SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#71502 - 07/01/00 02:19 PM Need help, first keyboard...
Mario Berges Offline

Loc: Santo Domingo, Dominican Repub...
Hi..

I'm looking for help, I'm confused. I've been trying to decide between many Yamaha keyboards...
I might have to say that I'm not a professional player, but not a beginner either.
I'd like to use it, specially to back up my songs... I have a Multitracker Recorder, and I also play guitar, so I'm looking for good sounds, STRINGS, WINDS, PIANOs, etc...

Anyways... my search has given birth to these products:

1- PSR-340 (Which I've read doesnt have good sounds)
2- PSR-530 (Which, without the floppy drive [being honest, i dont really need it], has a much more complex sound library)
3- PSR-540 (Which is above 340, and still has floppy drive... but i would have to spend all the money I earn during this vacation on it...)

I would appreciate your responses, with your personal opinions. If you have any other suggestions, or any comments... please, send 'em.

Sincerilly,
Mario Berges

P.S. Please excuse my english, it's my second language.

#71503 - 07/03/00 06:33 PM Re: Need help, first keyboard...
800dv Offline

Loc: atlanta, georgia, usa
To tell you the truth those PSR series with built in speakers have REALLY BAD resale values and they are exstremely limited in sound shaping qualities . Not to say they are bad all the way around but they are not the best purchase either . I suggest looking at used YAMAHA synthesizers like the SY-55 , SY-77 , V-50 , DX-7 , SY-22 , SY-35 . They will have the pianos , strings , and other acoustic sounds that you are looking for in a professional model but since they are used , you can get them at a good price .

#71504 - 07/03/00 09:24 PM Re: Need help, first keyboard...
Uncle Dave Offline

Loc: Penn Yan, NY