SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#102985 - 09/01/05 07:20 AM Tyros 2 HD recording
acoustictones Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/07/05
Posts: 26
Loc: Lakeville, MN
Does anyone know how this will be implemented? Or even any guesses?

Will it be as though they merged a Tyros with one of their AW series recorders? Or will it be much less robust than that?

Will it be little more than a simple 4 track total type of recorder so that we can record a few backing tracks to play along with or will it have a lot capabilities like Yamaha's other HD recorders?

Will it have at least one XLR input w/phantom power?

Will it allow us to record more than one track at a time?

If implemented properly, like an AW, this could be the one feture that would push me over the edge to purchase my first Tyros.

Thanks for any and all comments!!!

------------------
DJ
AcousticTones Recording Studios
_________________________
DJ
AcousticTones Recording Studios

Top
#102986 - 09/01/05 09:03 AM Re: Tyros 2 HD recording
Roel Offline
Member

Registered: 06/24/99
Posts: 1232
DJ,
At the time I discussed similar questions with the Yamaha rep... no excact details were availlable. Just a few more days ... and I expect detailed specs will be presented on the official websites (demo's as well)

Top
#102987 - 09/01/05 09:24 AM Re: Tyros 2 HD recording
acoustictones Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/07/05
Posts: 26
Loc: Lakeville, MN
I TURLY, TRULY, TRULY hope that they do EVERYTHING possible to impress us. I'm so afraid that all we're are going to see is a new and more expensive board that has little more than say some updated sound files, patches, styles, a few better specs on the Tyros' current feature set, etc.

I really am hoping that these guys are planning on PUSHING the envelope, and that they will TRULY blow us away with what they are presenting.

I know that this has been beat like a dead horse, but I am simply sick of everybody doing little more than repackaging their old products with marginal improvments and specs.

I like that a few people are at least coming close to doing something special out there. Such as things like the Fusion, Oasys, OpenLabs, LionStar, etc. But even some of these are hard for us to take since they either are to highly priced for us, or are not well supplied at our local stores that we can truly play around with them and have them sell themselves to us, some simply don't push the evelope far enough for others, and some (perhaps like the Oasys) seems to be not so revolutionary due to the fact that it just SEEMS to be a very BIG repackaging of some old and existing technologies along with some marginal inprovements. ****Please don't take the previous comments as my own thought. These are just some of the comments that we all seem to have seen flying around a lot of the forums that we all visit. Personally, I'd love to have an Oasys if I could afford it.****

So any other comments or guesses on how the HD system will be implemented are welcome and appreciated.

I would to see it look like a Tyros merged with one of their AW series. A truly merger of the 2 would be simply incredible, a good step forward, and a decent answer to pieces like the Fusion and the Oasys.

------------------
DJ
AcousticTones Recording Studios
_________________________
DJ
AcousticTones Recording Studios

Top
#102988 - 09/01/05 09:47 AM Re: Tyros 2 HD recording
Starkeeper Offline
Member

Registered: 09/16/02
Posts: 1704
Loc: Toronto
Quote:
Originally posted by acoustictones:

I really am hoping that these guys are planning on PUSHING the envelope, and that they will TRULY blow us away with what they are presenting.


Hahahahahah.
The Tyros 2 is created by Yamaha.
_________________________
I play Roland EM20 and Yamaha PSR550

Top
#102989 - 09/01/05 09:51 AM Re: Tyros 2 HD recording
Dnj Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/00
Posts: 43415
Loc: USA
TYROS 2...I wouldnt get to excited

Top
#102990 - 09/01/05 10:06 AM Re: Tyros 2 HD recording
Roel Offline
Member

Registered: 06/24/99
Posts: 1232
DJ,
I myself do not have the 'desire' to have a full harddisk-recorder implemented in an arranger keyboard. For recording dedicated HDD recorders are available.... they are affordable, compact and "fit for purpose".

An example :
Would you think the same, when your TV set comes with an integrated Telephone, FAX, calculator and built-in microwave ??

In my view an arranger's most important function is .... arrange the music you play.

What I heard :
T2 porbably has a built-in 4 track HDD-recorder. On the prototype-picture there is no XLR-input at the back of T2.

Top
#102991 - 09/01/05 05:00 PM Re: Tyros 2 HD recording
acoustictones Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/07/05
Posts: 26
Loc: Lakeville, MN
Well, maybe I'm just lookin' at it wrong, or differently.

I for one would love to see full blown HD recording added to a beast like the Tyros. Or at the LEAST being an option.

One of the purposes of having a great arranger keyboard is to be able to play a good solo gig, and I for one would love to be able to track some great backing instruments like guitar, vocals, and the like, rather than only using the tools that are currently available on most typical boards.

For example: A lot of the backing vocals that I would like to have are a lot more complex than simply singing along with a harmonizor on. They aren't meant to follow the lead singer.

Another example: I'm a much better guitar player than keyboard player. And rather than trying to fake my guitar parts on the Tyros I would love to lay down some really good guitar tracks to pla behind my keys.

I could go on and on, BUT I truly seeing having a full blow arranger and HD recording system ALL-IN-ONE system as a great things.

I am ALWAYS trying to bring less to a gig rather than more. I don't want to have to bring either a stand alone HD recorder, CD or MD players along. For what these arrangers are costing they should be able to do a lot more than they do.

And it's hard to believe that the R&D would be all that much. They already own all of the product and technology. They just need to come up with the marriage and a good user interface.

...But that's just one mans opinion...

------------------
DJ
AcousticTones Recording Studios
_________________________
DJ
AcousticTones Recording Studios

Top
#102992 - 09/01/05 05:16 PM Re: Tyros 2 HD recording
to the genesys Offline
Member

Registered: 10/22/03
Posts: 1155
Quote:
Originally posted by acoustictones:
Well, maybe I'm just lookin' at it wrong, or differently.

I for one would love to see full blown HD recording added to a beast like the Tyros. Or at the LEAST being an option.

One of the purposes of having a great arranger keyboard is to be able to play a good solo gig, and I for one would love to be able to track some great backing instruments like guitar, vocals, and the like, rather than only using the tools that are currently available on most typical boards.

For example: A lot of the backing vocals that I would like to have are a lot more complex than simply singing along with a harmonizor on. They aren't meant to follow the lead singer.

Another example: I'm a much better guitar player than keyboard player. And rather than trying to fake my guitar parts on the Tyros I would love to lay down some really good guitar tracks to pla behind my keys.

I could go on and on, BUT I truly seeing having a full blow arranger and HD recording system ALL-IN-ONE system as a great things.

I am ALWAYS trying to bring less to a gig rather than more. I don't want to have to bring either a stand alone HD recorder, CD or MD players along. For what these arrangers are costing they should be able to do a lot more than they do.

And it's hard to believe that the R&D would be all that much. They already own all of the product and technology. They just need to come up with the marriage and a good user interface.

...But that's just one mans opinion...



I could not agree more.

But maybe I am just spoiled with the Genesys. But I could not see getting another arranger or workstation with out hard disk recording. I think being able to record wave files and also manipulate them (tempo synchronization and key transpose) are a plus to have on one keyboard instead of having to carry more than one unnecessary things on a gig.

Being able to use one’s own prerecorded back up vocals and or other instruments at a gig is great. I just wish that the manufacturers would allow for more than one track recording. So if you record the music on Saturday, you should be able to sing over it on Sunday and do some post recording editing on Monday.
_________________________
TTG

Top
#102993 - 09/01/05 05:25 PM Re: Tyros 2 HD recording
pianodano Offline
Member

Registered: 02/28/05
Posts: 122
Loc: Chesapeake, Virginia
Sounds like many are requesting what is already availale via a fast computer and well chosen software. The good thing about this solution is that you get to design and put togeher exactly what "you" really want.

Danny

Top
#102994 - 09/01/05 05:39 PM Re: Tyros 2 HD recording
acoustictones Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/07/05
Posts: 26
Loc: Lakeville, MN
Danny, I both agree and understand with your opinion, BUT...

I have gone back and forth so many times on trying to narrow it down to an All-In-One solutions verses getting everything I want into my laptop. But I keep coming back to the fact that I simply don't like taking a laptop out to the show. I would much rather have something built into the board.

I'm not really crazy about what I see in the Fusion, but to see Yamaha or Roland nail this idea down would be killer for me.

I have owned a number of the BR, VS, and AW recorders. And to see them implemented into a Motif, Tyros, G70, or Fantom format would simply awesome for how I like to work.

My dream would be the G70 with either a built in Br or VS style recorder. BUT that's just my dream...

------------------
DJ
AcousticTones Recording Studios
_________________________
DJ
AcousticTones Recording Studios

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online