SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#5684 - 09/29/05 03:15 PM Any keyboardists and guitarists?
Franklin Offline

Loc: Watertown
Hey all! Newbie here, forst post!!

I am a guitarist learning keys. I plan on spending a while learning then will start looking for a band to play with. I currently play guitar in a working band, but want to leave the band for non-creative differences. Long story short- I do all the work with no help. So I have been looking for another working band. I have found a couple good ones, but they are not on the same page as me, ie. they want to "make it". I have a different idea of making it then most.

Anyway, here are some questions.

How many people here play both keys and guitars in a live situation regularly? Is it worth the hassle (your persoanl opinion of course!) lugging two sets of gear? As it is now I lug two guitar amps, three guitars, etc. I wonder if I can find a band that will let me play each instrument 50% of the time?

Maybe I'll start another band from scratch.....

Also, there seem to be a shortage of quality keyboardists (at least here in New England) and I do not anticipate having trouble finding a good band. In fact, many bands we gig with have no keyboardists and can't find one. I know for a fact that if I had the gear I could join one already! Is this common everywhere?

Another question, is an amp necessary as a stag monitor? This seems to be the case what I have seen. I am looking for a good gigging set up, but gotta start inexpesively. I'll have to sell a couple of guitars though.....

I look forward to participating and reading here SynthZone!

Thanks in advance!
-=F=-

#5685 - 09/29/05 06:28 PM Re: Any keyboardists and guitarists?
shboom Offline

Loc: Victoria, British Columbia
Franklin...
First of all..."Welcome aboard!!"

Personally, I play in 2 bands, covering guitars, keys, harmonica, & vocals.