SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#92280 - 05/15/07 05:54 AM Roland e-60 vs e80
ykc Offline

Loc: Denver, CO USA
I have heard lots of talk about the e-80 here and it does seem like a wonderful (if oddly shaped) board. I have listened ti some of the impressive demos and it clearly sparkles. I would like to know what the REAL differences between the e 80 and e 60 are. Are the sounds the same? The styles? I know there are fewer sounds and styles in the 60 and there is no after-touch, but is the quality of those sounds and styles inferior? Is one a beginner board while th other is an advanced "pro" board? I am a gigging musician in the market for a new arranger - I have been using a Technics KN2000 (as a MAIN BOARD, I should add) forever - and I am looking at the Roland boards.Thoughts, anyone?

#92281 - 05/15/07 08:28 AM Re: Roland e-60 vs e80
adimatis Offline

Loc: Oradea, RO
E60 is a little brother to E80, and that means less styles (with less complex structure), less poliphony, and more important, less sharped sampled sounds. it was a large discution at the time when the both boards were released about the clarity and quality of sounds, and i also got to the conclusion that even though the sounds are the same as number (i hope i remember right) the quality of the sample is pourer on E60. you can easily notice that also from the demos on their website.
nevertheless, the E60 provides you with some features that none other keyboard offers in this price range: 76 keys (with good feel), guitar mode (very handy in writing guitar tracks), good styles, modern and very inspiring, good sounds, etc.
i wouldn't call the styles "inferior" to E80, but just less complex. in fact, many of the E80 styles are also in the E60, but modified as structure, according with the hardware's possibilities.