SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#6620 - 10/07/05 09:16 PM I really need your help!
Anonymous
Unregistered

Hi,guys

I'm from Shanghai and i've been Us for 6 months. I really love the 80's synthpop especially its warm sound and also a part of the modern style,and I plan to buy a synthesizer under $1000, maybe try to make the music like Cosmicity or B!Machine and so on. But i'm a very very beginner and i really get confused...

I learned a little bit keyboard when I was a little child but I have almost forgotten it actually... Even though I still want to buy a synthesizer even just for fun...

At first someone recommended me a Korg Ms2000, but after I checked the related information about the styles of the synthesizers I found that maybe it will be too hard for the beginners like me.

Actually I checked this site: BEGINNER'S SYNTHESIZER FAQ http://www.ezy.net/~genoside/midiwarez/synthfaq.html
And it said that maybe a sample-based one will be better for the beginner. And it also recommended the analog synthesizer with knobs, it mentions the Roland Juno series--but there is only the Juno-D now and I cant find enough information about this model to make sure if it's suitable fot me... I even want to buy a used Juno 106 from eBay because it's the really 80's style...but i know it's not a good and safe way for the beginners...

Tell you the truth, I really get mad these days because I have too many questions but no one can answer me...The internet helpes a lot but it's still not enough... I really need you guys to help me with my stupid questions as follow...

1) Which kind of synthesizer is more suitable for me? Will the Juno-D be a good one?

2) Can any synthesizer be used as a piano? I mean can I use it for practice?--Because I will take the Music Business Major later so I have to learn the piano...but I cant afford the real piano so maybe I need a digital piano but I just want to try to save money if it can be practised like a piano...