SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#96564 - 10/27/02 12:15 PM Re: Opinions allowed or not?
sk880user Offline

Loc: United States
Cliff,

While typing my reply, I was thinking of Kurzweil K2600 as well. However, I personally do not accept K2600 as a modern competing keyboard. I strongly believe its time is over and I will not pay for it more than $2000 regardless of how many upgrades it comes with. Nevertheless, you got a point. We cannot deny that K2600 was at one point the best sounding synth ever.

#96565 - 10/27/02 04:31 PM Re: Opinions allowed or not?
BuleriaChk Offline

Loc: Santa Barbara,CA,USA
I think Cathy has some excellent points, IMO.

I'm a Flamenco Guitarist (35+ years, reasonably well known as an authority in the field (www.flamencochuck.com)

The Flamenco guitar is an extremely difficult instrument technically. So is any instrument carried to the limits of its parameters by talented musicians.

I bought an arranger (PA-80) to learn arranging, since the Korg had one of the best reputations for both voices and the quality of its styled.

But, it is really easy to play tons of music that sounds programmed by Korg without being creative at all, but which would sound "good" to any person who doesn't know music. Not that one can't play counter-rhythm scales, hemiola passages, or difficult rhythms (there are some great ones from the Middle East, and I can't wait to hear some of the Ketron and SD-1 stuff I've been hearing about from the Oriental Arrangers list.)

But it really is difficult to sound like the music isn't created for background music to the hot tubs after the grape stomping festivals in Montecito.

Maybe there are the equivalents of the Oscar Petersons', Stevie Ray Vaughns', the Paco de Lucia's, or the Mozarts that are now playing arrangers, but I have yet to be convinced.... it is just too easy to create elevator music, or la-la boomchicky stuff on these things......