SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 3 of 6 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 >
Topic Options
#255345 - 02/04/09 05:01 AM Re: Audya at home
LIONSTRACS Offline
Member

Registered: 12/13/05
Posts: 664
Loc: Italy
Quote:
Originally posted by Nedim:
After today i quit reading about MS, even though i was offered to work on the machine.
As some say, its not important how it works inside and hot is it dont, whats important
is WHAT DO I HEAR COME OUT OF IT!


are you kidding or what??
What come OUT from the MS is for sure 100 time audio better quality from one another keyboard.
Remember also that the Dream chip is 10 years dated and give a LOT of effects noise, just put at the max volume slider and you can hear the ocean noise on your power amplifer.

IF for you is more importand what come out from the stereo out, then just open one windows mediaplayer, OR you there need also one OS system that can play styles, sounds, wav?

If you don't care of the Audya work, then just let me see that you are able and allowed to create ONE new style with ONE new audio loops. I think you there need oriental styles too, right? let me hear a new one.

I will see now IF really you don't care how it works...

Top
#255346 - 02/04/09 06:43 AM Re: Audya at home
mrdave Offline
Member

Registered: 11/02/07
Posts: 90
Loc: Rimini, Italy
Quote:
Originally posted by Nedim:
Sorry bro but thats wrong, Audya works on the known way as any other
ROMPLER does, what you heard from HD is the SuperSolos and they, ONLY
they come from HD. Audya has its own ROM and i even know its size.


There is a folder on the hard disk in the system/factory/sound with these files:

29/12/2008 12.01 1.703.936 Parm0000.pcm
03/11/2008 11.12 524.288 Parm0700.pcm
26/09/2008 13.53 524.288 Parm0800.pcm
03/10/2008 10.28 524.288 Parm0900.pcm
10/11/2008 08.44 524.288 Parm0A00.pcm
22/10/2008 13.18 31.850.496 Smpl000D.pcm
09/07/2008 08.11 33.554.432 Smpl0100.pcm
09/07/2008 08.11 33.554.432 Smpl0200.pcm
09/07/2008 08.12 33.554.432 Smpl0300.pcm
09/07/2008 08.12 33.554.432 Smpl0400.pcm
09/07/2008 08.12 33.554.432 Smpl0500.pcm
09/07/2008 08.12 33.554.432 Smpl0600.pcm
22/10/2008 13.21 33.030.144 Smpl0704.pcm
22/10/2008 13.23 33.030.144 Smpl0804.pcm
22/10/2008 13.25 33.030.144 Smpl0904.pcm
22/10/2008 13.26 33.030.144 Smpl0A04.pcm

These contains all the wavetable data the instrument uses (including guitar loops). Perhaps these are stored in a flash ROM also, and they left a copy in this directory however... In effect if Audya had to load these at each power on, the startup time could be much longer considering the time it take to load a 30MB supersound in RAM... (around 30 seconds)...

Top
#255347 - 02/04/09 06:58 AM Re: Audya at home
LIONSTRACS Offline
Member

Registered: 12/13/05
Posts: 664
Loc: Italy
Quote:
Originally posted by Nedim:
After today i quit reading about MS, even though i was offered to work on the machine.
As some say, its not important how it works inside and hot is it dont, whats important
is WHAT DO I HEAR COME OUT OF IT!


so..how much time you need for shown me a new style??
do you need one example how have to work the editor?
look here: http://youtube.com/watch?v=yYM5IdJvJW4

dont le me wait the 10 years...

[This message has been edited by LIONSTRACS (edited 02-04-2009).]

Top
#255348 - 02/04/09 07:03 AM Re: Audya at home
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3131
My question is simple and is this: can more guitar audio loops be added? Or is the Audya close to full in memory capacity? And most importatly can the user record their own loops...or import their own? How much memory is left in the Audya. I think the ONLY way I will buy and others ie Diki. Is If we are told something like "now you have basic loops but we are working on expanding this loop library which you can import into your board at a later time"

Top
#255349 - 02/04/09 08:17 AM Re: Audya at home
DanO1 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/01
Posts: 3602
Loc: Maryland
leezone... I do not work for Ketron, so this is not an offical answer.. but the audio loops stream from the harddrive..

If the keyboard has a 80 gig harddrive, it is like having a laptop with nothing on it , except audio wav files..

I am certain the Audya will have a tremendous amount of room for more audio based styles..

80 gigs of auido loops...
_________________________
dansmusicgear@aol.com
https://www.reverbnation.com/danoneil?profile_view_source=profile_box

Top
#255350 - 02/04/09 01:32 PM Re: Audya at home
Diki Offline


Registered: 04/25/05
Posts: 14173
Loc: NW Florida
I think, though, Dan, that the issue lies with how fast the audio and streaming engine is at switching between different streams in realtime. At the moment, it seems that Ketron have problems with more than two (or three tops) plus the drum track. Start to add in three or so more, to cover dim, aug and sus4 (chord types that currently HAVE to be MIDI'd in their entirety) and you multiply the amount of data that must all be streaming simultaneously to be able to be switched instantly (in response to chord changes) by at least a factor of two.

There's no point in a HD full of loops if the engine can't play them on demand...

This isn't a chord RECOGNITION issue. The arranger has no problem in MIDI of recognizing and playing the chords. And, I think, just like Y, K & R, it has provisions for triggering different MIDI patterns depending on chord type. I know Roland do maj, min and 7th, I think Korg adds in dim, not sure about Yamaha. If it can recognize these different chord types and switch to a different MIDI stream (in effect) it ought to be able to switch to a different audio stream as well. It's just that I don't think the engine can do this fast enough for them to be successful at more than two or three simultaneous audio streams.

Many computer based softwares that try to do this trick pre-buffer at least the START of every sample in RAM, so that it can be played instantly and then hopefully the streamed HD track has time to come in and cross fade to the buffered. But this may prove a LOT harder to do in a realtime instrument.

But, be that as it may, there is STILL the question of, if it even WERE possible to stream five or six simultaneous streams to cover the basic chord types (and a drum track), would Ketron (or any manufacturer) have the resources to make the loops at an affordable price point? Some of the better guitar looping VSTi's have nowhere NEAR the variety of styles that an arranger player needs, and yet can be quite expensive. Multiply that by the vastly greater range needed for a worldwide customer base, and you begin to see the problem.

But still, don't take me completely wrong, everyone...

The Audya is STILL an exceptional arranger. It's full arranger demos are spectacular in their liveness (and wonderfully played!) and the audio loops, for all their flaws, still help push this to a new degree of realism... once you realize their limitations. Basically, I think for anyone that is 100% satisfied with the styles that it comes with, it's going to be a great choice.

But if you are a player that uses any significant proportion of either 3rd party or conversion styles, or self created or edited styles, you are going to have a more uphill battle...

This topic would have NEVER gotten so out of whack were it not for the hype, then silence (once it was out) by Ketron employees themselves. If a caveat about it's abilities had been talked about, but audio examples posted to show that it isn't the hurdle we might think it is, none of this would have taken the tone it has. Just as arrangers have become amazingly more sophisticated in the last few years, so have their users. It is at your peril that you treat us ALL like a bunch of retired one finger 'home' players and try to obscure technical issues that are germane to the kind of player that WOULD use something this advanced...

JMO...

[This message has been edited by Diki (edited 02-04-2009).]
_________________________
An arranger is just a tool. What matters is what you build with it..!

Top
#255351 - 02/04/09 01:48 PM Re: Audya at home
DonM Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/25/99
Posts: 16735
Loc: Benton, LA, USA
Good points Dikki. However, the one-finger at home players are probably the ones that can afford it!
Sure, a few of us will buy Audya because of its immense capabilities, but we NEED the older, more affluent set to make them semi-affordable.
DonM
_________________________
DonM

Top
#255352 - 02/04/09 01:50 PM Re: Audya at home
Dnj Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/00
Posts: 43700
ketron developers must be laughing their heads off reading these fortune telling posts on something not on the market, not completed, & untested by the public thats where the real opinions lie....but as always everyone knows all about it allegedly...too weird....

Top
#255353 - 02/04/09 01:53 PM Re: Audya at home
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3131
"something not on the market, not completed, & untested by the public"

not true, it kinda is/was on the market and is tested by some of the public, as our friends in Portugal have bought some already.

it's just too bad we don't have them here on this forum to TELL IT LIKE IT IS !!!

Top
#255354 - 02/04/09 01:55 PM Re: Audya at home
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3131
Dnj, in case you did not read my post from another thread:

"Os poucos Ketron AUDYA que foram disponibilizados pela fábrica chegaram a Portugal e já estão a ser vendidos aos Clientes que os aguardavam pacientemente.

A satisfação é uma constante em todos os felizes proprietários destas fabulosas maquinas."

TRANSLATION:
The few Ketron AUDYA that were released from the factory arrived in Portugal and are already being sold to our clients that were patiently waiting for them.
What's constant is the satisfaction in all of the happy OWNERS of these fabulous machines.

Top
Page 3 of 6 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 >

Moderator:  Admin, Diki, Kerry 



Help keep Synth Zone Online