SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#309800 - 10/30/06 03:41 PM Using a Yamaha Soundcard with OMB
Musikman4Christ Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 10/01/04
Posts: 17
Loc: USA
Hey guys,

I have been out of the arranger world for a while now ever since I sold my keyboards and went full software.

I have now ableton and I think it really shows a lot of promise. but sometimes when I just wanna have some fun playing. I want to use One man band again, but I want to either use Soundfonts or buy an inexpensive Yamaha soundcard. Which do you think would work best.

If I get the soundcard, do you guys think it will get in the way of using my pro sound card that I use for recording?

Thanks in advance guys...



------------------
Peace,

Musikman
Email:
Musikman4Christ@yahoo.com
_________________________
Peace,

Musikman
Email:
Musikman4Christ@yahoo.com

Top
#309801 - 10/31/06 01:21 AM Re: Using a Yamaha Soundcard with OMB
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 3820
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
Rikki's out of town,but I think she knows the answer,as she has OMB.

Personally, I use SGM180 soundfont and an Echo Indigo card,but I am GM oriented,not Yamaha as far as mapping is conscerned. On my pc, I have the Creative X-Fi. Excellent sound.

Bernie
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Centerpoint Space Station

Top
#309802 - 10/31/06 07:44 AM Re: Using a Yamaha Soundcard with OMB
Musikman4Christ Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 10/01/04
Posts: 17
Loc: USA
Thanks man, I downloaded the SGM180 soundfont yesterday at home and it really made a difference in sound quality compared to the default GM soundfont that comes with Synthfont. I really liked it. I guess I might not have to get a soundcard after all.
What I have to do now is get a GM soundfont for the drums of more quality. Do you know of any?

------------------
Peace,

Musikman
Email:
Musikman4Christ@yahoo.com
_________________________
Peace,

Musikman
Email:
Musikman4Christ@yahoo.com

Top
#309803 - 11/01/06 01:32 AM Re: Using a Yamaha Soundcard with OMB
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 3820
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
There are many but, this one is always included in the lists. http://www.sf2midi.com/

Rikki has a better list she posted here. A search will bring it up
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Centerpoint Space Station

Top
#309804 - 11/09/06 08:09 PM Re: Using a Yamaha Soundcard with OMB
rikkisbears Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/22/02
Posts: 4243
Loc: NSW,Australia
Hi Musikman,
just got back from vacation.
I think I mentioned a few of the ones I currently have in this post. http://www.synthzone.com/ubbs/Forum43/HTML/000026.html
best wishes
Rikki
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Musikman4Christ:
[B]
_________________________
best wishes
Rikki

Korg PA4x, Korg PA3X, PSR S950, Band in a Box 2016
V Arranger/Ketron SD2

Top

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online