SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#74025 - 07/26/06 10:50 PM Yamaha DX11 new sounds
Anonymous
Unregistered

I'm a complete novice to synthesizers. I find the manual and online info like another language.

I play guitar in a band and need to add some synth parts at times. I've been given a Yamaha DX11 but the onboard sounds are awful - very 80s synthpop and they all wobble !! I need a big Van Halen "Jump" sound, a huge harpsichord and some nice phased pads.

Can anyone tell in simple English how to download some new tones for the Yamaha DX11 please.

I've followed advice and bought a midi interface and downloaded pfarm, I've been on www.synthzone.com and also the Yamaha forums and am struggling to work exactly what I'm looking for and how to get it into my synth.

Please advise, what does a new synth sound look like on the screen, how can I listen to it to see if its what I'm looking for and how do I download it. I'm also not sure if I need to pay for the sounds - one website seemed to list a whole list of licences that made no sense to me.

#74026 - 07/27/06 12:55 AM Re: Yamaha DX11 new sounds
Nigel Offline
Admin

Loc: Ventura CA USA
OK the wobbly sound you are getting is simply because that second wheel from the left ( see the 2 wheels in the top left of the DX11 ) is pushed forward. Turn it back toward you as much as you can and that modulation will disapear. It is the mod wheel and is usually introduced while you are playing and then turned off to bring some life into your performance. But leaving it on just sounds bad. The other wheel is pitch bend so you can temporarily bend notes like a guitarist can.