SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 4 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#206754 - 12/20/05 05:05 PM Re: Let's hear those arrangers!
renig Offline

Loc: Canada
Hi Jingleman,

Thank you very much for your quick answer. I'm going to try your suggestions as soon as I get home (I'm at work at the moment).

That's what was baffling me. I mean, the i30 is no slouch in the 'punch' department in and of itself, being a close relative of the PA-1x, but I just wasn't 'getting it' in the recording end of things.

Thanks again for your advice, it's well taken.

[This message has been edited by renig (edited 12-20-2005).]

#206755 - 12/20/05 07:33 PM Re: Let's hear those arrangers!
guy n Offline

Loc: East coast United States
Well, here goes. My first attempt to post something for you guys and gals to critique.
I am no pro at recording as you will probably be able to tell.
All consructive comments are welcome.
thank you,
guy
http://s47.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=0MOBLMBBM6QC03PQ37UOYEGIVM

#206756 - 12/20/05 11:25 PM Re: Let's hear those arrangers!
Dreamer Offline

Loc: Rome - Italy
Guy n
I like your rendition of "All the thing you are".
The intro sounded a bit canned, as it was the standard intro of any arranger, but then I liked a lot your phrasing with the piano and also the Soprano Sax.
Personally, when I play a ballad on an arranger keyboard, I mute the string track because it is part of the dreaded "canned arranger" sound, so to speak. Instead, I tend to play a pad or a vocal sound with my left hand, trying to voice the chords with the inversion that sounds best to my ears.
What arranger are you using?

#206757 - 12/21/05 08:18 PM Re: Let's hear those arrangers!
guy n Offline

Dreamer, Thank you . It's nice to know that SOMEONE listened to it.
Interesting that you felt the intro was canned, because I played that myself. Maybe I play like I'm canned. I appreciate the comment on the phrasing. I also do vocals, and I find myself playing as if I am singing.