SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#487240 - 01/19/20 09:44 AM message for Dnj from the (your) Godfather
Uncle Dave Offline

Loc: Penn Yan, NY
Made you look, didn't I?
I've been really thinking about all things gear, and why I made some of the decisions I've made over the years ... and my paisan Donny came to mind. Now, I've fanned the fire as much as anyone here regarding his whiplash decisions (maybe more), but he knows I'm always in his corner. So, here's where my head is today ...

When I started playing keyboards, the only goal was sound. It was the 70s, and the Rhodes was all the rage (still is), so I had to have one. Of course, it's a one trick musical pony, so I also needed something else for color sounds .... organs, strings, clav - all meant extra pieces. At one time, I was carrying 6 keyboards to work, and I stacked them all in two piles. One in front, and one to my right. Added a solid drum machine (du jour), and I was set to compete with the other 4 and 5 piece bands in my area.

After years of lugging, and schlepping, and 2 hour set-ups, and needing a van to carry it all, I started to beak away from the bulk, and thankfully, arranger keyboards were in their renaissance period, and effectively could consolidate some of the bulk I was carrying. So, with one keyboard I could have a decent drummer, strong bass, good comping sounds (Rhodes, etc) and a layer sound for the right hand. AMAZING.

Fast forward a few more years, and the gear got better and better, and cheaper and cheaper, till we're where we are now ... but back to Donny ...