SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#159695 - 05/24/07 07:22 AM When playing from Fake Books, do you...
Taike Offline

Loc: Xingyi, Guizhou (China)
When playing from Fake Books, do you play songs straight from the book, as they're written, or do you arrange them, give them your personal stamp?

Since my background is organ I usually played from books showing three staves (RH, LD, PD) and very lush arrangements, e.g. Bill Irwin's Concert Series) but always tried to put on own personal stamp.

When playing the keyboard I usually play from fake books or sheet music and that definitely calls out for arrangements, IMHO. Who else arranges his/her own music and who just plays it the way it's been written? I'd love to hear especially from those that play gigs. Remember, I'm not talking about vocals, you throwing in some tra-la-las and yodels, but the music itself, chords, bass, melody and all the little extras that give a song that certain "it" of yourself.

Taike

#159696 - 05/24/07 03:06 PM Re: When playing from Fake Books, do you...
hellboy44 Offline

Loc: Australia
I learned keyboard from a Fake Book (!)

I guess I'm a vocalist first and instrumentalist second.

The answer to your question from my end is interesting:

I try to recreate the sound of the original popular recording as much as possible (many audiences want this) - believe it or not, it's a skill in itself to recreate live the recording.

Where we put our own stamp on it IS in the vocals, i.e. doing great "live vocal" versions of the song and even changing lyrics humourously...........occasionally!

I've also found the younger the audience, the more they demand an EXACT reproduction of the original hit.

This way of working is probably a lot different to most of you, and the more accomplished musicians amongst you would probably find our gigs a little boring musically...oh well.

BUT...

www.chi-chi.com.au