SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#452476 - 05/23/18 10:14 AM Audya 5 Hard Drive Swap
mc Offline
Member

Registered: 07/17/01
Posts: 870
Loc: New York
I would like to replace the factory hard drive in the audya 5 with a SSD. How do I do that?

Thanks, Mario
_________________________
Ketron X1 (Oldie but Goodie)

Top
#452490 - 05/23/18 01:44 PM Re: Audya 5 Hard Drive Swap [Re: mc]
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 5514
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
I got an AJAMsonic SSD loaded with his great software. Not only is my Audya faster, but the additional styles and additional material made a huge difference in the sound. AJ is a superb audio engineer, and his styles are great and tweaked to perfection.
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,SX900, Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Ketron SD40, Centerpoint Space Station, Bose compact

Top
#452546 - 05/24/18 10:14 AM Re: Audya 5 Hard Drive Swap [Re: Bernie9]
mc Offline
Member

Registered: 07/17/01
Posts: 870
Loc: New York
Thanks, But I would like to keep it factory with a SSD. Do i just cut and paste from the audya to the new SSD?
_________________________
Ketron X1 (Oldie but Goodie)

Top
#452553 - 05/24/18 03:05 PM Re: Audya 5 Hard Drive Swap [Re: mc]
Tonewheeldude Offline
Moderator

Registered: 01/21/10
Posts: 1537
very first thing to do is to make sure hidden folders, files and protected operating system files are visible on your computer.

remove the drive and copy all data (including system) to your computer using a USB IDE caddy

Install the ssd in your audya and format it. (init phase error will appear due to the lack of system files). Check the LED in the disk section is not on and solid red, if so the drive is not compatible. it should only flash green when writing/reading to the drive. (in addition, the ide cable may need to be modified to accept an SSD disk select)

once formatted the folder structure will be intact but no content.

remove the drive and connect to a pc with a usb caddy. manually copy files and folders (except the hidden system folder) that you saved from your Audya drive

once complete, copy the content of system folder except audio drums. do the audio drums seperately to avoid possibility of cyclic redundancy errors.

Alternatively just purchas an official SSD upgrade which are fully approved and require no modifications or file copying...just install and go.

NOTE: any USB updates installed will no longer work with the SSD (user or factory SSD) and will show as CORRUPT STYLE. Whats more, the USB drives used to install the styles will also fail to operate. This is because they are copy protected to the old hard drive. You will need to speak to your local distributor for help here.

Top
#452885 - 05/31/18 08:37 AM Re: Audya 5 Hard Drive Swap [Re: Tonewheeldude]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3131
tonewheel, what if you do an EXACT copy of the hard drives,
outside of the AUDYA, Clone the drives.

if not, IF you had made an EXACT copy of your USB Pen drives PRIOR to installing, you could reinstall them again with no problems, right? :-)

Top
#452909 - 05/31/18 03:22 PM Re: Audya 5 Hard Drive Swap [Re: leezone]
necdetdoni Offline
Member

Registered: 05/20/03
Posts: 351
Loc: Antalya / Turkey
Originally Posted By Tonewheeldude

NOTE: any USB updates installed will no longer work with the SSD (user or factory SSD) and will show as CORRUPT STYLE. Whats more, the USB drives used to install the styles will also fail to operate. This is because they are copy protected to the old hard drive. You will need to speak to your local distributor for help here.


Attention...
You can not reinstall your usb pen to new Hdd


Edited by necdetdoni (05/31/18 03:23 PM)

Top
#452930 - 06/01/18 04:18 AM Re: Audya 5 Hard Drive Swap [Re: leezone]
Tonewheeldude Offline
Moderator

Registered: 01/21/10
Posts: 1537
Originally Posted By leezone
tonewheel, what if you do an EXACT copy of the hard drives,
outside of the AUDYA, Clone the drives.


This will not work, the installed styles are linked to the hard drives serial number. I am not sure how other distributors work, but Ketron UK ask customers to return their USB updates to be reinitialised free of charge so they can be installed on the new drive.

Top
#504955 - 02/16/22 06:12 AM Re: Audya 5 Hard Drive Swap [Re: mc]
matt07ie Offline
Member

Registered: 04/28/12
Posts: 77
Loc: IRELAND
Hi, I'm browsing here to find any info on how to do the change over to SSD drive, I just bought from Aj, I can't find anything anywhere on the Web, and also can you tell me if its easy to do? I know years have gone by, and it's only now I'm buying the SSD 🙄🤔😉

Top
#509785 - 05/01/24 11:48 AM Re: Audya 5 Hard Drive Swap [Re: mc]
asaly Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/01/24
Posts: 3
Loc: Netherlands
How on earth do you guys remove the scews at the front? There's no space under the keyboard to insert a screwdriver and furthermore its in an angle of 90 degrees. #confused

Edit: found a screwdriver with a flexible attachment from the Lidl that did the job smile


Edited by asaly (05/01/24 10:56 PM)

Top

Moderator:  Admin, Kerry, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online