SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#45997 - 07/12/03 07:56 PM Chord question
lrngkybrd Offline

Loc: Queen Creek, Arizona
I started playing a new song out of one of my books and came across a D7#5 chord. I play what I think it should be and it doesn't sound right. Can you tell me why the sharp appears between the 7 and the 5? I don't understand.

#45998 - 07/12/03 08:08 PM Re: Chord question
BEBOP Offline

Loc: San Jose, California
HI lrngkybrd,
I recall using that chord on occasion. It is d, f#, b flat. It is often used as a turn around or break down chord.
It is a d7 chord with a sharp fifth which would add the b flat.
That is the best I remember.

Bebop

#45999 - 07/13/03 03:07 AM Re: Chord question
Bill Norrie Offline

Loc: North Yorkshire UK
It's just another way of writing Daug7 - D Augmented 7th. Sharpening the 5th in any major chord makes it an Augmented chord.
Try C,D, F# Bb or inversions of these notes.

------------------
Willum

After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is Music.
Aldous Huxley
( especially when the music is played on a KN7000....)

#46000 - 07/13/03 07:16 AM Re: Chord question
technicsplayer Offline

yes Willum's got it right, D7#5 or Daug7 whichever is your personal preference of calling it is fact D, F#, A# and C since it is after all an augmented or sharpened fifth

#46001 - 07/13/03 01:11 PM Re: Chord question
Bill Norrie Offline

Loc: North Yorkshire UK
Good to see you posting again Alec..... Been a busy boy then ??

------------------
Willum

After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is Music.
Aldous Huxley
( especially when the music is played on a KN7000....)

#46002 - 07/13/03 02:27 PM Re: Chord question
technicsplayer Offline

thanks, Willum, yes you could say that

#46003 - 07/13/03 03:38 PM Re: Chord question
lahawk Offline

Loc: Lehigh Valley, Pa.
While on the subject of Chords.