SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 3 of 6 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 >
Topic Options
#444989 - 01/17/18 09:56 PM Re: download [Re: hbinfo2001]
Gunnar Jonny Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 04/01/01
Posts: 3542
Loc: Norway
Wops, sorry if my bad english misleaded you to try change the name of the file, that's not a good idea at all.
What I mean to say is that this file can be a bad or wrong file, and the genuine file for the update may have another name that correspond to the keyboard it's made for.

Always be very careful when update firmware, because if anything goes wrong, the keyboard might stop work.

I'll keep my eyes open and look for any solution. But as we know there is hard to find any support and update for Technics nowadays.
_________________________
Cheers & Happy Playing. smile
GJ
_______________________________________________
"Success is not counted by how high you have climbed
but by how many you brought with you." (Wil Rose)

Top
#444990 - 01/17/18 11:58 PM Re: download [Re: hbinfo2001]
HarryG Offline
Member

Registered: 04/18/09
Posts: 190
Loc: Germany
Hello Howard,

The update for the KN 2600 works in principle just like the KN 7000.
Difference: With the KN 7000 with floppy disk - with the KN 2600 with the SD card!

Gunnar Jonny has described the procedure.

But I think that there is a mistake in your thinking!

The update is a zip-file, which you download to the hard disk of your PC - but do not unpack (unzip)! This file is self-extracting!

Insert an SD Card into the Card Writer of the PC and unpack it on the SD Card!

Now proceed as described by Gunnar Jonny.
Switch off KN 2600. Insert SD Card.
Hold keys 1-4 of the Panel Menory and switch on KN 2600.
You will be guided through the program on the display.


Attachments
Technics-Downloads_LI.jpg (4 downloads)


Top
#445018 - 01/18/18 02:43 PM Re: download [Re: HarryG]
hbinfo2001 Offline
Member

Registered: 08/23/04
Posts: 495
Loc: Quebec Canada
Hi,Still no luck ,maybe I have to use a smaller sdcard
8mb to 64mb ?
like the procedure is saying
Thanks
_________________________
Audya5,KN2600 ,monitors Focal Alpha80,mixer yamaha

Top
#445029 - 01/19/18 02:32 AM Re: download [Re: hbinfo2001]
Gunnar Jonny Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 04/01/01
Posts: 3542
Loc: Norway
If the KN2600 do format the card properly, and if you can save and read any files at all using the keyboard, it should "see" the update file as well.
But, SD card size is pointed out in the procedure, so it may as well be a point to follow.

I do remember there was some dicussion about the the limit / max storage capasity of the SD cards usable at Technics.
As years goes by, there has been a huge step forward within digital storage as well as "bits and bytes". ( 8, 16, 32, 64, 128 bit and so on)
_________________________
Cheers & Happy Playing. smile
GJ
_______________________________________________
"Success is not counted by how high you have climbed
but by how many you brought with you." (Wil Rose)

Top
#445068 - 01/19/18 04:30 PM Re: download [Re: Gunnar Jonny]
hbinfo2001 Offline
Member

Registered: 08/23/04
Posts: 495
Loc: Quebec Canada

Hi John,I will have to make a search for some sdcard 8mb trow
64mb because I thing thats the problem
Is there any technics players who have these sdcard I will like
to purchase by sending a post order
http://www.synthzone.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/45586/KN_2600_Firmware
But he did not mention if it was a 64mb sdcard
Thanks again
Howard
_________________________
Audya5,KN2600 ,monitors Focal Alpha80,mixer yamaha

Top
#445076 - 01/19/18 11:55 PM Re: download [Re: hbinfo2001]
Gunnar Jonny Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 04/01/01
Posts: 3542
Loc: Norway
I've read through the tread you're pointing at.

There is an answer for what was wrong during formatting the SD card back then.
QUOTE:
That was it! Originally, I had formatted a brand new card, and named it, but the directory structure had not been created.
This time, I took an existing card with enough room to hold the file, and just copied it to the root. It worked the first time..."


Does the directory usually created when format SD card using KN2600 show up?
If not, the SD card may not be formatted correctly.
Also I notice the filename is written using big letters.
We never know, maybe rename the file like in in Alecs reply kn24prg.dat just to see if it makes any difference?

It looks like the filename itself is correct, and the file is most likely the file needed as long as it is not damaged or not copied properly.

Quote regarding size of the SD card:
"the official instructions say use a card bigger than 8MB formatted on the keyboard to hold the file."

Also it say something in the tread about renamed the card, but I have no idea about what name or if it is nessesary at all.
Maybe as simple as name the card UPDATE ?

Btw,
in the update manual it say the update fix problems reading / loading of older instruments files, nothing about technichord,
but CraigS mention the problem without any feedback if that was fixed by the update at all.
_________________________
Cheers & Happy Playing. smile
GJ
_______________________________________________
"Success is not counted by how high you have climbed
but by how many you brought with you." (Wil Rose)

Top
#445095 - 01/20/18 05:31 PM Re: download [Re: Gunnar Jonny]
hbinfo2001 Offline
Member

Registered: 08/23/04
Posts: 495
Loc: Quebec Canada
Hi John Like I told you I had to send you a private email because I could not attach a photo to this forum

I forgot to tell you when I copy and drag the the KN7000MN
to WORD it had copy KN7000MN.INF with !

SDcard folder name=update
Check my sdcard in pc=Private
kn24prg.dat
Technics
Kn7000
TFLD001
KN7000MN
Back to the kn2600 slot
press panel memory 1 2 3 4 and press power

Blank screen

Thanks again for your help
Howard
_________________________
Audya5,KN2600 ,monitors Focal Alpha80,mixer yamaha

Top
#445099 - 01/20/18 10:44 PM Re: download [Re: hbinfo2001]
Gunnar Jonny Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 04/01/01
Posts: 3542
Loc: Norway
.inf file are common in many cases, and probably created by the KN.

If you delete all files already into the SD cardwhen see at the PC, and do a totally new format using KN, what files do you see in the SD card afterwards?
_________________________
Cheers & Happy Playing. smile
GJ
_______________________________________________
"Success is not counted by how high you have climbed
but by how many you brought with you." (Wil Rose)

Top
#445101 - 01/20/18 11:53 PM Re: download [Re: hbinfo2001]
Nigel Offline
Admin

Registered: 06/01/98
Posts: 6020
Loc: Ventura CA USA
Originally Posted By hbinfo2001
Hi John Like I told you I had to send you a private email because I could not attach a photo to this forum


Yes you can attach a photo to posts in this forum. When you post there is "File Manager" available that lets you browse to a picture on your computer and it will upload and be displayed in your post if you then click on "Add File".

Top
#445115 - 01/21/18 01:33 PM Re: download [Re: Gunnar Jonny]
hbinfo2001 Offline
Member

Registered: 08/23/04
Posts: 495
Loc: Quebec Canada
I John ,I delete all the file and put back to the kn2600 and format again.Put back in PC and nothing 0%
Check pm
thanks
Howard
_________________________
Audya5,KN2600 ,monitors Focal Alpha80,mixer yamaha

Top
Page 3 of 6 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online