SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#436467 - 08/24/17 05:31 AM Re: Are Musicians about to be replaced? [Re: abacus]
travlin'easy Offline

Loc: Forest Hill, MD USA
smile

K+E=W (Knowledge Plus Experience = Wisdom.)

#436488 - 08/24/17 11:17 AM Re: Are Musicians about to be replaced? [Re: Nigel]
Torch Offline

Originally Posted By Nigel
Originally Posted By Torch
I remember him saying that a digital computer will stop working if 1 percent of it is damaged, but a neural computer will still function with 95% of it damaged. So to speak it heals itself as our skin when hurt has the "natural" healing power.

I disagree. I have been programming computers for over 34 years now. You must realize a "neural computer" IS a digital computer. So that argument isn't valid. ALL computers are digital.

I don't think the author was saying that a neural system is not a a digital system. He was talking about the neural system coping with damage and mending itself. Sure, I can easily agree that a neural computer is a digital computer in that it "eats" electricity not a bowl of soup like a human being. I might have slightly misquoted the author or the author might have been using the word digital computer as a conventional computing system vs a neural network system that works more like human brain. Nonetheless, I did a quick, casual Google search, and the idea is there all over. There are too many articles mentioning a machine that "heals" itself. One article mentions a neural network is fundamentally analog not digital (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Artificial_neural_network).

How about this article The Computer that Never Crashes. Its original title was "Machine, Heal Thyself." The article talks about "drones to reprogram themselves to cope with combat damage, or help create more realistic models of the human brain."

https://www.newscientist.com/article/mg21729045-400-the-computer-that-never-crashes/