SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#124169 - 11/12/02 08:33 AM Do you use your transpose button?
rhumba Offline

Loc: Minneapolis, MN, USA
How useful is the transpose button on your arranger? I am sure you encounter situations when you know your song very well and which key you like to play in, then all of a sudden, your special guest decided to sing in a different key - so what do you do? Hit the transpose button or play in the correct key?

With my PA80, it's right there. But with my new, second board, I have to hit three buttons and 2 pages (screen) back before I can transpose! And it's a Yamaha!

..rb

#124170 - 11/12/02 08:47 AM Re: Do you use your transpose button?
squeak_D Offline

Loc: West Virginia
I strongly rely on my transpose button. I can play my butt off, but I'm one of those self taught players.. I can't read music so trying to figure out differnt key sigs is like pulling teeth. One of these days I may learn to read music, but everytime I try I just lose interest.. I wonder why that is. Can't seem to get myself focused on learning that. I'll get a ways into the lesson and all I want to do is just play the keys.. That's why I had to drop lessons when I was a kid.. I never like to play music the way it was written... My teacher hated me for that.. I'd always change something.

Squeak
GEAR: Yamaha MOXF-6, Casio MZX-500, Roland Juno-Di, M-Audio Venom, Roland RS-70, Yamaha PSR S700, M-Audio Axiom Pro-61 (Midi Controller). SOFTWARE: Mixcraft-7, PowerTracks Pro Audio 2013, Beat Thang Virtual, Dimension Le.

#124171 - 11/12/02 09:01 AM Re: Do you use your transpose button?
trtjazz Offline

I find transposition quite useful to vary a tune, somewhere in the middle, then go back to the original key, makes quite a nice variety in a piece if not over used.
jam on,
Terry

#124172 - 11/12/02 09:20 AM Re: Do you use your transpose button?
SBPC Offline

Loc: Goleta, CA, USA