SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#217803 - 08/21/02 09:55 PM AMP HOOK UP QUESTION
Mosiqaar Offline

Loc: Atlanta, GA, USA
If you are familiar with my amps then try to be specific with ur answer but if your not then at least tell me the general idea thanks.

I have a FENDER PX2216 (MIXER/AMP) - 300W per channel and a QSC USA400 200W per channel AMP.

1)How do I hooke them up to end up with more power? (like 500W per channel maybe or what ever comes out).

2)Do I have to pay attention to the MAX watts on my speakers? If my Speakers are 300W (per 8Ohms) can I still drive 500W power to them?

I am a rookie when it comes to sound engineering and stage setup, so the more details the more I learn , thanks.

#217804 - 08/21/02 10:14 PM Re: AMP HOOK UP QUESTION
DonM Offline

Loc: Benton, LA, USA
You are opening up a can of worms here. Be very careful trying to use one mixer and two power amps. Some amps need a proper load to work properly and safely, without damaging the amp. And you CAN damage your speakers, if they are rated for 300 watts, and your putting 500 into them.
Also be aware that different companies have different ways of determining watts. For example Yamaha is known for underrating their power amps and Peavey often overrates theirs. I don't know all the details, but I do know you must be careful. Let your ears decide.
Probably you could use one amp for mains and the other for monitors, or power two sets of speakers. I definitely wouldn't try to power one set of speakers with two power amps unless you really know what you are doing.
DonM

#217805 - 08/21/02 11:18 PM Re: AMP HOOK UP QUESTION
Mosiqaar Offline

Thanks Don.

The thing is, I bought this system as a package and the person before me is old and is not musical, he bought it to use at his church.