SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#336623 - 01/19/12 06:36 AM 4.2b version bug AJ help !!!
shay_el Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/25/11
Posts: 29
Hi AJ i am having issues with connection to midi external device
(Drum Machine from Rolland Vdrums TD-20)
the Ketron gets stuck from time to time.
Have you came across this issue if so will it be fixed in the next release?

Top
#339059 - 02/07/12 12:44 PM Re: 4.2b version bug AJ help !!! [Re: shay_el]
Robbo Offline
Member

Registered: 07/31/08
Posts: 549
Loc: Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Funny you should mention this, I am scanning the forum to try to find freezing issues for Audya, Mine has started to freeze after about 1 hour of use, looks like its got something to do with the timing issue for recorded instruments i think, but I'm still looking for answers

Top
#339062 - 02/07/12 01:10 PM Re: 4.2b version bug AJ help !!! [Re: shay_el]
Tonewheeldude Offline
Moderator

Registered: 01/21/10
Posts: 1529
run your checksum tests (Hold F1 whilst powering on) KETA02 should show error, but the correct sum is 88F51D49. All the others should read OK.


Top
#339064 - 02/07/12 01:20 PM Re: 4.2b version bug AJ help !!! [Re: shay_el]
Robbo Offline
Member

Registered: 07/31/08
Posts: 549
Loc: Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Reseaching the forum. One member who was experiencing the same problems solved it by doing a defrag when conected to thier PC. Of course you should backup all first, hope this works will try it tonight!

Top
#339066 - 02/07/12 01:49 PM Re: 4.2b version bug AJ help !!! [Re: shay_el]
Tonewheeldude Offline
Moderator

Registered: 01/21/10
Posts: 1529
make sure you back up the hidden files and folders too (your computer wont see them unless you change the settings - differs depending on the OS your computer is running.)

I would still suggest running the checksum test first though.

Top
#339078 - 02/07/12 07:43 PM Re: 4.2b version bug AJ help !!! [Re: shay_el]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3167
Loc: Middletown, DE
shay_el,

Do you remember what happend prior to this happening to your AUDYA (e.g connected to PC/Mac, Playing style on USB stick ... etc). I can help narrow down the solution if I know what you were doing before. Is this recurring?

Thanks (and sorry for late reply),

AJ
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#339237 - 02/10/12 12:37 AM Re: 4.2b version bug AJ help !!! [Re: Ketron_AJ]
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3930
AJ,

How long is a piece of string. computer When it happened to me the many times it did, I didn't have a clue what caused it, it just shouldn't do it in the first place.
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
#339249 - 02/10/12 03:00 AM Re: 4.2b version bug AJ help !!! [Re: Tony Hughes]
Nigel Offline
Admin

Registered: 06/01/98
Posts: 6157
Loc: Ventura CA USA
Originally Posted By: Tony Hughes
AJ,

How long is a piece of string. computer When it happened to me the many times it did, I didn't have a clue what caused it, it just shouldn't do it in the first place.


Tony, I guess you aren't familiar with software development and debugging software problems. I am, it has been my job for over 25 years. Fixing bugs is almost impossible without knowing the repeat to make them happen. Once you know what steps it takes to repeat the bug then that pinpoints where the problem lies and it can be fixed quickly then. AJ is right on wanting to know how to repeat it so it can be fixed.

If you don't know how to repeat the problem then it is very unlikely to get fixed ... because you simply don't know what to fix, it is that simple.

Oh a piece of string is 26 inches .... wink

Top
#339526 - 02/12/12 05:24 PM Re: 4.2b version bug AJ help !!! [Re: shay_el]
Robbo Offline
Member

Registered: 07/31/08
Posts: 549
Loc: Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Hi, well after much research and countless hours of testing plugging and unplugging devices, I think I have finally worked out what is wrong with Audya when it freezes. It runs out of poliphany! Thats it. Sustain pedal in, Freeze, sustain pedal out, no freeze!.. Now what to do next. I need someone from Ketron or close to them, to tell me why the program OS goes into stack overflow which causes the freeze and enevitable switch off to restart. Is there a missing file? or is it a corrupted file? or does this require a new update to fix so that I can continue to use the pedal, or is it the pedal that is the problem?

Thanks so much for any help, I really do love the Audya and looks like its back in my better book now.

Top
#339621 - 02/13/12 10:02 AM Re: 4.2b version bug AJ help !!! [Re: Robbo]
Nigel Offline
Admin

Registered: 06/01/98
Posts: 6157
Loc: Ventura CA USA
That is great Robbo that you have found a way to create the problem. That will provide a big clue to what is needed to fix it.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online