SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#7587 - 06/18/02 10:13 AM Workstation, or separate modules?
Anonymous
Unregistered

I have been using the Yamaha SY-99 for more than 10 years now and am now looking to invest in new equipment. Was wondering if anyone could provide some advice on the following two options, and which is better, cheaper, etc.

1. To purchase a music workstation (synthesiser and built-in sequencer) such as the Yamaha Motif.

2. To purchase a synthesiser with good sounds, and a separate external sequencer.

*Preferences - my only preferences or requirements are good acoustic sounds (especially for orchestral instruments - piano, strings, brass, wind, percussion) and also good bass sounds and a good drum kit.

Would really appreciate any advice on this. Thanks in advance.

#7588 - 06/22/02 11:36 PM Re: Workstation, or separate modules?
FAEbGBD Offline

Loc: Nashvville TN
I like the workstations. Easier to bring one keyboard to a gig rather than a keyboard and a module. Plus, MIDI isn't as big an issue; I.E. the workstation sequencer is usually set up to work most effectively with its keyboard as far as midi channels corresponding with separate tracks and such. Using a sequencer and controller means getting all the parameters on each unit matched to each other. Plus you're dealing with midi cables, not a huge deal, but simplification is good if you ask me.

Other people like software sequencers and a good controller, so as to have a computer screen and easier maneuvourability with the sequencer. I guess it depends on whether you're gigging or just playing at home. I like the workstations either way.

#7589 - 06/23/02 07:52 AM Re: Workstation, or separate modules?
noisemaker Offline

Loc: Lakewood, CO USA