SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#59603 - 04/23/07 01:53 PM Music Lovely Music
Joe Baron Offline

Loc: England
Hi All.
I said in a recent e-mail that I would give an outline of my career in music, so here goes.
On June 29, 2007 I will be 79 years old, in all my years my interest and passion to music has never changed. I am still as much in love with music now as I was when I started playing when I was six years old.

I started playing cornet in a brass band in the north of England when I was six years old, I played in brass bands till I was 17 years of age, I played every instrument in the brass band except the trombone.

When I was 17 years old I really got hooked on the big bands of those early days, bands like Harry James, Tommy Dorsey, Duke Ellington, Count Basie, Ted Heath, Joe loss, and many other bands. Harry James was my hero because trumpet was my first love and still remain so,

When I was 17 my father brought me my first trumpet an old gold lacquered instrument with sticking valves and not much lacquer to be honest, nevertheless this is all he could afford and after a few days the valves were no longer sticking, I had ground them in with cigarette ash, something I did very often on different trumpets I bought over the years.

While I was still 17 I was extremely fortunate to find a place with a big band playing second trumpet this was absolutely brilliant I was so much in love with the big bands.
The position was only temporarily the guy I replaced was drafted into the army.
I stayed with the band until I was 18 then I was called up into the Royal air forces where I served in Germany three years, the time in Germany wasn't wasted I met many many people who had the same interests as I in big bands, during the Berlin airlift I was stationed on an American air force camp, this was an ideal at my time of life, because at that time I think the Americans lead the world in big bands.