SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#443835 - 01/02/18 09:56 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3041
Loc: Middletown, DE
Henni

I now understand. The SD9 Pro is the professional version of the SD series and in a unique class of it's own. That's like BMW just releasing the X1. It's newer and technologically more advanced than their X5 and X3 in some ways, but built for a "different" kind of customer. It doesn't however replace their X5?

Ketron's SD9 Pro is for those who want a professional product without all the in depth "editors and menus" usually associated with one ...one that sounds professional out of the box, a product you can purchase at 3pm and be gigging with at 6pm that same day.

Thanks,
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#443841 - 01/02/18 10:44 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
Henni Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/01/08
Posts: 2755
Loc: South Africa
Sorry AJ,

I do not want to get into a feud with you. I certainly get the impression you stated all of the above just to relieve pressure from Ketron.

The SD9 IS indeed the Audya replacement, but cannot live up to the requirements. I HATE lies with a passion.

When Ketron states something is going to be released soon, it actually takes years to happen. So when you state it will take long, you are just saying that it will never happen.

I am back at my original complaint: THE SD9 IS SUPPOSED TO HANDLE ANYTHING THAT THE AUDYA CAN THROW AT IT - * * * PERIOD * * * The fact that it cannot just proves that it was released prematurely.

It is I that now understand.

Henni

I have listened to all the SD9 demos. All the Audya audio guitar loops are there, only in an improved format. Most certainly the conversion software onboard the SD9 can redirect the requests to the most appropriate audio guitar loops.

I'm sure same goes for the Audya

Top
#443842 - 01/02/18 11:14 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3041
Loc: Middletown, DE
Originally Posted By Henni
Sorry AJ,

I do not want to get into a feud with you. I certainly get the impression you stated all of the above just to relieve pressure from Ketron.

The SD9 IS indeed the Audya replacement, but cannot live up to the requirements. I HATE lies with a passion.

When Ketron states something is going to be released soon, it actually takes years to happen. So when you state it will take long, you are just saying that it will never happen.

I am back at my original complaint: THE SD9 IS SUPPOSED TO HANDLE ANYTHING THAT THE AUDYA CAN THROW AT IT - * * * PERIOD * * * The fact that it cannot just proves that it was released prematurely.

It is I that now understand.

Henni

I have listened to all the SD9 demos. All the Audya audio guitar loops are there, only in an improved format. Most certainly the conversion software onboard the SD9 can redirect the requests to the most appropriate audio guitar loops.

I'm sure same goes for the Audya


=============================================

If indeed the SD9 Pro is supposed to be the new Audya replacement as you've stated, then yes, you are correct...in theory, it 'should' handle everything the Audya can throw at it....but it 'doesn't' ...because in reality, ...it isn't. There is a difference between replacement and flagship.

Most of the requirements for the SD9 Pro have been met ...some are still in the works as this new platform can handle a lot. It's a new and different keyboard that has amungst other things, 'borrowed' technology from the Audya series and SD7.

I do however still respect your views and thoughts and ... wants.
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#443845 - 01/02/18 11:24 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
ajodanimario Offline
Member

Registered: 11/20/12
Posts: 72
Loc: espaņa
Good AJ, at some point in your explanation on how to pass Audya styles to sd9 I have lost (possibly it is the Spanish English translation of the computer), you say of a folder with all the waw files and others, you know we have spoken many times over the Audya and you solved all my problems and my audya is much better since it works with your update inside. I have always told you that you are ketron, ketron italy there is nothing more than sales, buy my sd9 in the distributor of Spain because I have it 35kms from home and if I had a problem it was easier to solve it from here, but returning to the topic of the conversion of styles, what else is to put folders if when you are going to convert a style in the sd9 of those who wear the blue dot or the symbol> it tells you that they are protected.
I think Henni's complaint is focused on this, because everything is still copy protection and we can not use all the new sd9 but at the same time everything that has served us so far of the Audya ?, it is incomprehensible that you spend a lot of money on a new keyboard because it is supposed to be better in everything and a very important thing that weighs much less than Audya and in the end if you want to continue using the good things of the Audya instead of going with a single keyboard more modern and less heavy you have to carry both. I do not understand, I await your answer, AJ.

Top
#443846 - 01/02/18 11:55 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: ajodanimario]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3041
Loc: Middletown, DE
Originally Posted By ajodanimario
Good AJ, at some point in your explanation on how to pass Audya styles to sd9 I have lost (possibly it is the Spanish English translation of the computer), you say of a folder with all the waw files and others, you know we have spoken many times over the Audya and you solved all my problems and my audya is much better since it works with your update inside. I have always told you that you are ketron, ketron italy there is nothing more than sales, buy my sd9 in the distributor of Spain because I have it 35kms from home and if I had a problem it was easier to solve it from here, but returning to the topic of the conversion of styles, what else is to put folders if when you are going to convert a style in the sd9 of those who wear the blue dot or the symbol> it tells you that they are protected.
I think Henni's complaint is focused on this, because everything is still copy protection and we can not use all the new sd9 but at the same time everything that has served us so far of the Audya ?, it is incomprehensible that you spend a lot of money on a new keyboard because it is supposed to be better in everything and a very important thing that weighs much less than Audya and in the end if you want to continue using the good things of the Audya instead of going with a single keyboard more modern and less heavy you have to carry both. I do not understand, I await your answer, AJ.



ajodanimario,

If you have AUDYA styles and want to use them on your SD9 Pro (whose OS has prooerly been updated correctly from 1.0.0 to 1.0.1 and now to 1.0.2), you can do so but you will have to:-
* first convert the style (as if you were converting say an SD5 or other KETRON style) in the SD9 Pro, by putting this on a USB stick and placing in the SD9 Pro and touching it twice to try and play it. FOLLOW THE SCREEN PROMPTS!.
* When conversion is done, copy the new *.KST file into a USER STYLE FOLDER (E.g UNPLUGGED).

* When you do so, the SD9 Pro can now play the style but without the AUDIO DRUMS and AUDIO LIVE GUITARS that were used in AUDYA so ....
* Next, you will have to go to AUDYA (where the AUDIO DRUMS for the style you just converted are) and rename them from xxxxARRA@120.wav to ARRA.wav, yyyyyARRB.wav to ARRB.wav .... in otherwords, simply rename them with the arranger part of the name.
* Copy the renamed AUDIO drums onto a USB stick and bring those into the SD9 Pro.
* Now on the SD9 PRO, to to MEDIA - MODELLING - LIVE DRUM and create a new sub-folder with the name of the style and the BPM (e.g. POP 120). On the AUDYA, the BPM was part of the wave file name, but in the SD9 Pro, the BPM only needs to be associated with the folder in which you are going to place all the audio files associated with this style. This makes it way easier to search folders for specific files (SD9 Pro) than thousands of individual audio files (Audya) lumped in one folder - USER AUDIO DRUMS!
* To now re-assign the Audio Drums and Audio Guitars to the style, load the style, then touch LIVE MODELLING.
* Touch the LD pad (Live drum) on the screen to put it in EDIT mode - then touch the LIVE DRUM icon on the right side.
* Scroll down all the way to the bottom (where your new folder - POP 120 (L) will be "L=Live Drums" and touch it.
* Unlike AUDYA where you had to individually assign each live drum to each part, as soon as you do this, the SD9 Pro will automatically assign the wave files in this folder - ARRA.wave to ARRANGER A, ARRB.Wav to ARRAGNER B ... etc.
* Do the Live Guitar the same way ... touch the LIVE GUITAR PAD to put it in EDIT mode, then touch the LIVE GUITAR icon on the right ...scroll down the LIVE GUITAR list and select the live Guitar you want ... remember to do this for each of the ARRANGER parts!

*** SAVE your new style!

Hope this helps!

You have a valid point about AUDYA and SD9 Pro being 'better'. Problem is customers wanted a replacement for the AUDYA so badly that the next thing that came out that 'borrowed' it's audio drums and live guitar technology was automatically assumed to be the AUDYA replacement. Remember, when the SD7 was released, folks thought it was the AUDYA replacement. Just to give you an idea (and we documented it on our brochures too)...
** The SD1 flagship was the replacement for the X1 flagship
* We then came out with the XD9. It was NOT a replacement for the aging SD1plus ... and remember, although the SD1 was the flagship, the XD9 styles did not work in the SD1!
** AUDYA then came out and that was the replacement for the SD1Plus flagship. It was expanded to include a 61 keys version and a module (which the SD1Plus was missing).

I just wanted to give YOU a little history ... however, this does not erase your thoughts or wishes of the SD9 Pro being a 'better' keyboard than the AUDYA ... it's just different!

Thanks,

AJ
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#443853 - 01/03/18 01:22 AM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
Henni Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/01/08
Posts: 2755
Loc: South Africa
AJ,

Thank you. Then this means that the SD9 freezing when converting certain styles is still a problem, caused by "whatever" (most prob the non Ketron related style conversion software)

Is it therefore too much to expect Ketron to look into this and provide a simple piece of code that would recrtify this?

I say again, it will take them 5 minutes to find the problem (divide by zero error) and less than an afternoon to create a simple program that runs on Windows that fixes these problematic styles.

Henni
_________________________
Make sure you'll fly forever!

Top
#443874 - 01/03/18 08:33 AM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
ajodanimario Offline
Member

Registered: 11/20/12
Posts: 72
Loc: espaņa
good again AJ, when I bought my sd9 version 1.0.2 was installed, if I have not misunderstood its explanation may be due to the lack of installing version 1.0.1 before, when I try to convert some audya styles of those that carry the point blue ti or the sign ^ gives me error and will not let me convert it. if it is another normal style there is no problem. I hope as always your solution. Thank you

Top
#443901 - 01/03/18 03:43 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3041
Loc: Middletown, DE
ajodanimario's SD9 Pro does NOT freeze when converting styles. Again, for those whose units do freeze, they will need to install 1.0.1 and then re-install 1.0.2!

The styles with the "^" are those with the AUDIO elements I was referring to which require the extra 'steps'. Maybe since you do not know for sure the sequence in which the OS was installed, you too may have to re-install OS 1.0.1, and then 1.0.2.

Hope this helps.

Thanks,
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#443923 - 01/03/18 10:32 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
ajodanimario Offline
Member

Registered: 11/20/12
Posts: 72
Loc: espaņa
Thanks AJ, I'm going to do the test of reinstalling 1.0.1 and then 1.0.2, I'll comment if it works well. Also ask if your audya gold package that you buy and Robert messier's ketron UK styles can be converted someday for sd9

Top
#443927 - 01/03/18 11:23 PM Re: 1st SD9 broken promise! [Re: Henni]
ajodanimario Offline
Member

Registered: 11/20/12
Posts: 72
Loc: espaņa
Well, I just reinstalled the operating systems to check the conversion of Audya styles, say that those that contain the symbol (@) before the style if they are converted, those that contain the symbol (&) say a protected message , failed conversion, and any henni styles that HQ puts on, they block my sd9 and I have to restart it. My question for AJ is, when will be able to release all these styles that are still protected or we will have to continue paying money to be able to dispose of them, in that aspect he is completely right, ketron is a bottomless piggy bank and other brands have a lot of styles within reach of any user of your brand. I think that is not quite correct and that a detail for your customers could be since both you AJ, as ketron italy have in their databases who are

Top
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online