SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#509323 - 12/03/23 08:10 AM Change of Heart
cgiles Offline

Loc: Roswell,GA/USA
After some soul-searching, I've decided NOT to get a second BK7m, or for that matter, a SECOND anything. The reason has to do with where I want to go musically. As much as I like the convenience of a BK7m as a 'quick and dirty' drum machine, getting a second one would not inspire me to explore different musical directions. Given my logistical situation, it would add some convenience but little in the way of creativity. I think I'd continue to generate the same old organ-based mediocrity I've been doing for the last 50 years; stuff that's been done a million times before, by a million different musicians, a million times better. I NEED TO REBOOT (maybe some of you do as well; think about it).

My current thinking involves a deeper dive into the world of sampling, especially vocal sampling. Old concept but relatively new to me. Also exotic 'sounds' and instruments, and how they can be integrated into just regular 'pop' music (including jazz, blues, choral, and orchestral). Without the 'content' restrictions imposed by gigging, the possibilities are endless.

I've been looking into dedicated samplers (their time may have come and gone), so-called "production machines", aka hybrid drum machines which combines sampling with very sophisticated rhythm capabilities, and the latest TOTL synth/workstations. I might even consider something like the Korg PA5x but am afraid of the distraction that the ready availability of STYLES might be (ie. "wow, I can NEVER top this"). But then again, I'm looking for '"new", "different", "innovative", "FUN".....not 'better', especially since 'better' is purely subjective.

So, sorry Zuki (about the BK7m), but the truth is, I'm probably closer
to your way of thinking (try everything) than you think.

chas

#509324 - 12/03/23 02:12 PM Re: Change of Heart [Re: cgiles]
zuki Offline