SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 7 of 7 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Topic Options
#241776 - 09/12/08 06:29 AM Re: What is Yamaha saying to us with a 61key T3 vs a 76 key one?
leeboy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/09/04
Posts: 2273
Loc: Columbia City, IN USA
OK, BUT, I wander if it works in split mode? Or just full keyboard mode?

Lee
_________________________
Lee S.

Top
#241777 - 09/12/08 06:32 AM Re: What is Yamaha saying to us with a 61key T3 vs a 76 key one?
squeak_D Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/08/00
Posts: 4643
Loc: West Virginia
Controlling the leslie with the mod wheel isn't by any means a new feature. Many other keyboards have been doing this for years..., unless there's some new way that the T3 is doing this..,, I can't see anything "shock and awe" worthy of that feature.
_________________________
GEAR: Yamaha MOXF-6, Casio MZX-500, Roland Juno-Di, M-Audio Venom, Roland RS-70, Yamaha PSR S700, M-Audio Axiom Pro-61 (Midi Controller). SOFTWARE: Mixcraft-7, PowerTracks Pro Audio 2013, Beat Thang Virtual, Dimension Le.

Top
#241778 - 09/12/08 06:52 AM Re: What is Yamaha saying to us with a 61key T3 vs a 76 key one?
jwyvern Offline
Member

Registered: 09/06/06
Posts: 365
Quote:
Originally posted by squeak_D:
Controlling the leslie with the mod wheel isn't by any means a new feature. Many other keyboards have been doing this for years..., unless there's some new way that the T3 is doing this..,, I can't see anything "shock and awe" worthy of that feature.


I knew it was a mistake leaving the extra sentence or 2 in rather than sticking to just anwering the original question.
Not everything has to be shock and awe, sometimes it's just "information/ observation" FWIW
Keep cool

John

Top
#241779 - 09/12/08 07:06 AM Re: What is Yamaha saying to us with a 61key T3 vs a 76 key one?
squeak_D Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/08/00
Posts: 4643
Loc: West Virginia
My response wasn't to be a smart ass man... It was more out of curiousity. The way you stated it made it sound like this was a newly added feature..., which I honestly thought the Tyros was already capable of doing because this is a pretty common feature on keyboards. I'm not an organ player.., all the time I've spent on the Tyros I focused on other areas, but still played a bit with the drawbars too, but I can't say that I did anything with mod wheel while running through the organ voices--which by the way were pretty impressive.

[This message has been edited by squeak_D (edited 09-12-2008).]
_________________________
GEAR: Yamaha MOXF-6, Casio MZX-500, Roland Juno-Di, M-Audio Venom, Roland RS-70, Yamaha PSR S700, M-Audio Axiom Pro-61 (Midi Controller). SOFTWARE: Mixcraft-7, PowerTracks Pro Audio 2013, Beat Thang Virtual, Dimension Le.

Top
#241780 - 09/12/08 12:24 PM Re: What is Yamaha saying to us with a 61key T3 vs a 76 key one?
Diki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 04/25/05
Posts: 12861
Loc: NW Florida
Newer Roland's have a 'floating split point' feature (sadly, not my G70 ) that kind of makes this stuff moot.

Maybe Yamaha could incorporate this? (Heck, a free software update could do it - oops! I forgot, Yamaha don't do those much, do they )

[This message has been edited by Diki (edited 09-12-2008).]

Top
#241781 - 09/12/08 12:38 PM Re: What is Yamaha saying to us with a 61key T3 vs a 76 key one?
Ensnareyou Offline
Member

Registered: 03/31/02
Posts: 491
Loc: California
Quote:
Originally posted by Diki:
Newer Roland's have a 'floating split point' feature (sadly, not my G70 ) that kind of makes this stuff moot.

Maybe Yamaha could incorporate this? (Heck, a free software update could do it - oops! I forgot, Yamaha don't do those much, do they )


No freebies from Yamaha Diki. The software update for a Tyros 2 costs $4,000! Its called a Tyros 3 or in my opinion should have been named a Tyros 2.1.

Top
#241782 - 09/12/08 02:25 PM Re: What is Yamaha saying to us with a 61key T3 vs a 76 key one?
Kingfrog Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/24/08
Posts: 1099
Loc: Myrtle beach SC
Pick up a Casio Previa and you will have a very inexpensive and light 88 note weighted keyboard controller that more than makes up for 61 keys. (or the P-85)

Yamaha does not need to make an Arranger with 76 keys, They will sell everyone they make with 61 keys becasue of the SUPPORT available for their line. We don;t sell a whole lot of Tyros but we sell a ton of S900 and package them with the P-85 for those who don't want to pay for the Clavinovas and those who play out professionally.

In the Home Studio we use a Roland RD700 for the controller but that's a beast to carry around and the Yamahas and Korgs have just as good if not better Piano sounds depending on what you like..
_________________________
Yamaha Tyros 4
Yamaha Motif XS8
Roland RD700
Casio PX-330
Martin DC Aura
Breedlove ATlas Solo
Bose MOD II PA

Top
#241783 - 09/12/08 02:56 PM Re: What is Yamaha saying to us with a 61key T3 vs a 76 key one?
Kingfrog Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/24/08
Posts: 1099
Loc: Myrtle beach SC
Quote:
Originally posted by Ensnareyou:
No freebies from Yamaha Diki. The software update for a Tyros 2 costs $4,000! Its called a Tyros 3 or in my opinion should have been named a Tyros 2.1.



The additional sliders makes it more than a software upgrade as well as a host of other physical features including the Hard drive and the movement of the pads to the left side where they should have been all along.
% effects per style is nice as well as the articulation buttons. The PSR900 is far closer to the Tyros 2 then the Tyros 3.

There's where you can really see what Yamaha has improved upon. They did a good job and I'm looking forward it.
Its all about Styles or why not just buy a Fantom, or M3,or Motif. If you cannot get thousands of styles and a huge base of support in that regard. having an Arranger with great sounds is just another very very expensive 61 or 76 unweighted key synth
_________________________
Yamaha Tyros 4
Yamaha Motif XS8
Roland RD700
Casio PX-330
Martin DC Aura
Breedlove ATlas Solo
Bose MOD II PA

Top
Page 7 of 7 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online