SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#45586 - 01/15/05 03:41 PM KN-2600 Firmware?
CraigS Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/15/05
Posts: 5
I have a KN-2600 with version 1.00 firmware. Are any firmware updates available? (I have seen reference to a 1.01 release, which I actually downloaded from Technics Australia.) However, the instructions aren't very clear about how to get the firmware file to the SD card. (Where to put it in the directory structure.)

Top
#45587 - 01/17/05 03:15 PM Re: KN-2600 Firmware?
Bazz Woods Offline
Member

Registered: 09/10/04
Posts: 178
Loc: British Isles
Craig,

I use a Kn2600 trying to check this out for you

Barry

Top
#45588 - 01/17/05 04:10 PM Re: KN-2600 Firmware?
Bill Norrie Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/16/02
Posts: 2296
Loc: North Yorkshire
Hi Craig, Any 'Firmware' updates are not downloaded to the SD card - they are designed to be installed into the operating system of your keyboard - probably via a USB link from a PC.
However, I would be VERY wary of installing any firmware updates, especially if the installation instructions are not clear.....
You could end up with a completely dead keyboard
I doubt if the 'upgrade' originated from the keyboard manufacturer, since Technics ceased production of keyboards early last year.
Why do you wish to apply the update ??
As has been said many times on this forum - "If it ain't broke - don't fix it!"

------------------
Willum
_________________________
Willum

After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is Music.
Aldous Huxley
( especially when the music is played on a KN7000....)

Top
#45589 - 01/18/05 05:19 AM Re: KN-2600 Firmware?
CraigS Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/15/05
Posts: 5
Willum,

Well, I'm pretty wary too, especially without some input from somebody who has done this. However, the firmware updates on my KN-7000 fixed some problems I was having. (I use Techni-Chords a lot, and the newer firmware fixed some problems in that area.) The KN-2600 also has some issues in the Techni-Chords area, along with a couple of related annoyances, so I'm hoping that a firmware upgrade will solve that too.

The VERY SPARSE documentation that came with the firmware update I downloaded from Technics Australia seems to indicate that the SD card is used instead of a floppy, but there is no mention of how to get the firmware update file to the SD card. (I could probably use KN-SDExplorer, but I'm not sure exactly where it should reside on the card.)

Craig


[This message has been edited by CraigS (edited 01-18-2005).]

Top
#45590 - 01/18/05 06:15 AM Re: KN-2600 Firmware?
technicsplayer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/17/02
Posts: 3319
the firmware file should be downloaded to an sd card.

hold down piano, strings and guitar and switch on to confirm existing level.

the official instructions say use a card bigger than 8MB formatted on the keyboard to hold the file.

run the exe and write the kn24prg.dat file to the root of the sd card in a card reader.

transfer to keyboard, hold down first 4 panel memories and switch on.

perform the check procedure, wait until finished.

switch off, wait a few seconds, repeat performing the update procedure if the check was ok, wait until finished.

switch off, wait a few seconds, check new level.

Top
#45591 - 01/18/05 07:49 AM Re: KN-2600 Firmware?
CraigS Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/15/05
Posts: 5
I tried your suggestion, but when I get to the step where I hold down the first four panel memory buttons, and power on, the display is blank. (Nothing happens...)

Top
#45592 - 01/18/05 08:28 AM Re: KN-2600 Firmware?
Bill Norrie Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/16/02
Posts: 2296
Loc: North Yorkshire
Thanks for posting the correct Instructions Alec - Looks like I was given some incorrect information about the process....

------------------
Willum
_________________________
Willum

After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is Music.
Aldous Huxley
( especially when the music is played on a KN7000....)

Top
#45593 - 01/18/05 10:27 AM Re: KN-2600 Firmware?
technicsplayer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/17/02
Posts: 3319
Quote:
Originally posted by CraigS:
I tried your suggestion, but when I get to the step where I hold down the first four panel memory buttons, and power on, the display is blank. (Nothing happens...)


then the dat file has not been copied properly.

Top
#45594 - 01/18/05 01:08 PM Re: KN-2600 Firmware?
CraigS Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/15/05
Posts: 5
That was it! Originally, I had formatted a brand new card, and named it, but the directory structure had not been created. This time, I took an existing card with enough room to hold the file, and just copied it to the root. It worked the first time... Thanks!

Top
#45595 - 01/18/05 01:13 PM Re: KN-2600 Firmware?
technicsplayer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/17/02
Posts: 3319
you're welcome

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online