SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#56293 - 07/23/02 04:16 PM Re: How often do we play?
Scottyee Offline

Loc: San Francisco Bay Area, CA, US...
Hi Richard: Interesting topic! I'll never forget my music prof back in school(years ago) lecturing to us that playing vs. practicing are two DIFFERENT things. He emphasized, that though playing recreationally is fun & definitely has valuable merits, it cannot subsititute for the time required to devote to practicing: scales, arpeggios, chord voicings/progressions, music anaylsis & memorization etc. That said, I hardly ever practice anymore , but instead, do a lot of playing, both on and off the job. Maybe that's why I'm not appearing at Carnegie Hall now

Scott

#56294 - 07/23/02 04:49 PM Re: How often do we play?
Frank Bez Offline

Loc: Avila Beach, CA, U.S.A.
Hi Richard,
I’ve been playing for almost six years now, but still sight read rather slowly. Having had the pleasure of hearing many of the great players on the Synthzone -- several in person, my goal is to be able to improvise at least as well as Scott. Toward that end I play or record for about two hours each day. Since I’m only 72, I feel I may be reasonably accomplished by the time I’m 90.
Frank

#56295 - 07/24/02 12:43 PM Re: How often do we play?
Bud Whipple Offline

Loc: The Plantation, Leesburg, Flor...