SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 25 of 26 < 1 2 23 24 25 26 >
Topic Options
#107797 - 08/30/06 08:43 PM Re: Do you really need a Tyros 2 ?
Diki Offline


Registered: 04/25/05
Posts: 14060
Loc: NW Florida
Can't believe this has gone on this long........

Only wish my Chord Sequencer thread got the same legs, guess I'll just have to insult somebody (Donny, you up for it??!!)

As to the T2 SA voices thing, I got to say (as a horn player myself) the T2 is the ONLY thing I have ever heard that can play a true legato phrase, period. WX7 - nice phrasing capabilities, bad tone....... G70, nice tone, bad phrasing..... MotifES, nah...... Triton, nah..... Kurzweil, nah....... NONE of them have the capability to differentiate between legato and detached playing, A real sax tongues in phrases, not notes.

Donny, if you can't hear this, you just got to start playing with some real horn players, and look at them when you take a sax solo........ if you still had your T2, you'd see worry, not contempt (not with your playing, just the sound...)

Fran, you've got to get off your high horse. As a G70 user and fan, even I can admit that there are some things in the T2 I like. Not enough to buy one, but I am jealous of the SA sax. I imagine that somewhere, some place, there's a T2 owner who might like a Chord Sequencer from the G1000, or the GrandX from the G70, but like you, they are probably to proud to admit it.

Me, I don't mind admitting that because no-one make the perfect arranger, there are things from other's arrangers I wouldn't mind having, just not at the cost of losing what I prefer from my own.........

If only we would stop defending our arranger's honor, and start admitting what we like from other manufacturer's features, maybe our manufacturer would take notice and implement them, instead of just patting themselves on the back for making what everyone says must be the perfect arranger.....
_________________________
An arranger is just a tool. What matters is what you build with it..!

Top
#107798 - 08/30/06 09:00 PM Re: Do you really need a Tyros 2 ?
DonM Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/25/99
Posts: 16735
Loc: Benton, LA, USA
Quote:
Originally posted by rikkisbears:
Hi pasadoble,
I'm in the middle of trying to decide whether T2 or PSR3k.
Did you notice a great deal of difference in sound & quality as far as listening to styles goes. I gather some of the voices for melody would be superior on the T2,
but I like the idea of the portability of the psr3k.
Do you know if style creation & editng functions are the same on both boards??

best wishes
Rikki

[QUOTE]Originally posted by pasadoble:
[b]I too bought a T2 to replace my PSR3000..I immediately missed the compact size of the 3000, I

[This message has been edited by rikkisbears (edited 08-30-2006).]



Rikki, I have never told you wrong, right?
The Tyros 2 is head and shoulders above the PSR3000. Aside from money, there should be no decision at all.
DonM
_________________________
DonM

Top
#107799 - 08/30/06 11:09 PM Re: Do you really need a Tyros 2 ?
abacus Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/21/05
Posts: 5305
Loc: English Riviera, UK
I dont want to put a spanner in the works but at festivals, demos and general keyboard societys in the UK, most people do not put the Tyros 2 on top of the pile except in the styles department and the odd voice.
In the same price range as the Tyros 2, the board that always comes top (Even before tyros 2 was launched) is the Korg PA1XPro. (If you look round at professionals that play arrangers in the UK a great number have or are moving over to the Korg)
If you go to the 61 note PA1X (Which also has speakers) the price drops considerably, and while still not in the PSR 3000 price range is getting close.
As I dont have or intend to purchase any of the boards mentioned in those price ranges, (I play a Wersi Abacus, and so none of them come close to make me even think about changing) I have no axe to grind with any of them.
To answer the original question, No you do not need a Tyros 2, but if you like it above the others, and have the dosh, then go for it, as in the final analysis it can only be a personal choice.
To add to the post, when Tyros 1 was released you would be forgiven for thinking that it was outselling others, (And so must be the best) were as in reality, in the shops that sold both the Tyros 1 and the Technics KN7000, (So people could compare the 2) the Technics KN7000 outsold the Tyros 1 by a factor of 2 to 1.
I think this must be the longest post I have seen since I joined the synth zone

Bill
_________________________
English Riviera:
Live entertainment, Real Ale, Great Scenery, Great Beaches, why would anyone want to live anywhere else (I�m definitely staying put).

Top
#107800 - 08/31/06 01:54 AM Re: Do you really need a Tyros 2 ?
rikkisbears Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/22/02
Posts: 6020
Loc: NSW,Australia
Hi Don,
trust your judgement & taste implicitly ,
now all I have to do is convince hubby, double the price is worth it haahaa.

best wishes
Rikki
p.s. I'm actually hanging on to the sd1 as well, I've got the pedal board & cable you sent to consider.
Quote:
Originally posted by DonM:

Rikki, I have never told you wrong, right?
The Tyros 2 is head and shoulders above the PSR3000. Aside from money, there should be no decision at all.
DonM
_________________________
best wishes
Rikki 🧸

Korg PA5X 88 note
SX900
Band in a Box 2022

Top
#107801 - 08/31/06 02:58 AM Re: Do you really need a Tyros 2 ?
rolandfan Offline
Member

Registered: 07/29/02
Posts: 935
Loc: South Africa
Having tried the pa1x i can tell u its a good board that sounds much better than g70. Excellent key feel and harmoniser. Now compared to Tyros1 i must say the Pa1x styles are poor. The guitars are better on t1. The brass is better on pa1x. The harmonica is excellent on both. Most other sounds are neck and neck with T1 with the T1 just having the edge. Now compared to t2 im sorry but the t2 brass is greatly improved and with the new improved sounds and styles the T2 in my books leaves in Pa1x in the dust. The ease of use is better on the Tyros. Pa1x touch screen is a joke... But if the tyros didnt exist then obviously i would go for the pa1x.

Top
#107802 - 08/31/06 03:29 AM Re: Do you really need a Tyros 2 ?
ianmcnll Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/27/05
Posts: 10606
Loc: Cape Breton Island, Canada
Quote:
Originally posted by rikkisbears:
[B]I'm in the middle of trying to decide whether T2 or PSR3k.
Did you notice a great deal of difference in sound & quality as far as listening to styles goes. I gather some of the voices for melody would be superior on the T2,
but I like the idea of the portability of the psr3k.
Do you know if style creation & editng functions are the same on both boards??

best wishes
Rikki



Hi Rikki,

Style creation and editing functions are identical.

The T2 has superior voices and many styles benefit.

I love the portabilty of the 3k and the built in speakers....and it's much lower price.

Hope this helps.

Ian



------------------
Remember to leave good news alone.
_________________________
Yamaha Tyros4, Yamaha MS-60S Powered Monitors(2), Yamaha CS-01, Yamaha TQ-5, Yamaha PSR-S775.

Top
#107803 - 08/31/06 03:39 AM Re: Do you really need a Tyros 2 ?
tony mads usa Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/16/02
Posts: 14376
Loc: East Greenwich RI USA
Quote:
Originally posted by Uncle Dave:
Yup ! Fran and I both frequent that spot !


WOW ... the mind's not COMPLETELY shot !!!
t.
_________________________
t. cool

Top
#107804 - 08/31/06 06:58 AM Re: Do you really need a Tyros 2 ?
keysvocalssax Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/06
Posts: 845
Loc: Miami FL nov-may/Lakeville CT ...
a guy at Yamaha I spoke to says that the psr1500 is every
bit as good as the psr3K and 2lbs lighter, and $500 less,
and without the (ugh) kb-porn tricked-out multicolor doodads. so if you don't need a few of the newer voices
and a couple other special features, it's the best value.
why is nobody addressing that and spending all this space
arguing apples and oranges: T2 v.3K?
i'm whacked out because I'm trying to improve on my old
Korg is-35 and Technics kn2600 and don't seem to be
able to. The paix's and g-70's are too heavy and I hate touchscreens, The T2 and sd5 and sd1+ are lighter but still more weight than I like,plus I stupidly bought a
Genesys ProS because it is the most versatile and logical and elegant looking but "silent killer" 41.8lbs! so I have to
sell or swap. Somebody wants to swap me for a Roland
Discover5 kbd hooked up to a Midjay. Is that the best
way to go IYHO or should I just sell and get psr1500? or
a better controller/module option for jazz gigs than the oneI was offered, but I don't know what that might be..do you?



------------------
Miami Mo
_________________________
Miami Mo

Top
#107805 - 08/31/06 12:13 PM Re: Do you really need a Tyros 2 ?
MrEd Offline
Member

Registered: 09/30/04
Posts: 519
Quote:
Originally posted by keysvocalssax:
a guy at Yamaha I spoke to says that the psr1500 is every
bit as good as the psr3K and 2lbs lighter, and $500 less,
and without the (ugh) kb-porn tricked-out multicolor doodads. so if you don't need a few of the newer voices
and a couple other special features, it's the best value.
why is nobody addressing that and spending all this space
arguing apples and oranges: T2 v.3K?
i'm whacked out because I'm trying to improve on my old
Korg is-35 and Technics kn2600 and don't seem to be
able to. The paix's and g-70's are too heavy and I hate touchscreens, The T2 and sd5 and sd1+ are lighter but still more weight than I like,plus I stupidly bought a
Genesys ProS because it is the most versatile and logical and elegant looking but "silent killer" 41.8lbs! so I have to
sell or swap. Somebody wants to swap me for a Roland
Discover5 kbd hooked up to a Midjay. Is that the best
way to go IYHO or should I just sell and get psr1500? or
a better controller/module option for jazz gigs than the oneI was offered, but I don't know what that might be..do you?



Mo,
At the time I bought my 3000, I tried the 1500 and it would have been adequate for me and my music making plans at that time.
But I had run this comparison (link below) to compare featues of the 1500 and 3000, and decided to spend the extra bucks and get the 3000.

If I did not have the extra bucks at the time, I would have went with the 1500.

Compare 1500/3000

Some key features that can justify the price difference (to me) is
128/96 polyhony
64mb Rom to 16mb
Color monitor to monochrome (although, i now wonder if the monochrome would have worked better outdoors?)
Playback + Recording 16 channels on the 3000, not on the 1500.

[This message has been edited by MrEd (edited 08-31-2006).]

Top
#107806 - 08/31/06 03:09 PM Re: Do you really need a Tyros 2 ?
rikkisbears Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/22/02
Posts: 6020
Loc: NSW,Australia
Thanks Ian,
I've decided to leave the desicion to hubby, if he doesn't collapse when I tell him the price of the T2 I'll go for it,
on the other hand, I'll be more than pleased with a PSR3000, just be nice to have a Yammie again.

I miss having multipads & having read certain parts of the manual, it appears the style editing functions are better than what I thought. Plus there's all the style editing software created by Michael, Jorgen & Jos.

Either way, I'll be pleased.

best wishes
Rikki
[QUOTE]Originally posted by ianmcnll:
[B] Hi Rikki,

Style creation and editing functions are identical.
_________________________
best wishes
Rikki 🧸

Korg PA5X 88 note
SX900
Band in a Box 2022

Top
Page 25 of 26 < 1 2 23 24 25 26 >

Moderator:  Admin, Diki, Kerry 



Help keep Synth Zone Online