Ditto for seeking service in English at many gas stations, car washes, small restaurants, convenience stores or even asking directions on the street.

I lived in Europe for many years. In each country I lived in I made every effort not to be a burden on the home folks...and I studied my Berlitz books every single day until I acquired moderate conversational skills. It's called being considerate to your fellow man! Foreign folk who insist on speaking their own language here should learn to be as considerate to us.

Lucky

#269016 - 08/12/09 10:44 PM Re: To all international Synthzoners
Taike Offline

Loc: Xingyi, Guizhou (China)
Quote:
Originally posted by rikkisbears:
Hi Guys,
have a question.
When you speak a number of languages, what language do you actually THINK in.
For me it's English. Grew up in an English speaking country, even though we spoke a certain amount of German at home, mainly because my grandmother wasn't good at speaking English.

best wishes
Rikki