SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#73364 - 11/24/00 07:01 AM best synth for classical musician
Anonymous
Unregistered

I have been playing the classical guitar for about 20 years. I have recently become bored with the limited sound of the guitar and repertoire and want to learn some classical and other forms of music on the synth.

Since I am used to the concept of dynamics in music such as accents, crescendo, etc., I would like to buy a synth with weighted keys.

Which is the synth with the best key action?

#73365 - 11/24/00 10:32 AM Re: best synth for classical musician
KeyboardFreak Offline

Hey dvdslws..... First of all let me assume that you want all 88-keys and definitely weighted. Now let me tell you I haven't used a few of the synths I will mention (in particular the Kawai and Alesis)

It would seem to me that the Kawai MP-9000 would be the best (judging by it's specs alone, not personal experience) It has wooden keys and appears to have actual piano-like hammer action.... The keys activate a hammer which goes up and hits an electrical sensor (instead of the strings inside an acoustic piano). Of all the synths I've seen, this one looked to me to be the most realistic (key-feel wise) There is also an Alesis keyboard called the DG-8 that looks quite good.... it has all three pedals and onboard speakers... looks very professional.