SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#443697 - 01/01/18 12:13 PM 1st SD9 broken promise!
Henni Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/01/08
Posts: 2860
Loc: South Africa
Please be aware that the SD9 will not load any pure midi styles (no audio loops, but midi loops present) created on the Audya.

Ketron!!! I am starting to loose respect for you. You act like a bunch of amateurs and then you expect others to fall over their feet to purchase your products.

Please, do not try any of my new styles on your SD9 - it WON'T work!!! I do not know how to fix this and rest assured that Ketron will NOT bother to respond on this.

Henni
_________________________
Make sure you'll fly forever!

Top
#443712 - 01/01/18 02:17 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
abacuses Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 12/28/17
Posts: 11
Loc: regensburg germany
Hi There,

i hope the next SD9 Update clear the Problems.

abacuses

Top
#443762 - 01/02/18 07:34 AM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
hammer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/27/08
Posts: 2147
Loc: Texas
I have to reply to these posts. First I do not own a SD9 Pro and have not had a chance to play one in person. I do however own 2 Ketron SD7s and have had them for about 3 years. So far I have not had a single problem with either of the two SD7s. I have converted thousands of legacy Ketron styles on the SD7 with no problems at all. That said, NONE of the Audya styles would convert. I play midi files, MP3 files, WAV files and all play without a single issue. I have played live gigs with the SD7s for three years - never once have I had a problem.

Maybe I am missing something here in Henni's post but as far as the SD7 is concerned I can highly recommend it to anyone.

Deane

Top
#443774 - 01/02/18 09:23 AM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
Henni Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/01/08
Posts: 2860
Loc: South Africa
My point is that it was stated that the SD9 could convert and play all Audya styles. My point is that the SD9 can not even convert midi only *.PAT styles, even if not created direct on the Audya.

Never once did I say that the SD9 was not reliable. It is just not suitable for those who want to use older none AJAMSONIC and non Ketron 3rd party styles with their new SD9.

Those two firms ought not be the ONLY providers of 3rd party styles. Ketron should go learn by Yamaha on this.

And I STRESS again that "THIS OUGHT NOT BE SO!!!" Any arranger should be backwards compatible - PERIOD!

Can you imagine the scene if the new Genos would not play Tyros styles? Shame on Ketron!!! If something plays on the Audya, it should also play on the SD9, especially if the onboard Audya audio drums are not used.

Deane, I find it laughable that you pretend that this is not an issue, especially since you used all your Tyros created gig stuff to play on your new Genos at your regular gigs. Yet you shun Ketron users from wanting/expecting to do same...

By the way: Do you know of any style conversion software that will convert other brands to *.KST format? So how do you suggest to get there for those who purchased the new SD9??? Unless it comes DIRECT from Ketron or AJAMSONIC, it CANNOT be had for the SD9!!! Sheeeeezzzz man...
_________________________
Make sure you'll fly forever!

Top
#443786 - 01/02/18 01:03 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
hammer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/27/08
Posts: 2147
Loc: Texas
If you are saying the SD9 will not convert Ketron Legacy styles that is a problem. I would be very unhappy if I had 3 years of SD7 gig setups and found out I could not use them on a new SD9 Pro.

Deane

Top
#443792 - 01/02/18 01:15 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
Henni Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/01/08
Posts: 2860
Loc: South Africa
I did not say that. Let me put this in a way that you can understand.

I am a normal individual. Yet I am able to convert most (99%) of the SD9 styles to play on my Audya, minus the missing loops off course.

Ketron, being the creator of the software, has no excuse whatsoever for not being able to convert whatever is on the Audya to the SD9. If something is at a different address or missing, simply point it to the correct address or closest fit.

As for 3rd party styles, it is something minor causing a major issue. If Ketron bothers to investigate this, they will within 5 minutes find a common error in all non Ketron converted 3rd party styles. It would take them no more than a single afternoon to write code that would fix this and then make this simple software available to all users.

Fact is, they could simply not be bothered. Pure & simple. Their support stinks. Their attitude stinks. All of this whist their products shine.

I need not say more.
_________________________
Make sure you'll fly forever!

Top
#443801 - 01/02/18 01:51 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 4309
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
I think we need AJ to weigh in on this.
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Ketron SD40, Centerpoint Space Station, Bose compact

Top
#443805 - 01/02/18 02:23 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
hammer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/27/08
Posts: 2147
Loc: Texas
Henni,
I misunderstood your post. I thought you were referring to the Ketron Legacy styles. Yes, I agree - the Audya styles should be useable on the SD9.

I am aware of the problems Ketron has with support. I had a SD2 module I used with vArranger. It went south after I installed the firmware update provided by Ketron. After months of waiting and making phone calls to the dealer which never got returned I just gave up. Finally, AJ, who read my post on the forum just sent one to me.

I am just very glad we have AJ here in the USA to help out and that my SD7s have been very reliable.

Deane

Top
#443819 - 01/02/18 05:24 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3097
Loc: Middletown, DE
Henni,

Please advise those you know who have tried using the style converter on the SD9 Pro and experienced abnormalities with this and any other functions .... if they bought their SD9 Pro with OS 1.0.0, they MUST first install OS 1.0.1 (as is clearly mentioned on our website) BEFORE installing OS 1.0.2. My guess is they possibly had OS 1.0.0 in their units, skipped updating with OS 1.0.1 (which has crucial updates not repeated in OS 1.0.2) and updated directly to OS 1.0.2 (which has updates not found in OS 1.0.1 either).

Also I'll state this again. The SD-series is NOT the AUDYA series and is not the flagship (else it would have been in our brochures as we've usually done e.g SD1, AUDYA). The SD9 Pro is also built on a totally newer platform than the AUDYA and so compatibility could sometimes be problematic. If you do convert a style from AUDYA to SD9 Pro, do not forget to also bring on board the Audio resources and name them appropriately ..... in AUDYA, styles are named xxx@120.wav, in the SD9 Pro, you need to create a folder with the style name and BPM (e.g. POP 112), then in this folder, put in all 18 or 22 (for styles with 8 variation parts) audio files associated with the style (ARR A.wav, ARR B.wav ...etc) ).

Hope this clarifies this.

Thanks,
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#443827 - 01/02/18 09:08 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Ketron_AJ]
Henni Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/01/08
Posts: 2860
Loc: South Africa
Originally Posted By SD9 User
At this time a answer from ketron germany . Do you have the Audya Audio Drums and Audya Guitars in the Style? At this Time are Styles with Audya Drums and Guitars not possible at Sd9. At the next Time Sandro from ketron Italy contact  with you takes up.
Your Style are great and perfect. The Problems must be solve. i need your styles, all 3000 ;-)"


AJ,

Well, if the SD9 is NOT the Audya replacement, then I perfectly understand the issue. Up to now I have been informed by various non official sources that it WAS...

I have no further feud. I'll wait patiently for the next generation Audya as I will move heaven & earth to get one.

Thank you for your feedback.

Henni
_________________________
Make sure you'll fly forever!

Top
#443835 - 01/02/18 09:56 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3097
Loc: Middletown, DE
Henni

I now understand. The SD9 Pro is the professional version of the SD series and in a unique class of it's own. That's like BMW just releasing the X1. It's newer and technologically more advanced than their X5 and X3 in some ways, but built for a "different" kind of customer. It doesn't however replace their X5?

Ketron's SD9 Pro is for those who want a professional product without all the in depth "editors and menus" usually associated with one ...one that sounds professional out of the box, a product you can purchase at 3pm and be gigging with at 6pm that same day.

Thanks,
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#443841 - 01/02/18 10:44 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
Henni Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/01/08
Posts: 2860
Loc: South Africa
Sorry AJ,

I do not want to get into a feud with you. I certainly get the impression you stated all of the above just to relieve pressure from Ketron.

The SD9 IS indeed the Audya replacement, but cannot live up to the requirements. I HATE lies with a passion.

When Ketron states something is going to be released soon, it actually takes years to happen. So when you state it will take long, you are just saying that it will never happen.

I am back at my original complaint: THE SD9 IS SUPPOSED TO HANDLE ANYTHING THAT THE AUDYA CAN THROW AT IT - * * * PERIOD * * * The fact that it cannot just proves that it was released prematurely.

It is I that now understand.

Henni

I have listened to all the SD9 demos. All the Audya audio guitar loops are there, only in an improved format. Most certainly the conversion software onboard the SD9 can redirect the requests to the most appropriate audio guitar loops.

I'm sure same goes for the Audya

Top
#443842 - 01/02/18 11:14 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3097
Loc: Middletown, DE
Originally Posted By Henni
Sorry AJ,

I do not want to get into a feud with you. I certainly get the impression you stated all of the above just to relieve pressure from Ketron.

The SD9 IS indeed the Audya replacement, but cannot live up to the requirements. I HATE lies with a passion.

When Ketron states something is going to be released soon, it actually takes years to happen. So when you state it will take long, you are just saying that it will never happen.

I am back at my original complaint: THE SD9 IS SUPPOSED TO HANDLE ANYTHING THAT THE AUDYA CAN THROW AT IT - * * * PERIOD * * * The fact that it cannot just proves that it was released prematurely.

It is I that now understand.

Henni

I have listened to all the SD9 demos. All the Audya audio guitar loops are there, only in an improved format. Most certainly the conversion software onboard the SD9 can redirect the requests to the most appropriate audio guitar loops.

I'm sure same goes for the Audya


=============================================

If indeed the SD9 Pro is supposed to be the new Audya replacement as you've stated, then yes, you are correct...in theory, it 'should' handle everything the Audya can throw at it....but it 'doesn't' ...because in reality, ...it isn't. There is a difference between replacement and flagship.

Most of the requirements for the SD9 Pro have been met ...some are still in the works as this new platform can handle a lot. It's a new and different keyboard that has amungst other things, 'borrowed' technology from the Audya series and SD7.

I do however still respect your views and thoughts and ... wants.
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#443845 - 01/02/18 11:24 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
ajodanimario Offline
Member

Registered: 11/20/12
Posts: 72
Loc: españa
Good AJ, at some point in your explanation on how to pass Audya styles to sd9 I have lost (possibly it is the Spanish English translation of the computer), you say of a folder with all the waw files and others, you know we have spoken many times over the Audya and you solved all my problems and my audya is much better since it works with your update inside. I have always told you that you are ketron, ketron italy there is nothing more than sales, buy my sd9 in the distributor of Spain because I have it 35kms from home and if I had a problem it was easier to solve it from here, but returning to the topic of the conversion of styles, what else is to put folders if when you are going to convert a style in the sd9 of those who wear the blue dot or the symbol> it tells you that they are protected.
I think Henni's complaint is focused on this, because everything is still copy protection and we can not use all the new sd9 but at the same time everything that has served us so far of the Audya ?, it is incomprehensible that you spend a lot of money on a new keyboard because it is supposed to be better in everything and a very important thing that weighs much less than Audya and in the end if you want to continue using the good things of the Audya instead of going with a single keyboard more modern and less heavy you have to carry both. I do not understand, I await your answer, AJ.

Top
#443846 - 01/02/18 11:55 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: ajodanimario]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3097
Loc: Middletown, DE
Originally Posted By ajodanimario
Good AJ, at some point in your explanation on how to pass Audya styles to sd9 I have lost (possibly it is the Spanish English translation of the computer), you say of a folder with all the waw files and others, you know we have spoken many times over the Audya and you solved all my problems and my audya is much better since it works with your update inside. I have always told you that you are ketron, ketron italy there is nothing more than sales, buy my sd9 in the distributor of Spain because I have it 35kms from home and if I had a problem it was easier to solve it from here, but returning to the topic of the conversion of styles, what else is to put folders if when you are going to convert a style in the sd9 of those who wear the blue dot or the symbol> it tells you that they are protected.
I think Henni's complaint is focused on this, because everything is still copy protection and we can not use all the new sd9 but at the same time everything that has served us so far of the Audya ?, it is incomprehensible that you spend a lot of money on a new keyboard because it is supposed to be better in everything and a very important thing that weighs much less than Audya and in the end if you want to continue using the good things of the Audya instead of going with a single keyboard more modern and less heavy you have to carry both. I do not understand, I await your answer, AJ.



ajodanimario,

If you have AUDYA styles and want to use them on your SD9 Pro (whose OS has prooerly been updated correctly from 1.0.0 to 1.0.1 and now to 1.0.2), you can do so but you will have to:-
* first convert the style (as if you were converting say an SD5 or other KETRON style) in the SD9 Pro, by putting this on a USB stick and placing in the SD9 Pro and touching it twice to try and play it. FOLLOW THE SCREEN PROMPTS!.
* When conversion is done, copy the new *.KST file into a USER STYLE FOLDER (E.g UNPLUGGED).

* When you do so, the SD9 Pro can now play the style but without the AUDIO DRUMS and AUDIO LIVE GUITARS that were used in AUDYA so ....
* Next, you will have to go to AUDYA (where the AUDIO DRUMS for the style you just converted are) and rename them from xxxxARRA@120.wav to ARRA.wav, yyyyyARRB.wav to ARRB.wav .... in otherwords, simply rename them with the arranger part of the name.
* Copy the renamed AUDIO drums onto a USB stick and bring those into the SD9 Pro.
* Now on the SD9 PRO, to to MEDIA - MODELLING - LIVE DRUM and create a new sub-folder with the name of the style and the BPM (e.g. POP 120). On the AUDYA, the BPM was part of the wave file name, but in the SD9 Pro, the BPM only needs to be associated with the folder in which you are going to place all the audio files associated with this style. This makes it way easier to search folders for specific files (SD9 Pro) than thousands of individual audio files (Audya) lumped in one folder - USER AUDIO DRUMS!
* To now re-assign the Audio Drums and Audio Guitars to the style, load the style, then touch LIVE MODELLING.
* Touch the LD pad (Live drum) on the screen to put it in EDIT mode - then touch the LIVE DRUM icon on the right side.
* Scroll down all the way to the bottom (where your new folder - POP 120 (L) will be "L=Live Drums" and touch it.
* Unlike AUDYA where you had to individually assign each live drum to each part, as soon as you do this, the SD9 Pro will automatically assign the wave files in this folder - ARRA.wave to ARRANGER A, ARRB.Wav to ARRAGNER B ... etc.
* Do the Live Guitar the same way ... touch the LIVE GUITAR PAD to put it in EDIT mode, then touch the LIVE GUITAR icon on the right ...scroll down the LIVE GUITAR list and select the live Guitar you want ... remember to do this for each of the ARRANGER parts!

*** SAVE your new style!

Hope this helps!

You have a valid point about AUDYA and SD9 Pro being 'better'. Problem is customers wanted a replacement for the AUDYA so badly that the next thing that came out that 'borrowed' it's audio drums and live guitar technology was automatically assumed to be the AUDYA replacement. Remember, when the SD7 was released, folks thought it was the AUDYA replacement. Just to give you an idea (and we documented it on our brochures too)...
** The SD1 flagship was the replacement for the X1 flagship
* We then came out with the XD9. It was NOT a replacement for the aging SD1plus ... and remember, although the SD1 was the flagship, the XD9 styles did not work in the SD1!
** AUDYA then came out and that was the replacement for the SD1Plus flagship. It was expanded to include a 61 keys version and a module (which the SD1Plus was missing).

I just wanted to give YOU a little history ... however, this does not erase your thoughts or wishes of the SD9 Pro being a 'better' keyboard than the AUDYA ... it's just different!

Thanks,

AJ
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#443853 - 01/03/18 01:22 AM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
Henni Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/01/08
Posts: 2860
Loc: South Africa
AJ,

Thank you. Then this means that the SD9 freezing when converting certain styles is still a problem, caused by "whatever" (most prob the non Ketron related style conversion software)

Is it therefore too much to expect Ketron to look into this and provide a simple piece of code that would recrtify this?

I say again, it will take them 5 minutes to find the problem (divide by zero error) and less than an afternoon to create a simple program that runs on Windows that fixes these problematic styles.

Henni
_________________________
Make sure you'll fly forever!

Top
#443874 - 01/03/18 08:33 AM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
ajodanimario Offline
Member

Registered: 11/20/12
Posts: 72
Loc: españa
good again AJ, when I bought my sd9 version 1.0.2 was installed, if I have not misunderstood its explanation may be due to the lack of installing version 1.0.1 before, when I try to convert some audya styles of those that carry the point blue ti or the sign ^ gives me error and will not let me convert it. if it is another normal style there is no problem. I hope as always your solution. Thank you

Top
#443901 - 01/03/18 03:43 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3097
Loc: Middletown, DE
ajodanimario's SD9 Pro does NOT freeze when converting styles. Again, for those whose units do freeze, they will need to install 1.0.1 and then re-install 1.0.2!

The styles with the "^" are those with the AUDIO elements I was referring to which require the extra 'steps'. Maybe since you do not know for sure the sequence in which the OS was installed, you too may have to re-install OS 1.0.1, and then 1.0.2.

Hope this helps.

Thanks,
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#443923 - 01/03/18 10:32 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
ajodanimario Offline
Member

Registered: 11/20/12
Posts: 72
Loc: españa
Thanks AJ, I'm going to do the test of reinstalling 1.0.1 and then 1.0.2, I'll comment if it works well. Also ask if your audya gold package that you buy and Robert messier's ketron UK styles can be converted someday for sd9

Top
#443927 - 01/03/18 11:23 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
ajodanimario Offline
Member

Registered: 11/20/12
Posts: 72
Loc: españa
Well, I just reinstalled the operating systems to check the conversion of Audya styles, say that those that contain the symbol (@) before the style if they are converted, those that contain the symbol (&) say a protected message , failed conversion, and any henni styles that HQ puts on, they block my sd9 and I have to restart it. My question for AJ is, when will be able to release all these styles that are still protected or we will have to continue paying money to be able to dispose of them, in that aspect he is completely right, ketron is a bottomless piggy bank and other brands have a lot of styles within reach of any user of your brand. I think that is not quite correct and that a detail for your customers could be since both you AJ, as ketron italy have in their databases who are

Top
#443928 - 01/03/18 11:23 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
ajodanimario Offline
Member

Registered: 11/20/12
Posts: 72
Loc: españa
Audya customers who have paid for their styles, could give to the paid already in Audya for past things and update their sd9, what comes new in the future is something else and I see it logical that you have to pay for your work, but what was already paid in audya would be a detail to be able to arrange it in sd9 and not have to go through the box again or simply have to lose styles like those of the pendrive of ketron italia or ketron Uk or super gold styles of AJ.

Top
#443930 - 01/03/18 11:27 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
necdetdoni Offline
Member

Registered: 05/20/03
Posts: 332
Loc: Antalya / Turkey
Hi all..

I am realy wondering about SD9 sampler function..will be an O.S update for this option?
if yes, when? if no; why?

Thanks

Top
#443931 - 01/03/18 11:52 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: necdetdoni]
abacuses Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 12/28/17
Posts: 11
Loc: regensburg germany
hi,

The Sample Edit Function is on works in Italy, Maybe with the next
Update with new Filter Function.
When?-I dont know.

Wolfgang

Top
#443934 - 01/04/18 01:50 AM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: abacuses]
necdetdoni Offline
Member

Registered: 05/20/03
Posts: 332
Loc: Antalya / Turkey
Originally Posted By abacuses
hi,

The Sample Edit Function is on works in Italy, Maybe with the next
Update with new Filter Function.
When?-I dont know.

Wolfgang


Thanks

Top
#443958 - 01/04/18 09:12 AM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Ketron_AJ]
stkeys Offline
Member

Registered: 11/18/17
Posts: 31
Originally Posted By Ketron_AJ


Please advise those you know who have tried using the style converter on the SD9 Pro and experienced abnormalities with this and any other functions .... if they bought their SD9 Pro with OS 1.0.0, they MUST first install OS 1.0.1 (as is clearly mentioned on our website) BEFORE installing OS 1.0.2. My guess is they possibly had OS 1.0.0 in their units, skipped updating with OS 1.0.1 (which has crucial updates not repeated in OS 1.0.2) and updated directly to OS 1.0.2 (which has updates not found in OS 1.0.1 either).



AJ, is there a way to test the SD9 to see if it did have the OS 1.0.1 installed before it was updated to OS 1.0.2 ?

If the SD9 was updated without the previous OS installed is there a way to safely fix it?

thanks,

Steve

Top
#444039 - 01/05/18 08:24 AM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
ajodanimario Offline
Member

Registered: 11/20/12
Posts: 72
Loc: españa
Something wrong with SR.AJ, I have converted an internal pattern of my Audya to the .kst format, I take an example to try to do the ballad bank style called slow_ballad, now you say that you have to pick up the audio drums from the Audya, pulse the wiew button and all arrangers put audio drum 16 beat1_76, where I find that waw file, because in user audio drums is not and I have entered the folder system and subfolder audiodrum only puts audiofile_xxx, I'm stuck in this and I do not know where look for the audio drums, and apart are also the (arp & lick) that I do not know where to look for them, could you give the explanation of how to do it, I do not know if it can be in the translations but I'm stuck in this step and I want to convert all the styles that I use from the audya to sd9

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online