SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#442166 - 12/08/17 07:20 AM Live Drums vs Audio Drums
stkeys Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 11/18/17
Posts: 28
Can anyone explain to me the difference between "Live Drums" found on the SD9 and "Audio Drums"

Top
#442187 - 12/08/17 12:03 PM Re: Live Drums vs Audio Drums [Re: stkeys]
andy6204 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 11/23/17
Posts: 12
it's like me , i don't know the difference

Top
#442212 - 12/08/17 10:06 PM Re: Live Drums vs Audio Drums [Re: stkeys]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3006
Loc: Middletown, DE
Live Drums:- Initially played by a drummer, then cut/time sliced and reproduced by Midi notes/controlled by a machine/keyboard.

PROS:- More control especially with style tempo. More 'editable' than Audio Drums as individual 'parts' can be replaced or deleted from track.

CONS:- Loss of some 'authenticity' associated with the drum kit

=================================================================

Audio Drums- Initially played by a drummer as a wave file. Machine/keyboard simply streams this audio file as was recorded from a source (SSD or HD) and plays.

PROS:- The most authentic 'drummer' you'll ever have. Entire drum set and ambient surrounding the drum kits is reproduced. KETRON provided the capability to vary the tempo of the audio drums with no change to pitch giving you some flexibility as to how you can use/synchronize them with styles and Midifiles.

CONS:- Either you like it as delivered or you hate it as there is minimum you can edit with the audio file. In the AUDYA series, you are giving a DRUM EQ which you can use to say select a particular frequency and increase/decrease it's db thus you can to some extend edit say the frequency that predominantly affects the snare drum, or kick drum ... etc and thus lower or increase the 'volume' of the 'snare' or 'kick', but you cannot replace individual drum instruments or change the audio track.

To compensate for this, KETRON allows you to record and use your own Audio drums with either factory styles, your user styles or midifiles!

Live Drums (Grooves) are used in:-
* SD1/SD1 Plus
* SD5/SD3
* SD7/SD40
* SD9 Pro (Drum 2 Track)
* AUDYA series (Drum 2 Track)

Audio Drums (Wave files) are used in-
* AUDYA series (Drum 1 & 2 Tracks)
* SD9 Pro (Drum 1 Track)

Hope this helps.

Thanks,
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#442314 - 12/10/17 03:28 PM Re: Live Drums vs Audio Drums [Re: Ketron_AJ]
stkeys Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 11/18/17
Posts: 28
Thanks AJ, I find it strange then that while testing out how to Sync Cubase to the SD9 my results were as follows.

Styles that contain "Live Drums" didn't stay in Sync.
Styles with "Audio Drums" did stay in sync. ( at least some of the styles )

If the Live Drums are Midi notes/controlled by a machine/keyboard I would have thought they would stay in Sync more so than the Audio Drums.

Getting Cubase to Stay in sync with the SD40 and Audya 5 or 4 was hit and miss.... some styles worked slightly better than others.

I'm still not 100% happy with the results on any of the ketron/audya keyboards/modules when it comes to staying in sync with Cubase.

Top
#442342 - 12/11/17 03:29 AM Re: Live Drums vs Audio Drums [Re: stkeys]
nightowl Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 08/27/11
Posts: 14
Loc: Australia
I've the same problem using Logic Pro X, and "Audya 4, it sync OK for about halfway of the song and than style start to slowing down , it does't keep up with midi clock.

Top
#442373 - 12/11/17 02:33 PM Re: Live Drums vs Audio Drums [Re: stkeys]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3006
Loc: Middletown, DE
Originally Posted By stkeys
Thanks AJ, I find it strange then that while testing out how to Sync Cubase to the SD9 my results were as follows.

Styles that contain "Live Drums" didn't stay in Sync.
Styles with "Audio Drums" did stay in sync. ( at least some of the styles )

If the Live Drums are Midi notes/controlled by a machine/keyboard I would have thought they would stay in Sync more so than the Audio Drums.

Getting Cubase to Stay in sync with the SD40 and Audya 5 or 4 was hit and miss.... some styles worked slightly better than others.

I'm still not 100% happy with the results on any of the ketron/audya keyboards/modules when it comes to staying in sync with Cubase.


This is part of the reason we recommend to folks not to use KETRON product with audio styles as a slave when connected to any other midi device, unless using Midi styles. The problem is in the processor being able to handle both timing of audio elements (regardless of midi trigger or streaming) and perfect interpretation of the midi in clock.
A quick fix is to select a midi style similar to the audio and use that (minus the drums) to lay down the track you want to create in Cubase - then come back and lay down the audio drums.... less tasking of the processor :-(

Hope this helps.

Thanks,

AJ
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online