SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#454425 - 07/08/18 06:37 PM V3 Sound Modules
Torch Offline
Member

Registered: 12/17/12
Posts: 580
I am getting one of the new sound modules by V3 Sound. I already have their arranger called the Desktop and so I am familiar with their quality sounds.

They have sound modules specifically made for Korg, Yamaha, and others.

http://www.v3sound.com/en/e-ov-keyboardists.html
_________________________
"You Shall Know the Truth, and the Truth will set you free." John 8:32
The only problem is that even when I know the truth which is rare, often times I go against it.

Top
#454430 - 07/09/18 01:11 AM Re: V3 Sound Modules [Re: Torch]
abacus Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/21/05
Posts: 4699
Loc: English Riviera, UK
If you already have a decent laptop then rather than go with these you would be better off getting a universal VST such as Kontakt 5 or Halion Sonic as you get a much better quality of sound along with greater flexibility, the only down side is that you have to set up the VST yourself to get it to work with your keyboard, but at least you will be getting a great experience in the process.

Bill
_________________________
English Riviera:
Live entertainment, Real Ale, Great Scenery, Great Beaches, why would anyone want to live anywhere else (I�m definitely staying put).

Top
#454432 - 07/09/18 02:57 AM Re: V3 Sound Modules [Re: Torch]
Anthony Johnson Offline
Member

Registered: 02/03/02
Posts: 300
Loc: Sheffield Yorkshire England
I find the V3 of great interest.
Bill may well be correct regarding Kontakt 5 & halion Sonic but that downside of setting up VST's puts off many such as myself.
Most of us are older guys and, at my age (78) it's a bit late to start learning all about VST's etc.

I want to plug something in, install the software and have it running and fully controlled from the Genos without any further hassle.
As Yamaha own Halion, I can't imagine why they don't sell it with the setup all ready to roll as V3 does.
Tony

Top
#454437 - 07/09/18 07:01 AM Re: V3 Sound Modules [Re: abacus]
Bachus Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 03/02/06
Posts: 6022
Originally Posted By abacus
If you already have a decent laptop then rather than go with these you would be better off getting a universal VST such as Kontakt 5 or Halion Sonic as you get a much better quality of sound along with greater flexibility, the only down side is that you have to set up the VST yourself to get it to work with your keyboard, but at least you will be getting a great experience in the process.

Bill


Hardware soundmodules don’t eat processing power of your desktop/laptop
When using certain VST’s like omnisphere and UHE Diva with some pro layerd DSP, a laptops power is quickly drained... its allways good to have some hardware module(s) to cover that..


Strong point of the V3 modules is that they can be i tegrated with the hardware keyboard and feel like onboard sounds (definately on the Genos) which makes them very very convenient..


Also the sound quallity is of the highest quallity
_________________________
Korg PA4x(76), korg Kronos 88, Ipad, Macbook, Mainstage3, Komplete Ultimate12, Omnisphere2.5, Keyscape, Trilian, Serum, pianoteq5, Ivory2, Blue2, Zebra2, Diva, Hive, V/collection, Synthmaster2.8, Halion 6, Superior drummer.

http://keyszone.boards.net

Top
#454438 - 07/09/18 07:02 AM Re: V3 Sound Modules [Re: Anthony Johnson]
Bachus Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 03/02/06
Posts: 6022
Originally Posted By Anthony Johnson
I find the V3 of great interest.
Bill may well be correct regarding Kontakt 5 & halion Sonic but that downside of setting up VST's puts off many such as myself.
Most of us are older guys and, at my age (78) it's a bit late to start learning all about VST's etc.

I want to plug something in, install the software and have it running and fully controlled from the Genos without any further hassle.
As Yamaha own Halion, I can't imagine why they don't sell it with the setup all ready to roll as V3 does.
Tony


Because yamaha makes more money selling expansion packs for Genos then selling hallion..
_________________________
Korg PA4x(76), korg Kronos 88, Ipad, Macbook, Mainstage3, Komplete Ultimate12, Omnisphere2.5, Keyscape, Trilian, Serum, pianoteq5, Ivory2, Blue2, Zebra2, Diva, Hive, V/collection, Synthmaster2.8, Halion 6, Superior drummer.

http://keyszone.boards.net

Top
#454458 - 07/09/18 10:35 PM Re: V3 Sound Modules [Re: abacus]
Torch Offline
Member

Registered: 12/17/12
Posts: 580
Originally Posted By abacus
If you already have a decent laptop then rather than go with these you would be better off getting a universal VST such as Kontakt 5 or Halion Sonic as you get a much better quality of sound along with greater flexibility, the only down side is that you have to set up the VST yourself to get it to work with your keyboard, but at least you will be getting a great experience in the process.

Bill
Bill, you do have a point. I have lots of VSTs besides Kontakt. In fact, with vArranger combined with HQ soundfonts and VSTs for solo voices I have been trying to go all software. The are definitively lots of pros and some cons. Then I ended up getting a Ketron SD40. Always excuses and self-justification for my GAS!

The V3 module I am getting has some unique sounds that you can't easily find in software. Or if you do find, they can be very expensive. I thought that the small module with MIDI in and USB host would make a good module. V3 Sound does have high quality sounds. In fact, one or more of their sound cards made their way into VST versions! I have both the hardware and software version.

Btw, does Holion Sonic still require a USB dongle? That's a deal breaker for me. The only exception for me is vArranger.

Chris
_________________________
"You Shall Know the Truth, and the Truth will set you free." John 8:32
The only problem is that even when I know the truth which is rare, often times I go against it.

Top
#454459 - 07/09/18 10:39 PM Re: V3 Sound Modules [Re: Bachus]
Torch Offline
Member

Registered: 12/17/12
Posts: 580
Originally Posted By Bachus
... Strong point of the V3 modules is that they can be i tegrated with the hardware keyboard and feel like onboard sounds (definately on the Genos) which makes them very very convenient..

Also the sound quallity is of the highest quallity
You are absolutely right about V3 Sound featuring sounds of the highest quality. They get licenses from other companies both hardware and software to burn sounds into their soundboards.
_________________________
"You Shall Know the Truth, and the Truth will set you free." John 8:32
The only problem is that even when I know the truth which is rare, often times I go against it.

Top
#454475 - 07/10/18 09:43 AM Re: V3 Sound Modules [Re: Torch]
SAM CA Offline
Member

Registered: 06/24/18
Posts: 120
Loc: Los Angeles
V3 sound module? Never heard of this before! I don't think this topic ever came up on Korg's forum. Very interesting!

Top
#454508 - 07/10/18 11:29 PM Re: V3 Sound Modules [Re: SAM CA]
Torch Offline
Member

Registered: 12/17/12
Posts: 580
Originally Posted By SAM CA
V3 sound module? Never heard of this before! I don't think this topic ever came up on Korg's forum. Very interesting!
Check some of the sounds by V3 Sound on Youtube and you will get an idea. These new boards will only sound better than the previous models.


Edited by Torch (07/10/18 11:30 PM)
_________________________
"You Shall Know the Truth, and the Truth will set you free." John 8:32
The only problem is that even when I know the truth which is rare, often times I go against it.

Top
#454532 - 07/11/18 12:45 PM Re: V3 Sound Modules [Re: Torch]
SAM CA Offline
Member

Registered: 06/24/18
Posts: 120
Loc: Los Angeles
Thanks for the link. If these are just standalone sound modules, why are they categorized under keyboard models and such? Why does it matter if you midi them to a Korg or Yamaha?

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online