SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#3277 - 11/19/02 07:47 PM Synth vs. workstation keyboards
Anonymous
Unregistered

I'm a newbie and still don't know what the difference between a synth and a workstation. All I know is mostly the workstations keyboards cost more than synth.
Would anyone tell me what the difference in details please? Thanks in advance!

#3278 - 11/20/02 06:28 AM Re: Synth vs. workstation keyboards
Equalizer Offline

Loc: Scotland
Ok, here goes...

a workstation contains lots of onboard sounds which attempt to replicate the sounds from *real* musical instruments. If you select, say, an accordion sound on a workstation, then when you hit a key on the keyboard you'll be triggering an audio sample taken from a real accordion.

Workstations also usually have onboard sequencers and onboard floppy disc drives for recording and playing music which has been saved in midi format. The downside to workstations is that there's not much room for tweaking the sounds and you're pretty much stuck with the factory presets.

A workstation would be a better choice for someone who was trying to compose (for example) some classical music.

Synths on the other hand are more geared towards people who want to create their own unique (freaky!) sounds. You can normally tell the difference between a synth and a workstation at a glance, because synths usually have lots of knobs and/or sliders for tweaking the sounds.

Also, the way in which synths produce sounds is different from with a workstation. Instead of using sounds which have been sampled from real instruments, synthesizers use difference methods for creating sounds such as producing a sawtooth wav and adding filter sweeps and so on. Although both synths and workstations have presets which attempt to replicate the sounds of real instruments... it's generally agreed that workstations sound more realistic because of their totally different method of sound production.