SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#78969 - 06/06/08 04:33 PM Deleting or Erasing Performances
RonGlass Offline
Member

Registered: 05/15/08
Posts: 31
Loc: Jacksonville, Florida USA
Just bought a PA800 with prior user performances that I do not want. How can I return all user data to an empty status? In fact, how can I reset everything to original factory setting to remove all prior teaking (saved) data to original data?

Thanks,

Ron

Top
#78970 - 06/06/08 10:12 PM Re: Deleting or Erasing Performances
asafar Offline
Member

Registered: 08/13/01
Posts: 374
Loc: New York
You will need to reload the Musical Resources (depending on what OS Version)
You can find the Info here www.korgpa.com
_________________________
Abdo

Top
#78971 - 06/07/08 01:12 AM Re: Deleting or Erasing Performances
RonGlass Offline
Member

Registered: 05/15/08
Posts: 31
Loc: Jacksonville, Florida USA
Asafar,

First of all, thank you for your guidance. I own a KN7000 and to reset all its setting is a simple matter of re-initializing it with a push of a button. I guess I am spoiled.

On the PA800, I have tried to locate a "re-dump" of the factory setting from its internal ROM and could not find a way to do this. Unfortunate for me right now, I can't seem to have my computer recognize the PA800 via the USB port. Therefore, I am unable to download any programs from KorgPA. Or at least I don't know how.

Ron Glass

Top
#78972 - 06/07/08 04:39 AM Re: Deleting or Erasing Performances
Graham UK Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/20/01
Posts: 1818
Loc: Lincolnshire UK
RonGlass. To download the Korg Musical Resources you don't require your Korg to be connected to the PC.
Just download on the PC from the Korg site. The file is then loaded into the keyboard.
This info is in your keyboard manual or can be downloaded also from the Korg site.

Top
#78973 - 06/07/08 05:28 AM Re: Deleting or Erasing Performances
RonGlass Offline
Member

Registered: 05/15/08
Posts: 31
Loc: Jacksonville, Florida USA
Hello Graham,

Thank you. Yes, I know that I can download all upgrades, etc from the Korg website to my PC, which I did. However, loading the data requires connecting the Korg USB port to the PC, and at this time, my PC will not recognize the PA800 even though my PC states that the Korg driver is working correctly. I have tried to follow the instruction on page 225 of the manual to achieve this, but it appears I do not have a USB connection. I know my PC USB is working since I also use it for my KN7000. My PA800 is only 3 months old.

Thank you Graham,

Ron

Top
#78974 - 06/07/08 08:31 AM Re: Deleting or Erasing Performances
Fran Carango Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 05/26/99
Posts: 8865
Loc: Levittown, Pa, USA
Ron, if you are running XP on your PC...you may have to reduce the number of drivers installed..XP has a limitation on how many drivers it can use...I have found this true by experience..After deleting a couple drivers I did not use anymore...my drivers needed showed in my programs..
_________________________
www.francarango.com



Top
#78975 - 06/07/08 09:41 AM Re: Deleting or Erasing Performances
RonGlass Offline
Member

Registered: 05/15/08
Posts: 31
Loc: Jacksonville, Florida USA
Hi Fran,

Thank you very much for the suggestion and will give it a try. But I believe I found what the problem might be. In reading thru some of the supplemenary installation instructions, I read that you need to have an internal hard drive installed before the PA800 and PC will recognize each other via host cable connection. Since I have purchase both the a ATA hard drive and the HDIK-1 installation kit, I won't know if that is the solution. BTW, 6-week delay on the HDIK-1.

Could you answer this question of mine; I just purchased the PA800 and had it for only 2 days. I found out that everytime I turn it off, then later, turn it back on; it has a 3 to 4 minute reload procedure. I can't believe that is a normal procedure. I purchased 3 DVD instructions and watched their Korg fired right up(?) instantly.

Thanks,

Ron

P.S. All of the above happens either on Windows XP or Vista. Also, I constantly get Microsoft's signature errors, but Korg says ignore them. ???

[This message has been edited by RonGlass (edited 06-07-2008).]

Top
#78976 - 06/07/08 01:22 PM Re: Deleting or Erasing Performances
miden Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 3353
Loc: The World
You can load the operating system and resources upgrades via a thumb drive. You do nto need a hard drive on the PA800.

Top
#78977 - 06/07/08 02:10 PM Re: Deleting or Erasing Performances
RonGlass Offline
Member

Registered: 05/15/08
Posts: 31
Loc: Jacksonville, Florida USA
Hi Miden,

Thanks for your information. Yes, I could have use what I called Stick Memory, but since I only had an external hard drive I wanted to resolve this ASAP. Fortunately, after additional reading, I lucked out with the right combination of events. I sure have alot more to learn, but that the fun of it.

Thanks Miden and have a good week. I feel great now that this one problem is solved.

Ron

Top
#78978 - 06/15/08 12:15 PM Re: Deleting or Erasing Performances
Nedim Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/13/08
Posts: 1144
Loc: Staten Island, NYC
No need to LOAD MS. Just go to MEDIA mode then
go to ERASE and in there where you see ALL click
OPEN, in there you can open each folder and
ERASE anything you want.
_________________________
Cubase 8.5 Pro. Windows 7 X64. ASUS SaberTooth X99. Intel I7 5820K. ASUS GTX 960 Strix OC 2GB. 4x8 GB G.SKILL.
2 850 PRO 256GB SSDs. 1 850 EVO 1TB SSD. Acustica: Nebula Server 3 Ultimate, Murano, Magenta 3, Navy, Titanium.

Top

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online