SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#7919 - 10/30/03 10:13 PM Hey, what's a good rackmount unit for like$0-$500?
Helltime Offline

Here's my deal, I'm a guitar/bass player for the most part, but I've been noodling around on keys for the last 2 years or so, so I'm to the point where I can do any key parts I really need for my hobbyist 4-track recordings.

I already got a Korg MS2000 for synthy stuff and a Yamaha PSR something (the $130 one, which I can get some ok sounds out of when I run it through a Boss EQ pedal and a Johnson amp modeler) for all my piano/organ/whatever. The non-analogish sounds (piano/organ/strings)are where I'm looking to upgrade.

I saw in AMS that for $400 I can get a Proteus 1000 30th Anv. module, has anyone tried it out, is it pretty good?

#7920 - 11/02/03 08:54 AM Re: Hey, what's a good rackmount unit for like$0-$500?
tekminus Offline

For $400 there's a ton of great s/h modules available. You could probably buy two for that amount. Yamaha TG500, 64-voice polyphony (and some people are giving these away). There are several great Proteus modules from the 90's. Don't forget Roland's JV-series. JV-880 and maybe even the 1080 is within that reach. Depends on the amount of expansion cards stuck inside. Emu made a bunch of modules aimed at the dance market which I've seen really cheap s/h.

-tek

#7921 - 11/02/03 09:40 AM Re: Hey, what's a good rackmount unit for like$0-$500?
Uncle Dave Offline

Loc: Penn Yan, NY
I'll sell you a Roland U220 for $175. It got better than average samples od pianos, strings, brass, organs ..... mostly bread & butter stuff. Single space rackmount - takes cards to add samples.
215-284-1328. Figure $20 for shipping in US.

#7922 - 11/02/03 10:00 AM Re: Hey, what's a good rackmount unit for like$0-$500?
3351 Offline

Loc: Toronto, Canada.
Tek's right.

But I would also recommend Korg stuff.
I still like their 01R/W and 03R/W modules.