SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#399181 - 02/06/15 08:12 AM SETTINGS QUESTION
kitkat Offline
Member

Registered: 05/15/08
Posts: 253
Loc: United States
This question is because I am not sure just what takes place in the KN7000 with settings. When playing in a Variation and the Fill-in is used, do the settings in the Fill-in change for what has been composed in the Fill-in that differ from the settings in the Variation? Also, any settings in Variations or Fill-ins, in COMPOSER, are they negated by the settings in the play mode? I hope I have made myself clear.

Mark

Top
#399182 - 02/06/15 08:56 AM Re: SETTINGS QUESTION [Re: kitkat]
RMepstead Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/15/02
Posts: 1543
Loc: Wootton Bassett - Wiltshire - ...
Fill-ins are little 2 or 4 beat files a bit like each variation. Those that are part the standard rhythms built in to the keyboard can be changed by either composing replacement ones or by moving other fill-ins to replace the existing ones.
Non-standard rhythms/style files that have been imported from elsewhere usually come with their own fill-ins as well but they too can be changed as above.
As far as I am aware any settings that you organise for a rhythm apply also to the fill-ins.
Does this help or have I misunderstood you completely?
_________________________
Roger M

Top
#399183 - 02/06/15 09:07 AM Re: SETTINGS QUESTION [Re: kitkat]
kitkat Offline
Member

Registered: 05/15/08
Posts: 253
Loc: United States
Hi Rog,

I think this answers my questions:

"As far as I am aware any settings that you organise for a rhythm apply also to the fill-ins."

I suppose regardless of what you have in settings in the play mixer, playing a fill-in will play the settings you did for it in COMPOSER.

I must make something clear that I didn't state in my question, I am speaking of volumes set in each part in COMPOSER.

Thanks,

Mark

Top
#399184 - 02/06/15 10:10 AM Re: SETTINGS QUESTION [Re: kitkat]
designserve Online   content
Member

Registered: 08/21/14
Posts: 151
Loc: Wales, UK
Hi Mark,

The settings for volume in the Composer are relative. They are expressed as a negative number in the Part Settings of the Composer. So, let's say you have your bass part set to a Volume of 105 on the main screen or mixer and the Balance setting of the bass in the Composer is set to -15 then the actual resulting volume is 105-15=90. This balance can (has to) be set for each part of each intro, ending, fills and variations individually, 20 in all (which is quite painful when you want to edit them, lots of edits to tweak an entire Composer!).

There is something misleading when Composer editing... you can adjust the volumes but that is only for auditioning whilst you are editing. They only persist if you edit the Balance in the Part Settings. More's the pity!

Best wishes,
Mike
_________________________
Help to preserve information about Technics Keyboards.
http://TechnicsKN7000.com
http://KN7000.co.uk
http://TechnicsKeyboards.com
http://wsa1.technicskeyboards.com/
Currently playing: KN7000 KN6500 KN5000 KN3000 KN2000 KN1000 KN901 KN800 P50 WSA1 AX7 EX30

Top
#399188 - 02/06/15 11:22 AM Re: SETTINGS QUESTION [Re: designserve]
kitkat Offline
Member

Registered: 05/15/08
Posts: 253
Loc: United States
Thanks, Mike.

Sheeeeeeeeeeeeeesh!!!

Mark

Top
#399194 - 02/06/15 02:36 PM Re: SETTINGS QUESTION [Re: kitkat]
jd5live Offline
Member

Registered: 05/16/06
Posts: 343
Loc: Bilston , West Midlands,Englan...
Mark, you asked!!!.LOL. there is one hell of alot to composer Both Mike and I have been working out the little bits and pieces and there ain't a few, there is plenty,It offers you great power over the end effect but make sure you have your beer and food hamper at hand because as someone famous said" I might be some time" but still have fun and have a go
Regards John.

Top
#399206 - 02/06/15 05:27 PM Re: SETTINGS QUESTION [Re: jd5live]
designserve Online   content
Member

Registered: 08/21/14
Posts: 151
Loc: Wales, UK
I barely used the Composer until a few weeks ago but it doesn't take long to learn, especially with emailing JD back and forth in the early hours for help, so give it a shot it is worth it. Still learning tho. Mmmmm food hamper!
_________________________
Help to preserve information about Technics Keyboards.
http://TechnicsKN7000.com
http://KN7000.co.uk
http://TechnicsKeyboards.com
http://wsa1.technicskeyboards.com/
Currently playing: KN7000 KN6500 KN5000 KN3000 KN2000 KN1000 KN901 KN800 P50 WSA1 AX7 EX30

Top
#399210 - 02/06/15 07:00 PM Re: SETTINGS QUESTION [Re: designserve]
Bill Norrie Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/16/02
Posts: 2296
Loc: North Yorkshire
I use the Composer for about 99% of my recordings - it's one of the most valuable parts of the KN7000. It allows me to produce much more authentic backings for my sequences, rather than the constantly repeating 4 measures within built-in or 'normal' styles. I also use it for live playing when backing a vocalist. The great thing about it is that you can include these little 'figures' and nuances which help to make a song/tune more authentic and each of the 4 variations can be up to 16 measures long. The 'Fill-Ins', Intros and Endings, can also be up to 16 measures.....

Top
#399212 - 02/06/15 08:17 PM Re: SETTINGS QUESTION [Re: kitkat]
nsr007 Offline
Member

Registered: 10/20/05
Posts: 220
Loc: USA
Greetings,

I seldom check the forum anymore but found this post interesting. Bill, you couldn't have said it better and to my way of thinking with:

"The great thing about it is that you can include these little 'figures' and nuances which help to make a song/tune more authentic and each of the 4 variations can be up to 16 measures long. The 'Fill-Ins', Intros and Endings, can also be up to 16 measures...."

This may come as a surprise to many but doing total work in Composer settings in each of the variations and fill-ins and recording a song using sequencer, one only has to use the APC and Control track to record. The only reason you have to even use the APC is because of the first chord of the song to be initiated. Otherwise, it wouldn't even have to be used. What really is surprising, there is NO MEMORY LOSS. Regardless of the length of the song, it will only register 99% still in the sequencer track. How strange is that! Just think how long a song could be with having not only the 4 variations in Memory A, B, C for Composer but all the Fill-Ins in the variations. Adding all these, this makes one hell of a long song or composition that you can do! These kinds of posts make it interesting for me to on occasion visit the forum.

One more comment--Mike, you are right to a point with settings. However, if using the aforementioned way of recording that I said, the changes that the Control track makes will automatically make CORRECT the settings one has used in Composer for variations and fill-ins. Mark, this means the volume controls you asked about will automatically be correct with what you have used in each variation and fill-in.

Scott Reed

Top
#399216 - 02/07/15 02:31 AM Re: SETTINGS QUESTION [Re: kitkat]
RMepstead Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/15/02
Posts: 1543
Loc: Wootton Bassett - Wiltshire - ...
and I was trying to keep it simple...chuckle.
_________________________
Roger M

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online