SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#116665 - 07/06/03 09:59 AM Best way to learn...
flatfoot Offline

Loc: sacramento CA
In another thread, I stated that the arranger keyboards that come with song tutorials, light-up keys, etc. were inferior teaching tools. I stated that instructional computer software would be a much better choice for the new player.

Actually, I am no expert. I only really know the products of PG music very well, and I love them.

I wonder if anyone here has experience in both areas. Have you tried "teaching keyboards" as well as piano learning software? Have you used them as a student, or a teacher? I would like to hear your informed opinion of which works best. Also, is there a teaching method specifically for arranger keyboards?

#116666 - 07/06/03 01:08 PM Re: Best way to learn...
Idatrod Offline

Loc: Oceanside, CA USA
I have not heard of any teaching software program made specifically for an Arranger Keyboard. I bought a program a couple of years ago or so called Voyetra's Teach Me Piano Deluxe. It was considered at the time from Professionals to Music Teachers alike to be the creme' de la creme' of Piano Teaching software. It is very good for the beginner although a young child may find it too comprehensive and slightly boring. But for adults that are just learning or even those that have had some experience already, it is a great tool with many neat features and learning tips. The program extends all the way up to advanced playing techniques and includes videos, right hand, left hand, and both hand skills. It also includes music related games and there's a section on the history of Pianos and Keyboards from their inception to the present.

Best regards,
Mike

[This message has been edited by Idatrod (edited 07-06-2003).]

#116667 - 07/07/03 12:31 PM Re: Best way to learn...
jus Offline

Loc: UK