SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#183704 - 05/11/07 09:41 AM Need HELP info for X5D
cassp Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/21/03
Posts: 3718
Loc: Motown
I need some knowledgeable info and opinions on a problem I am having with a Korg X5D I sold on eBay. I certainly don't want the buyer to feel scammed, but I know I sent him a board in tip-top shape. Any ideas on the problem or a possible solution?

My buyer wrote,
...I USED THE X5D FOR ABOUT 45 MINUTES AND THE NOTES ON THE KEYBOARD WOULD ONLY SOUND INTERMITENT. NO REAL PATTERN. I HAVE TO TURN OFF AND TURN POWER BACK ON TO RESET IT FOR ANOTHER FEW MINUTES....

He says he loaded the preset b voices. And in conversation it sounds as if there is a polyphony issue, but with 64 voices even a heavy combi shouldn't fall out. Can anyone help? !!!

[This message has been edited by cassp (edited 05-11-2007).]
_________________________
Riding on the Avenue of Time
cassp50@gmail.com

Top
#183705 - 05/11/07 10:08 AM Re: Need HELP info for X5D
squeak_D Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/08/00
Posts: 4683
Loc: West Virginia
Has he done a complete factory reset? It's possible there may have been some internal damage to the board during shipping.

Are the lights flickering as well? Could be a voltage problem, or faulty power supply.
_________________________
GEAR: Yamaha MOXF-6, Casio MZX-500, Roland Juno-Di, M-Audio Venom, Roland RS-70, Yamaha PSR S700, M-Audio Axiom Pro-61 (Midi Controller). SOFTWARE: Mixcraft-7, PowerTracks Pro Audio 2013, Beat Thang Virtual, Dimension Le.

Top
#183706 - 05/16/07 03:07 AM Re: Need HELP info for X5D
MacAllcock Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 1171
Loc: Preston, Lancashire, England
Cable fault?
_________________________
John Allcock

Top
#183707 - 05/16/07 05:46 AM Re: Need HELP info for X5D
cassp Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/21/03
Posts: 3718
Loc: Motown
He says the problem is worsening, so I'm having him send it back to me. I will get it checked out and repaired. Maybe it's something minor or a result of shipping, we'll see. You can't sell faulty equipment and expect to keep a pristine reputation, even if it's not your fault.

I'll keep us posted.
_________________________
Riding on the Avenue of Time
cassp50@gmail.com

Top
#183708 - 05/16/07 06:12 AM Re: Need HELP info for X5D
squeak_D Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/08/00
Posts: 4683
Loc: West Virginia
You're gonna file a damage claim right..??? You sent the guy a fully functional unit, it gets damaged. You're refunding his money, yet in the end you're the one left with a broken synth. I'd file a report.
_________________________
GEAR: Yamaha MOXF-6, Casio MZX-500, Roland Juno-Di, M-Audio Venom, Roland RS-70, Yamaha PSR S700, M-Audio Axiom Pro-61 (Midi Controller). SOFTWARE: Mixcraft-7, PowerTracks Pro Audio 2013, Beat Thang Virtual, Dimension Le.

Top
#183709 - 05/16/07 08:51 AM Re: Need HELP info for X5D
cassp Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/21/03
Posts: 3718
Loc: Motown
I'm certainly considering it. Once I figure out what the real problem is. It was not a big sale, so I didn't use extra insurance. Will that make a difference? Has anyone had experience with filing such a claim with FedEx?
_________________________
Riding on the Avenue of Time
cassp50@gmail.com

Top
#183710 - 05/17/07 01:16 PM Re: Need HELP info for X5D
cassp Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/21/03
Posts: 3718
Loc: Motown
I just received the keyboard back. When I press the test buttons, I get: error- TGL2 NG. The Combi, Prog, Global, Multi and 10's Hold buttons light up and flash simultaneously. I quick call to a local repair shop = this advice. The error is for a tone generator, but that seems unlikely. IT's $85 an hr. labor plus parts. I can't afford that for this little board.

I need HELP!
_________________________
Riding on the Avenue of Time
cassp50@gmail.com

Top
#183711 - 05/17/07 04:06 PM Re: Need HELP info for X5D
cassp Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/21/03
Posts: 3718
Loc: Motown
SOLVED!

The error stemmed from a loose CPU chip on the motherboard. I took off the bottom of the keyboard and there it was, right in front of me - a big Korg 64-voice chip on a sisterboard. I pushed the board into its socket and it held securely. Problem solved. The board goes back to Florida tomorrow.
Whew!!!
_________________________
Riding on the Avenue of Time
cassp50@gmail.com

Top
#183712 - 05/17/07 04:09 PM Re: Need HELP info for X5D
cassp Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/21/03
Posts: 3718
Loc: Motown
SOLVED!

The error stemmed from a loose CPU chip on the motherboard. I took off the bottom of the keyboard and there it was, right in front of me - a big Korg 64-voice chip on a sisterboard. I pushed the board into its socket and it held securely. Problem solved. The board goes back to Florida tomorrow.
Whew!!!
_________________________
Riding on the Avenue of Time
cassp50@gmail.com

Top
#183713 - 05/18/07 04:06 AM Re: Need HELP info for X5D
squeak_D Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/08/00
Posts: 4683
Loc: West Virginia
Pack the hell out of that box.... Clearly it got bumped around during shipping. Those chips don't just fall out on their own A box can get a pretty good jolt, and not really show signs of heavy damage.
_________________________
GEAR: Yamaha MOXF-6, Casio MZX-500, Roland Juno-Di, M-Audio Venom, Roland RS-70, Yamaha PSR S700, M-Audio Axiom Pro-61 (Midi Controller). SOFTWARE: Mixcraft-7, PowerTracks Pro Audio 2013, Beat Thang Virtual, Dimension Le.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online