SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#390348 - 07/06/14 12:24 AM Were you taught by someone to sing or play?
Mark79100 Offline

Loc: USA
The recent comments on "singing lessons" prompted me to post this.

Many of you folks in the group are fine vocalists and many are fine instrumentalists, so I'm curious......

.....how many of you have had singing or instrument lessons (and how many are self-taught?) and, if you've had tutors, your own comments about your experiences with them?

#390349 - 07/06/14 03:13 AM Re: Were you taught by someone to sing or play? [Re: Mark79100]
Bernie9 Offline

Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
I switched from trombone to organ in 1964 while singing only in church choir. I took lessons at the store for 6 months, after telling the teacher I wanted to play a Hammond B3 with a fake book. He proceeded to teach me the rudiments, but insisted on theory being included.

Looking back, I could have benefited from classical training for piano, but I improve everyday and am quite satisfied. I need some instruction on breath control in my singing however.

Bernie

#390352 - 07/06/14 07:52 AM Re: Were you taught by someone to sing or play? [Re: Mark79100]
DonM Offline

Loc: Benton, LA, USA
I played trumpet in high school and music theory. I learned drums, bass, guitar and organ in that order, mostly by myself. Bought one of the very first arrangers and grew up with the technology.
I started singing because the singer didn't show up and I wanted to keep on getting paid. Pretty obvious that no lessons were involved there! smile

#390358 - 07/06/14 09:33 AM Re: Were you taught by someone to sing or play? [Re: Mark79100]
spalding1968 Offline

Loc: United Kingdom
I had piano lessons when I turned 25 years old for 2 years . My teacher now teaches my nieces and nephews .

It gave me the launch pad into playing piano and I learned the rudiments of music after playing the guitar by ear for years .