SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#73109 - 02/17/99 08:25 PM Yamaha DX-7
chris squire Offline

Loc: akron ohio united states
I am looking for a used synth under $300 and the DX-7 has been recommended to me. Can anyone offer some opinions on this unit?
I am not a professional muscian so is this difficult to operate? How are the built in voices? Can I add to the voice bank? How are the piano, organ and string voices?
What are the "synth" voices like? How do you program your own voices? Sorry for the stupid questions but this is all new to me.
Thanks you all
write at
chrissquire1@yahoo.com

#73110 - 02/18/99 01:50 PM Re: Yamaha DX-7
dwmusic Offline

Loc: Birmingham, W. Mids, UK
If you have been offered a DX7 then go for it!! it's the best synth in history.

#73111 - 02/18/99 03:37 PM Re: Yamaha DX-7
danb Offline

It is a very good synth. it was being used in most 80's music and up until now you can still hear it and notice the difference from new synth. The electric piano (DX piano) is remarkable. It you can find one just get it. Normally, anybody who owns it don't want to get rid of it. They usually keep it for good reason. I have the DX7s edition and I'm still using it in all music applications. Go for the DX7s or DX7ll.

#73112 - 02/24/99 02:21 AM Re: Yamaha DX-7
cmoussea Offline

Loc: Canada
The DX7 is a very great synth. The question is: for what kind of sounds do you want to buy it? If you're a beginner, you should be aware that this is not a "swiss-knife synth" Karl

#73113 - 03/13/99 12:39 PM Re: Yamaha DX-7
grant Offline

Loc: canada
DX7 is indeed no piece of cake to figure out, but if you do pick one up, be prepared to sit down and spend a whole whack of time learning or at least experimenting heavily. but as far as rewards go, you can get some wicked sounds out of it.

#73114 - 03/16/99 10:21 AM Re: Yamaha DX-7
vision Offline

Loc: Burghausen, Bavaria, Germany