SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#94649 - 04/17/03 12:46 AM Vocal Harmonizer
sunster Offline

Loc: Mumbai, INDIA
Hi!
I have been playing the PSR 740 for about 2 years. Last year I bought some PA gear which included a powered mixer. Before that I was using a MIC directly from the 740 using the Vocal Harmony effects. Now I use the mixer which gives much better sound quality but at the same time I sing many songs which use the Vocal harmony but I cant use it now. If I input the MIC to the 740 and use Vocal Harmony I lose sound quality. What could be a solution.I heard about Vocal Harmoniser units. What exactly are they and how do they work? Please advise. Thanx a zillion!!!

#94650 - 04/17/03 05:52 AM Re: Vocal Harmonizer
Dnj Offline

#94651 - 04/17/03 06:40 AM Re: Vocal Harmonizer
brickboo Offline

Loc: Fruita, Colorado, USA
It works off of the midi signal. I think you have to assign the channel you play the chords on the keyboard to the same channel on the harmonizer. I think this is correct.

Dave can straighten you out. But try not to drive him or Donny nuts. That's my job. OK?

#94652 - 04/17/03 11:10 AM Re: Vocal Harmonizer
trtjazz Offline

Quote:
Originally posted by sunster:
Hi!
I have been playing the PSR 740 for about 2 years. Last year I bought some PA gear which included a powered mixer. Before that I was using a MIC directly from the 740 using the Vocal Harmony effects. Now I use the mixer which gives much better sound quality but at the same time I sing many songs which use the Vocal harmony but I cant use it now. If I input the MIC to the 740 and use Vocal Harmony I lose sound quality. What could be a solution.I heard about Vocal Harmoniser units. What exactly are they and how do they work? Please advise. Thanx a zillion!!!

Sunster,
How they work depends on the harmonizer. The new one I got from TC Helicon, the Voiceworks, works in a few ways.
1. Triggered by midi chords
2. Midi notes