SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#93195 - 09/10/02 11:54 AM Absolute beginner
jus Offline

Loc: UK
Hi

I would like to learn to play the keyboard. I have no previous musical knowledge .
I am looking for some advice on buying my first keyboard. Unfortunatly my local music shop has not been very forthcoming.
I was thinking about the yamaha psr 290 or the dgx 300 which has a floppy drive or even the psr 350 but they seem, to be difficult to get hold of here in the UK.

Any thoughts or comments would be greatly appreciated

Jus

#93196 - 09/10/02 12:18 PM Re: Absolute beginner
trtjazz Offline

jus,
One thing I think you should plan on....whatever you buy now, you'll probably trade in for something better a year from now. You'll get better by then and the boards you mentioned probably will not be adequate then. So buy with a couple of thoughts in mind....you will not get much for it to trade it in on a better one and so don't buy too much now budget wise, so you can't afford to step up down the road. Most of the boards you'll look at in your budget are all pretty ok, so pick out what sounds good and seems to be user friendly to you without the salesman's help. If you can sort of figure it out by yourself a bit, probably means you'll have an easier time with it.
Terry

[This message has been edited by trtjazz (edited 09-10-2002).]

#93197 - 09/10/02 01:35 PM Re: Absolute beginner
Wazza Offline

Loc: Sonnega, Friesland, The Nether...
Hi Jus,
Terry is right, I have my keyboard for about a year now, and I'm not satisfied with my keyboard anymore.
I think the psr-350 is a nice keyboard to begin with, but if you want something more I would recommend a Gem WK1 or WK2, They have a lot of features, The WK2 even has an optional hard drive, there are about 400 xtra styles (accompaniment rythems) on the WK2's hard drive, a lot of my music teachers students have a WK2, it's really a popular keyboard here in Holland.