SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#6147 - 12/06/02 12:56 PM EQ
Nool Offline

Hi all!

What should i do first reverb or eq??

And compression should be before eq right??

Hope someone can help me out

Best regards
Nool

#6148 - 12/06/02 05:41 PM Re: EQ
Equalizer Offline

Loc: Scotland
EQ should always come first!

PS- I agree, that *was* a little bit cheap, but I couldn't resist such an opportunity!

#6149 - 12/07/02 09:48 AM Re: EQ
Nool Offline

Ok thanks, but isnt it so that compression also affects the frequencies of a sound and that eq afterwards may be needed to correct that??

For example an enhancer....

Hope to hear from you...

Nool

#6150 - 12/07/02 05:45 PM Re: EQ
Equalizer Offline

Loc: Scotland
Ok, here comes my serious answer...

First off I just want to say I'm no expert and whenever someone says do something this way or that way, I find it a complete turn off.

In my opinion the best thing to do is to experiment and let your ears be the judge.

If you're desperate for a rule, then I really don't know for sure but I would speculate that the first stage would be compression, to make sure the signal's at a good level. Then I'd EQ the signal to either beef up the sound or thin it down (depending on what sound I was after). Then lastly I would add reverb to make the sound "fit in" with the other sounds in the mix and also to generally add a spacial dimension to the sound.

One again, I'm no expert and these rules are NOT carved in stone (well... not for me anyway).

Good luck!

#6151 - 12/08/02 03:22 AM Re: EQ
Cloakboy Offline

Loc: Racine, Wisconsin USA
Equalizer's right, there are no hard and fast rules but there are definitely things one would tend to do.