SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#194899 - 09/03/05 04:17 PM Tyros 2 demo
Scott Langholff Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/09/02
Posts: 3141
Loc: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Top
#194900 - 09/03/05 04:41 PM Re: Tyros 2 demo
SemiLiveMusic Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/28/04
Posts: 2189
Loc: Louisiana, USA
Scott wins the prize for major scoop.

I think the corners look kinda cool. Most keyboards are dog ugly.


------------------
Bill
Yamaha PSR2000
_________________________
~ ~ ~
Bill

Top
#194901 - 09/03/05 04:43 PM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Impuls Offline
Member

Registered: 02/24/02
Posts: 596
Loc: Netherlands
speechless.

Arno.
_________________________
Genos,Nord Electro 5D YT : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmC6hdAR1v5lYN8twfn0YbA

Top
#194902 - 09/03/05 06:09 PM Re: Tyros 2 demo
acoustictones Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/07/05
Posts: 26
Loc: Lakeville, MN
Can't wait to give one a spin. Curious to see how that new key bed feels.
_________________________
DJ
AcousticTones Recording Studios

Top
#194903 - 09/03/05 06:41 PM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Eric, B Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/15/99
Posts: 1963
Loc: Ventura, Ca, USA
The Moderator of the german Yamaha forum said to check the site once in a while, as the demo's will keep changing.

Eric
_________________________
Genos, PSR-S970, TC Helicon VoiceLive3, Mackie 802-VLZ3 Mixer, 2 Bose L1 Compact, Electro-Voice ZXA1 Subwoofer

Top
#194904 - 09/03/05 06:50 PM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Eric, B Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/15/99
Posts: 1963
Loc: Ventura, Ca, USA
Actually reading the website again, it said that Yamaha plans to add new demo's about every 10 days

Eric
_________________________
Genos, PSR-S970, TC Helicon VoiceLive3, Mackie 802-VLZ3 Mixer, 2 Bose L1 Compact, Electro-Voice ZXA1 Subwoofer

Top
#194905 - 09/03/05 07:12 PM Re: Tyros 2 demo
royandreno Offline
Member

Registered: 03/15/02
Posts: 451
Loc: Sandnes, Norway
Why doesn't the player work for me??
I press the play button, but nothing works. Can anyone help?
_________________________
Roy-Andrè

Top
#194906 - 09/03/05 07:31 PM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Bluezplayer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/10/00
Posts: 2195
Loc: Catskill Mountains, NY
You need to have shockwave flash player installed and enabled.

AJ
_________________________
AJ

Top
#194907 - 09/03/05 09:12 PM Re: Tyros 2 demo
chony Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/10/04
Posts: 1247
Loc: New York
Hmmm,

The trumpet and sax are deffinitely better than the Ty1 ... but ... I was hoping they'd be as good as on pro samplers - which they are not. They need to impress me more before they get my business...

Top
#194908 - 09/03/05 09:19 PM Re: Tyros 2 demo
DonM Online   elvis
Senior Member

Registered: 06/25/99
Posts: 16652
Loc: Benton, LA, USA
... and I was hoping the drums would sound as good as Ketron, but they don't.
Love that Pop and Rock demo though.
The recorder would be great too.
We'll see in due time. We'll let the Europeans find all the bugs, wait a year or so for Yamaha to correct some of them, and then see what we have.
DonM
_________________________
DonM

Top
#194909 - 09/03/05 11:15 PM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Scott Langholff Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/09/02
Posts: 3141
Loc: Pensacola, Florida, USA
I wish I could put the video in slow motion. It looks like they have a fix on the music rack. It appears there is some peg that just slides into the back of Tyros 2.

I'm just in the listening mode for now, keeping an open mind. I suspect I won't know until I can get my hands on one and try it out.

Top
#194910 - 09/04/05 01:25 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
spalding Offline
Member

Registered: 09/29/04
Posts: 582
Loc: Birmingham
wont make any hard and fast judgements yet. The board sounds nice but did not blow me away. I guess the question is just how much more real can the sounds become. They were already convincing on the T1 and the sound quality is comparable with all the other top arrangers currently available. I guess i am hoping that the release of the T2 will make the prices of the T1 and Korg PA1X fall into something that i can more readily afford. Good luck to all those that thgink they might purchase the new T2 and if you have a Korg or T1 to sell ...please give us a guide price. Cheers

Top
#194911 - 09/04/05 02:36 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Roel Offline
Member

Registered: 06/24/99
Posts: 1232
Wow! This one does sound extremely realistic ! ..... I'm speechless ..

Now the real waiting starts.

Top
#194912 - 09/04/05 04:59 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
torecagli Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/05/04
Posts: 9
Loc: Istanbul, TURKEY
Does T2 has optical out for 24\bit-48Khz?Is there a back side view?

Top
#194913 - 09/04/05 05:41 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Bluezplayer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/10/00
Posts: 2195
Loc: Catskill Mountains, NY
I wouldn't expect the sounds to be quite as top notch as dedicated modules / samples. There just isn't going to be the kind of sample rom available for that. That said, it does sound very nice, at least in the demos.

I agree with Don though, not that I really know what the Ketron drums sound like anyway, but I always thought the Yamaha arranger drum sounds to be a bit "soft" vs the PA80 and other keyboards out there. It's all a matter of personal taste anyway, but for me many of the lead voices even on the original Tyros are light years ahead of their counterparts on the PA80... but those danged drums.. I don't know how to describe it.. the word "sleepy" comes to mind as I type this. Oops.. OTOH.. maybe it's me that's sleepy.. I woke up too early bthis morning

Pretty sounding demos though. The sounds are certainly going to be good enough for me as a live player.

AJ
_________________________
AJ

Top
#194914 - 09/04/05 07:57 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Dreamer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 02/23/01
Posts: 3849
Loc: Rome - Italy
Guys,
as a former Ketron SD1 user and an actual Tyros user, let me say this: do you want the Tyros drums sound like Ketron? Go to the effect section and crank the midrange Eq 4-6 dB up; that's the way the SD1 sounds (lots of midrange and little or no highs) .
And the reason is simple: unlike the Tyros, the SD1 sounds (including the drums) have NOT been sampled at 44.1 kHz; just try and listen to a cymbal or an agogo and then tell the difference yourselves:
Tyros = crisp and clear
SD1 = dull and "clanky".
Regards,
A.

[This message has been edited by Dreamer (edited 09-05-2005).]
_________________________
Korg Kronos 61 and PA3X-Pro76, Roland G-70, BK7-m and Integra 7, Casio PX-5S, Fender Stratocaster with Fralin pickups, Fender Stratocaster with Kinman pickups, vintage Gibson SG standard.

Top
#194915 - 09/04/05 09:22 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
chony Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/10/04
Posts: 1247
Loc: New York
Quote:
Originally posted by DonM:
... and I was hoping the drums would sound as good as Ketron, but they don't.
DonM


dito

Top
#194916 - 09/04/05 09:32 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Roel Offline
Member

Registered: 06/24/99
Posts: 1232
Andrea : You are soo right !

Top
#194917 - 09/04/05 09:40 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Bluezplayer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/10/00
Posts: 2195
Loc: Catskill Mountains, NY
Actually, I don't know what the Ketron drums sound like, but I would sure like it if the Yamaha arranger drums sounded like the kits on the Motif.

Perhaps the samples are the same or similar, but the difference is very noticeable.

AJ
_________________________
AJ

Top
#194918 - 09/04/05 11:23 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Scott Langholff Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/09/02
Posts: 3141
Loc: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Also, going into the mixer and just turning up the drum parts up make it sound much more like the strong Ketron drum tracks.

Top
#194919 - 09/04/05 11:24 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
DonM Online   elvis
Senior Member

Registered: 06/25/99
Posts: 16652
Loc: Benton, LA, USA
I tried everything I could do get the Tyros drums to sound more live. The closest I came was by routing through the subouts in their own channels. This takes off the internal effects.
Then you can e.q. just the drums to get a more live sound. Still no SD1 though.
DonM
_________________________
DonM

Top
#194920 - 09/04/05 11:50 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
royandreno Offline
Member

Registered: 03/15/02
Posts: 451
Loc: Sandnes, Norway
Thanks AJ, but I have Shockwave installed and enabled. I can see the video, but not listen to the samples. Any other advise from gurus out there?
Thanks in advance.
_________________________
Roy-Andrè

Top
#194921 - 09/04/05 12:04 PM Re: Tyros 2 demo
royandreno Offline
Member

Registered: 03/15/02
Posts: 451
Loc: Sandnes, Norway
Ok, I figured it out, I had to allow all cookies and ads from my virus control programme.
_________________________
Roy-Andrè

Top
#194922 - 09/04/05 12:45 PM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Roel Offline
Member

Registered: 06/24/99
Posts: 1232
For those who do not understand German I tried to translate the video demo :

Evolution is the most powerfull force in Nature:
What’s new and stronger, replaces all that what was good for years.

Modifications for the needs of life.
Evolution is the source of life
Tyros-2 is the source for music
Tyros-2 is the new species in the world of music
Equiped with new features that makes it absolutely far superior

Please listen to 2 newly created styles for Tyros-2
With the super-articulation voices the Tyros-2 brings new life into your playing
Never before there were this many new topsounds in one musical instrument.
Multipads and styles that use so many megavoices...... 400 newly born in Tyros 2

Experience the top of best sounds ever, the new multi-pressurepoint (hard to translate) keyboard, integrated sample player and harddiskrecording.

Never before the were this many revolutionary functions in one machine..... until now !
Tyros 2 joins them all !

Voice customize function, RGB video out, text viewer, USB to device and Yamaha internet direct connection.
Be prepared to step into a new musical life, follow the evolution, Life finds a way.
Tyros-2 IS evolution, Tyros-2 is Life, Tyros-2 is music, Tyros-2 is NOW !!

********************************************
Please realize both languages are not my 'first' language.
If someone is interested I could do the same for the other audio demos..... just let me know.



[This message has been edited by Roel (edited 09-05-2005).]

Top
#194923 - 09/04/05 12:59 PM Re: Tyros 2 demo
GlennT Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/01/02
Posts: 1774
Loc: Medina, OH, USA
I'm not a Yammy guy, but it's obvious from these demos that T2 has some major voice improvements over T1... sounds great to me. Nice find, Scott.

Glenn

Top
#194924 - 09/04/05 01:10 PM Re: Tyros 2 demo
BlkNotes Offline
Member

Registered: 02/01/05
Posts: 220
Thanks for the translation Roel.

I wonder what is meant by 4-layer keyborad. If I extrapolate I would assume that they mean key triggers effects, such as after touch, velocity sensitivity, pitch augmentation etc...?
Also it states 400 newly born (styles) in tyros 2. I assume what they are saying here is that the original 300 tyros-1 styles have been tweaked using the new sounds plus creating 100 more, versus 400 brand new styles.

Regards;
BlkNotes

Top
#194925 - 09/04/05 02:24 PM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Scott Langholff Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/09/02
Posts: 3141
Loc: Pensacola, Florida, USA
I'm sure that the 4 layered voices refers to the ability to layer four different right hand solo voices one on top of the other. The Tyros 1 has 3 voices that can be layered while the PSR3000 allows for 2. Does adding another voice or two make a difference in the end result? And how!!

Top
#194926 - 09/04/05 08:39 PM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Dnj Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/00
Posts: 43415
Loc: USA
I cant wait to see Michael Voncken do a video demo on the tyros 2

Top
#194927 - 09/04/05 11:19 PM Re: Tyros 2 demo
keybplayer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/27/03
Posts: 2416
Loc: CA
Well well well...

Wait wait wait..a minute here..

Here is my observation of the new Tyros2.

I couldn't detect an improvement in the Drums over the Tyros. In fact the Drum Kit they used on the demo "pop und rock" song sounded a little lacking compared to its big brother in my opinion. If they Sampled all the Kits on the Ty2 in 16 bit 44.1 kHz then it would be an improvement over the Tyros whose Voices, Styles and Drum Kits i.e. everything - are sampled in 12 bit at 22,050 kHz. Correct me if I'm wrong.

You would think the Drums would sound a lot better than they do since the sampling rate is higher and also the bit depth.

I have to say I LOVE that Solid Guitar on the Ty2. It is extremely realistic. Good job Yamaha!

I wonder if it's just the Super Articulation Mega Voices that are Sampled at a higher rate, i.e. 44,100 kHz at 16 bit. Maybe the Drums aren't?

The Styles sound like they ARE sampled at 44.1 @ 16 bit though. And that Trumpet and Brass in the Big Band Demo were really convincing. I assume they are indeed part of the Super Articulated voices.

The Saxophones still leave something to be desired though in my opinion. In fact I'm leaning toward the Ty1 Sax sounds from what I've heard so far on the Ty2.

Overall my opinion is very positive on some of the new super articulation voices on the new Tyros2, which are outstanding! A BIG thumbs UP!

If I didn't already own a Tyros and didn't require 76 keys I would definitely consider getting one. If they make a 76 key version somewhere down the road I will almost assuredly get the Tyros2 76 key version. I suppose I can deal with the pointed edges. I will just make sure my medical insurance is paid up, that's all.

Ouch!! I can almost feel the pain now. Doc! Hey Doc!!... As I hear him say "take two of these and call me in the morning". Typical Doctor response eh?

In conclusion, a job well done Yammie!! You guys should be proud of yourselves. Some of the new super articualtion Voices are outstanding, albeit some of them fall short in my opinion, with the Sax'es being in the latter category. At least the Sax'es I've heard so far on the Demos anyway. But the Guitar sounds are muy primo! Excellent Yamaha!

I am really looking forward to hearing some of the other voices, most notably the Grand Pianos and Electric Pianos.

A minor issue is the Organ sounds... Again. Yamaha seems unable to get that real B3 sound in any of its Keyboards. They need to get contemporary and get with it and add some truly realistic Hammond B3 Organ sounds. Korg has em' and so does Roland. Why does Yamaha fall short in this area?? Yamaha seems to be fixated on Theatre type Organ sounds. They need to join the 21st Century and get more contemporary Organ sounds in their Boards. That would put them over the top and be a key ingredient to selling more of their Keyboards in my opinion.

Best regards,
Mike
_________________________
Yamaha Genos, Mackie HR824 MKII Studio Monitors, Mackie 1202 VLZ Pro Mixer (made in USA), Cakewalk Sonar Platinum, Shure SM58 vocal mic.

Top
#194928 - 09/05/05 03:24 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
trevorjohn Offline
Member

Registered: 04/10/03
Posts: 225
Loc: Cambridge United Kingdom
Quote.........."A minor issue is the Organ sounds... Again. Yamaha seems unable to get that real B3 sound in any of its Keyboards. They need to get contemporary and get with it and add some truly realistic Hammond B3 Organ sounds. Korg has em' and so does Roland. Why does Yamaha fall short in this area?? Yamaha seems to be fixated on Theatre type Organ sounds. They need to join the 21st Century and get more contemporary Organ sounds in their Boards. That would put them over the top and be a key ingredient to selling more of their Keyboards in my opinion."

Some of us, particularly in the UK would take issue with these remarks old boy. Many of us use Theatre organ sounds extensively in our performances and I for one have never been fond of what I consider to be horribly nasal Hammond sounds.. Give me good old Lowreys any day. Now if anyone could reproduce the real old Lowrey sounds I would be over the moon.

Trevor

Top
#194929 - 09/05/05 03:49 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
KFingers Offline
Member

Registered: 08/21/02
Posts: 366
Loc: Brighton - UK
Sorry Trevor I am in the UK also but I agree with Mike. The Tyros can get a range of reasonable "Theatre" sounds but can't get anywhere near the Jazz and Rock B3 sounds except for one of the sampled presets.

An instrument in this price range should be able to do both in my opinion. My Ketron can! and it's only half the price of my Tyros.

Regards - Keith

Top
#194930 - 09/05/05 04:01 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
eddiefromrotherham Offline
Member

Registered: 03/21/02
Posts: 788
Loc: Rotherham,England.
I'm with Trevor on this one.
I would love to hear again the great Organ sounds of the Lowrey.
Sadly, I ssold my Lowrey a thousand years ago (it seems)
#cheers
Eddie

------------------
Eddie from Rotherham
Skype:eddiefromrotherham
www.yamahakeyboards.info

_________________________
Eddie from Rotherham
http://www.music2myears.plus.com

Top
#194931 - 09/05/05 04:14 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
MacAllcock Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 1177
Loc: Preston, Lancashire, England
Thanks for the translation!

I wonder, does "multi-pressurepoint" mean polyphomic key aftertouch (like my Ensoniq SD1)?
_________________________
John Allcock

Top
#194932 - 09/05/05 04:50 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Roel Offline
Member

Registered: 06/24/99
Posts: 1232
KFingers,

What Ketron do you play ?
I consider the Yammie 'Hammonds' to be as good (or even better) as the SD1 organs. e.g. The SD1 sampled organs cannot use speed changes in Leslie and the 'drawbars' sound really bad.

Some state the B3-sound is the only one that counts...... I disagree on this one too.

Top
#194933 - 09/05/05 04:50 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Dreamer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 02/23/01
Posts: 3849
Loc: Rome - Italy
Quote:
Originally posted by keybplayer:
If they Sampled all the Kits on the Ty2 in 16 bit 44.1 kHz then it would be an improvement over the Tyros whose Voices, Styles and Drum Kits i.e. everything - are sampled in 12 bit at 22,050 kHz. Correct me if I'm wrong.


Yes, Mike, you ARE indeed wrong; the Tyros voices and drum kits were sampled at 16 bit and 48 kHz; the styles don't need sampling, because they are just plain midifiles.
Regards,
A.
_________________________
Korg Kronos 61 and PA3X-Pro76, Roland G-70, BK7-m and Integra 7, Casio PX-5S, Fender Stratocaster with Fralin pickups, Fender Stratocaster with Kinman pickups, vintage Gibson SG standard.

Top
#194934 - 09/05/05 05:15 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
o3bor Offline
Member

Registered: 12/13/04
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally posted by Dreamer:
Yes, Mike, you ARE indeed wrong; the Tyros voices and drum kits were sampled at 16 bit and 48 kHz; the styles don't need sampling, because they are just plain midifiles.
Regards,
A.


I'm wondering how can you (both Mike and Dreamer) say what is the sampling frequency and bit resolution of Yamaha sounds.

Top
#194935 - 09/05/05 06:39 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
George V Offline
Member

Registered: 01/09/05
Posts: 331
Loc: Sofia
I was wondering how Mike could judge the sampling rate & bit depth of the new Tyros through a highly compressed online demo tracks

Top
#194936 - 09/05/05 09:01 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Scott Langholff Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/09/02
Posts: 3141
Loc: Pensacola, Florida, USA
As far as sounds you like and don't like, if I am understanding this correctly, you can load in any sample you want that's on the market and will continually be able to update the sounds on this kb with all the latest. If that's so, then, hey, custom make your own kb.

Am I correct in my understanding? If not I'd like to find out.

Best
Scott Langholff

Top
#194937 - 09/05/05 09:12 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
to the genesys Offline
Member

Registered: 10/22/03
Posts: 1155
Quote:
Originally posted by Scott Langholff:
As far as sounds you like and don't like, if I am understanding this correctly, you can load in any sample you want that's on the market and will continually be able to update the sounds on this kb with all the latest. If that's so, then, hey, custom make your own kb.

Am I correct in my understanding? If not I'd like to find out.

Best
Scott Langholff


That is my understanding also.
That is wy I feel that in the sound department, Tyros II is a power house.

Now if they would just make a module for the Tyros II they would have me buying one but if not I would not be buying one of the regular Tyros II at this time.
_________________________
TTG

Top
#194938 - 09/05/05 09:22 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Bluezplayer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/10/00
Posts: 2195
Loc: Catskill Mountains, NY
If it does have " real sampling " capabilities, then that's certainly a plus... if anyone will actually use it. I would hope that it isn't set up the way Yamaha did it on the Motif sries. You have to load everything up at each startup, no saving in flash rom.

That isn't all that bad, especially if you have a good usb jumpdrive with enough memory ( Motif can hold 512 mb of samples ) but the menu screens and processes required to take raw samples and make something useable out of them is mind boggling. It isn't nearly as bad when you have a sample package already put together that you can load up, but making your own from scratch .. man .. all I can say is fugettaboudit ( in my very NY Italian accent of course )....

I wonder if the user will need to install memory modules ( dimms, etc ) like I had to on the Motif...

AJ
_________________________
AJ

Top
#194939 - 09/05/05 09:48 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
to the genesys Offline
Member

Registered: 10/22/03
Posts: 1155
Well I guess the real benefit of having a sampler and or sampling capability on the Tyros II would depend on how they implement it.

The user should not have to install anything else. It should be ready to read/make 1GB worth of samples out of the box. The memory for new samples should be in flash rom.

If it can read commercially produced samples then that would make it an endless sound resource. No more buying a keyboard just for one sound.
Of course if it has full sampling and editing that would be a plus especially for those advance users who want and need that feature.

Creating and editing a sample need not be difficult nor counterintuitive. It should and can be easy and logical.

But again maybe I am just spoiled with the Genesys Pro. It is not that difficult to create and edit samples on that keyboard. The only drawback is that there isn’t that much sample memory. Although having said that I have gotten around 70 extra sounds by way of the sampler.
_________________________
TTG

Top
#194940 - 09/05/05 11:42 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
keybplayer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/27/03
Posts: 2416
Loc: CA
Quote:
Originally posted by Dreamer:
The Tyros voices and drum kits were sampled at 16 bit and 48 kHz; the styles don't need sampling, because they are just plain midifiles.
Regards,
A.



I knew the Multipads were midi files. I did not realize the Styles were though. Of course even though the Multipads or Styles are midi files they still use the Wav ROM which has been sampled. It may be possible I would think to have separate WAV ROM Banks where the Styles could use a different WAV ROM bank than the Voices do. If that is the case then theoretically the Styles could use a Higher Sampled Wav ROM than the Voices do. Although it's anyone's guess it that's an actuality or not.

All along I thought the Tyros samples were recorded at 12bit 22,050kHz. Thanks for setting me straight about that. Btw, how did you find out that info? If you say from the Manual I have to say I missed that one unfortunately.

PS: If the original Tyros' Wav ROM is sampled at 16bit 48kHz I wonder what the Tyros2 is sampled at? The same perhaps? It sure sounds like the Ty2's Wav ROM is recorded at a higher sampling rate to me. It may be the only difference is the super articulated Mega Voices which may be sampled at a higher rate. Which I take it would have to be a separate Wav ROM (Bank) from the rest of the Samples if they are indeed sampled at a higher rate.

Best regards,
Mike



[This message has been edited by keybplayer (edited 09-05-2005).]
_________________________
Yamaha Genos, Mackie HR824 MKII Studio Monitors, Mackie 1202 VLZ Pro Mixer (made in USA), Cakewalk Sonar Platinum, Shure SM58 vocal mic.

Top
#194941 - 09/05/05 10:14 PM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Dreamer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 02/23/01
Posts: 3849
Loc: Rome - Italy
Mike,
I remember reading somewhere that the Tyros I voices were sampled at 48 kHz and 16 bit (could be the owner's manual, could be an Internet site, I can't tell right now). I think that the Tyros II voices have the same sample rate, which is more than adequate for live or studio use.
The difference you hear in sound quality between Tyros I and II could be due to the different Megavoices used or could be simply an artefact of the recording technique used (a bit more of reverb or chorus, etc); sometimes they record something in mono and then another thing in stereo, to impress the listener. I wouldn't form an opinion on the sound quality until you are able to play the thing in person.
Regards,
Andrea
_________________________
Korg Kronos 61 and PA3X-Pro76, Roland G-70, BK7-m and Integra 7, Casio PX-5S, Fender Stratocaster with Fralin pickups, Fender Stratocaster with Kinman pickups, vintage Gibson SG standard.

Top
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online