SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#445953 - 02/05/18 12:58 PM SD40 Module
kierc.0857 Offline
Member

Registered: 01/11/15
Posts: 166
2 questions guys. Ive been given an SD40 for a gig to try from my friend.Question 1, can i copy the registrations for use on my Audya4?. Second question, when my midi guitar is connected, everytime i strum the guitar it sounds like a piano?

Top
#445963 - 02/05/18 05:48 PM Re: SD40 Module [Re: kierc.0857]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3038
Loc: Middletown, DE
Originally Posted By kierc.0857
2 questions guys. Ive been given an SD40 for a gig to try from my friend.Question 1, can i copy the registrations for use on my Audya4?. Second question, when my midi guitar is connected, everytime i strum the guitar it sounds like a piano?


1. Registrations cannot be transferred from one model to another.

2. This is because your Midi Guitar is transmitting on the LEAD/RIGHT channel which the SD40 is set up to receive RIGHT/LEAD 'commands' for the lead voice. To change the voice to say SAX, simply go to the voice group and change to sax. Now, when you play the guitar, you will hear SAX.

HOWEVER ... If you want to play the guitar (acoustic/electric) but you do NOT want to play any of the lead voices of the SD40 (as most guitar players do such as this young lad:- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2qFV_Z9olsQ

....then, you have to make sure the Guitar midi channel is NOT the same as the SD40 RIGHT/LEAD channel. You can also use the intelligent mode such that the SD40 will only respond to Chord changes ONLY when you play a complete chord. If you then decide to solo, the SD40 will IGNORE any chord inputs you're playing ... until you strum the next chord in!

Hope this helps.

Thanks,
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#445989 - 02/06/18 07:25 AM Re: SD40 Module [Re: Ketron_AJ]
kierc.0857 Offline
Member

Registered: 01/11/15
Posts: 166
Thanks AJ. Is that intelligent chord feature not in the Audya 4?, the flagship Ketron Model. And last question, the saved registration on the SD40, is there a way i can see what pattern the saved registration is using?

Top
#446012 - 02/06/18 10:15 AM Re: SD40 Module [Re: kierc.0857]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3038
Loc: Middletown, DE
Originally Posted By kierc.0857
Thanks AJ. Is that intelligent chord feature not in the Audya 4?, the flagship Ketron Model.
>>>AJ:- Yes it is.

And last question, the saved registration on the SD40, is there a way i can see what pattern the saved registration is using?
>>>AJ:- Currently, no - but we will adjust this in the next OS -
in other words, display what style was used to create the registration in the first place, right? Problem with this is -
what if that style (e.g. USER STYLE) no longer exists in the unit?

Top
#446013 - 02/06/18 10:17 AM Re: SD40 Module [Re: Ketron_AJ]
kierc.0857 Offline
Member

Registered: 01/11/15
Posts: 166
thank you AJ for your reply, how do i activate that chord feature so in my Audya 4

Top
#446199 - 02/08/18 05:31 PM Re: SD40 Module [Re: kierc.0857]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3038
Loc: Middletown, DE
PIANNIST - AUTO
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online