SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#4702 - 06/24/06 09:35 AM beginner
FaceMask Offline

Loc: Billings, MT, USA
ive been playing drums for eight years and have been thinking about picking up a new instrument to experiment with. im really getting into the electronic music scene but i still dont know much about it - what would you guys suggest a good synth would be for a beginner?

a store in my town carries the KORG Electribe A mkII and thats what ive been thinking on purchasing.

one last thing - i have absolutely no piano skills, are they even necessary if i just want to stick with synths like the Electribe? thanks a lot guys

#4703 - 06/24/06 12:18 PM Re: beginner
3351 Offline

Loc: Toronto, Canada.
Actually there's a thread just below this one. Similar question. Before posting always check out other threads. THe answer you're looking for might be there.

But since you asked...

Well, I usually advise all beginners to spend as much time as it is humanly possible to learn as much as you can about the history of electronic music and different types of synthesis. Just google that stuff. It's all over the web.

Google for keywords" Analog synthesis, Bob Moog, Modular synthesizers, Virtual Analog modeling, Wavetable synthesis, FM synthesis, Additive synthesis, sampling, sampler, MIDI.

I also have a few questions for you. What kind of music are you planning on making? What type of sounds (name a few bands that use synth sounds that you like). Also, let me know the specs of your computer. Will take it from there.

-ED-

[This message has been edited by 3351 (edited 06-24-2006).]

#4704 - 06/24/06 12:44 PM Re: beginner
3351 Offline

To answer your other question: