SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#442580 - 12/15/17 09:29 PM who uses their arranger with a keyboard amp?
Mark79100 Offline

Loc: USA
I remember when I first played the PA3x in a Sam Ash store. Someone came over from the other side of the store to "hear where all the music was coming from." As I recall, it was connected to a very large combo amp, and.....it WAS a BIG sound.

Last year, I did an accordion performance in another Sam Ash store. They hooked me up to a huge JBL speaker. When I started playing, I almost fell off my seat at the difference in volume and power from the EV PA system I use now.

That got me thinking. Do any of you who use combo amps find the sound is thicker, more powerful, more believable? I use a BK bass amp on my Roland arranger and even that small amp sounds much bigger and fuller than my EV's.

When I put the arranger through my EV system it sounds to me very "thin." I keep thinking back to that first time I played the PA3x in SA. My EV speakers sound limp compared to what Sam Ash had it plugged into.

I also remember shopping for a powered mixer. Went through every single amp in the store and not impressed. The last amp I tried was a Dynacord powered mixer (made by a German manufacturer). What a huge difference in sound. Bought it right on the spot.

So what you're playing through DOES make a difference! My goal is to add more "punch" to the drums on the PA3x without going into software packages (Dynamix, etc).

#442589 - 12/16/17 05:24 AM Re: who uses their arranger with a keyboard amp? [Re: Mark79100]
cgiles Offline

Loc: Roswell,GA/USA
I have a Traynor K4 which sounds great on practically everything (including guitar) but weighs as much as a mack truck. In case you're unfamiliar, it's a stereo keyboard amp with tube (preamp) on one channel.

Don't know what kind of EV system you were using but I use two SXA250's and they sound anything BUT thin.

chas